Topps Tiles Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Topps Tiles Reviews

Updated 4 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Topps Tiles CEO Rob Parker
Rob Parker
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "stores it still has a family feel(in 13 reviews)

  • "Supported well by head office and the field based roles(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Heavy lifting and can be dusty at times(in 11 reviews)

  • "Small teams can mean the work load gets quite heavy at times(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A great place if you have the power"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Topps Tiles full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Internal promotions, support from ASM, run almost like a franchise, independence, good HR support, feeling valued

    Cons

    Lack of support, 6 day weeks, small teams, commission, generous bonus scheme can disappear with one thing out of your control

    Continue reading
    Topps Tiles2020-01-30

    Topps Tiles Response

    February 6, 2020Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for giving us a 5* Glassdoor review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience as a tenured Store Manager. We are glad you feel valued and supported. I will share your recommendations with the leadership team for you. Thanks again, The Recruitment Team.

    Continue reading
  2. "Been at Topps for 22 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Development Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Topps Tiles full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great business that really engages the whole of the business to deliver the goal. People care, which is visible in every department and every store. Everyone wants the business to be a success and therfore goes the extra mile. You want the company to to well.

    Cons

    There are always done, but none that are worth mentioning as all businesses have them.

    Continue reading
    Topps Tiles2020-01-23

    Topps Tiles Response

    February 6, 2020Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for such a great review that highlights how committed our teams are to doing a great job and going the extra mile for our customers and the business. Kind regards, The Recruitment Team.

    Continue reading
  3. "Warm Welcome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Topps Tiles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Warm, friendly, really great people.

    Cons

    Haven't found any so far.

    Continue reading
    Topps Tiles2020-01-20

    Topps Tiles Response

    February 6, 2020Recruitment Advisor

    Welcome to the business! Thanks for writing a review about your initial experience of joining us. We are pleased to hear you have settled in so well and are enjoying working with your colleagues. Kind regards, The Recruitment Team.

    Continue reading
  4. "Terrible company to work for if you expect compensation for extra hours worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Topps Tiles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great teams in stores, straight forward procedures.

    Cons

    Offered a 40h/week contract and expected to work 60h/week without payment or possibility of getting your time back. You are expected to forget your life and live for Topps Tiles. When you ask about your time the upper management tries to bully you. Company procedures in regards to what is expected of you changes as it suits the upper management. As an example: the company policy was that managers need to do 6 days a week , when I asked about my time back or payment for the extra hours the policy has changed to 5 days a week and I've been told that what I worked extra it's been voluntary and there for I'm not entitled to any compensation. Expect to have 3 great visits with upper management and the forth to get a shock because if your area manager is upset he will say your are useless and everything you've done so far is terrible. It all depends on your manager mood, if he is upset nothing that you've done is good.

    Continue reading
    Topps Tiles2020-01-24

    Topps Tiles Response

    February 6, 2020Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you are no longer with the business, as we would encourage you to speak to your line manager regarding your concerns. Just to clarify, our contracts are for 40 hours per week in stores, we do ask during our peak period that managers work 6 days instead of 5, this is to support our busy period in stores to allow us to provide a great service to our customers. Whilst Store Managers do not get paid overtime, they can claim time back in lieu. Best of luck with your future career, Kind regards, The Recruitment Team.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Topps Tiles full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Company, with job security. Small friendly teams, pleasant working environment reasonable pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Heavy lifting, long days, tough targets.

    Continue reading
    Topps Tiles2020-01-04

    Topps Tiles Response

    January 20, 2020Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for such a great review of working at Topps Tiles! You have really summed up the great things about working here. We do have quite small teams and due to the nature of our product, there can be heavy lifting involved, and it's great for our colleagues to give a true reflection of working here so thank you! Kind regards, The Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  6. "Terrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Sheen, England

    I have been working at Topps Tiles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and bonus quarterly

    Cons

    Management tretment of new employees

    Continue reading
    Topps Tiles2020-02-04

    Topps Tiles Response

    February 6, 2020Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It's good to hear that you were happy with your benefits package and commission whilst you worked at Topps Tiles. Best of luck with your future career. Kind regards, The Recruitment Team.

    Continue reading
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Out the Door 

    I have been working at Topps Tiles full-time

    Pros

    Good company bad pay good staff

    Cons

    Bad salary bad management bad

    Topps Tiles2020-01-09

    Topps Tiles Response

    January 20, 2020Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear you like the team that you work in, we pride ourselves on our friendly, welcoming teams. We do pay national living wage for our Sales Assistant roles and also uncapped commission in store, which allows colleagues to really influence how much money they earn. Kind regards, The Recruitment Team.

    Continue reading
  8. "Some thing will never change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dogs Head 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Topps Tiles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The old days that had long gone

    Cons

    If your face don’t fit you going no where Promise of progression Then get looked over by a some one that’s been there 6weeks High staff turn over due to incompetent young manager who was aggressive at times. Unfair investigations against colleges by managers friends..

    Continue reading
    Topps Tiles2020-01-10

    Topps Tiles Response

    January 20, 2020Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for writing your review. I can see from your review that you no longer work at Topps Tiles, I wish you the best of luck in your future career. Kind regards, The Recruitment Team.

    Continue reading
  9. "Average place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Supervisor in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Topps Tiles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No pressure! Good atmosphere! Long breakes

    Cons

    Place in right mess! (Poor hygiene) Poor management !

    Topps Tiles2020-01-07

    Topps Tiles Response

    January 20, 2020Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review of working in our warehouse in Leicester. I am glad to hear you feel it has a good atmosphere and we are focused on your well being by offering good breaks without too much pressure in your role. I would recommend you speak to your line manager if you feel there are improvements to be made around the warehouse itself. Thank again for taking the time to review and sharing your experiences. Kind regards, The Recruitment Team.

    Continue reading
  10. "Some work to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Topps Tiles full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay for what you’re accountable for, good bonus scheme but not always achievable within certain areas

    Cons

    Accountability, you are set out like you run your own business but this is not the case, still way too much red tape and backward systems that just get in the way of doing your job to the fullest. No control over pricing of discontinued stock which cliffs up the stores

    Continue reading
    Topps Tiles2019-12-23

    Topps Tiles Response

    January 20, 2020Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for recommending that people join Topps Tiles. I will share your feedback for you, and appreciate you sharing your pros and cons of your experience of working with us for over 10 years! Kind regards, The Recruitment Team.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 126 reviews