Topps Tiles Reviews

Updated 8 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 177 of over 180 reviews

4.0
68%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Topps Tiles CEO Rob Parker
Rob Parker
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "stores it still has a family feel(in 17 reviews)

  • "Small teams give a real family feel to the company(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Small teams can mean long hours when staff are sick or on holiday(in 13 reviews)

  • "Heavy lifting, long days, tough targets(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great work place

      3 Jun 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Leicester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work place, good bonus scheme, good holiday entitlement. Overall friendly environment. Good career progression if you put in the work.

      Cons

      I can't think of any!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Depends on your manager

      11 May 2021 - Service Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training resources and fact sheets for reference, you learn a lot, increased strength and fitness, area managers increasingly invested in mental health and welfare and supporting employees, good holiday allowance and flexibility, thorough H&S processes

      Cons

      Your experience entirely depends on your store manager and it is like working for completely different companies from manager to manager - some are really great and some are really really awful to their staff. Commission is good during peak periods in busy stores but the base salary is under the national living wage and can't sustain full time staff out of peak Very little diversity at all levels of the company and casual sexism is a staple of major customer base

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Topps Tiles Response

      Recruitment

      Thank you for your review of Topps Tiles we are really pleased you find Topps to have great training resources and fact sheets with great mental health and welfare. Our area managers and HRBP's are always there to support and discuss any issues in store. We wish lots of success with your future in Topps Tiles, kind regards the recruitment team.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good on paper, tough in reality

      13 May 2021 - Deputy Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some support on the area from management technical training provided via online hub ability to earn commission and bonuses

      Cons

      Depending on who you work with, you will ether get loads of support or completely hung out to dry. Bonuses are really tough for smaller stores Long days, lots of heavy lifting alongside intense customer service pressures If you are female, you have to work 10xs harder especially if you're store management. Customer base is very 'alpha' male dominated and you're expected to just "suck it up" when harassed by traders.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Topps Tiles Response

      Recruitment

      Thank you for your review of Topps Tiles we are really pleased you find you get support from your area and the technical training provided on the HUB is good. If there are any issues you would like to take forward to the company please speak with your Team Talk rep or HRBP. We wish you lots of luck for the future with Topps Tiles, many thanks the recruitment team

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Absolutely Love Working Here!!

      12 May 2021 - Office Based in Leicester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great People, team work and a supportive environment all the way up to the top. Great family feel and always great to feel happy to go to work. Very supportive of mental health and equality which is a breath of fresh air.

      Cons

      I cannot really think of any to be honest. The only thing I would mention is that it would be nice to have more holiday entitlement in line with other businesses.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Topps Tiles Response

      Recruitment

      Thank you for your review of Topps Tiles we are really pleased you find Topps to have great people and a great family feel with it also being supportive of Mental Health and equality. We wish lots of success in your future with Topps Tiles many thanks the recruitment team.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Better than what people say

      30 Apr 2021 - Customer Service Specialist in Harrow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      teamwork - everyone works effectively together. progression is a real thing here you get what you put in like with anything you do. A lot of people write bad reviews, but its mainly because they were not ready to commit to something. Nothing wrong with the company flexible to your needs and holidays

      Cons

      Long hours/early starts Lifting in the heat - cant really control that

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Topps Tiles Response

      Recruitment

      Thank you for your review of Topps Tiles, we are really pleased you find Topps Tiles to have good team work and progression, we are always looking at the hours our stores are open and try to ensure these hours are right for our cusotmers and our staff. We wish you lots of success with your future in Topps Tiles, kind regards the recruitment team.

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Not impressed

      30 Apr 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Redhill, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good commission for service specialist if you're face fits

      Cons

      A lot, they don't care about mental health, if you're face doesn't fit, your playing the victim, if your line manager and subsequent colleagues only care about profit and loss. If your face doesn't fit, they don't listen to you. Unless you are either an attractive female or a male whom can carry 2/3 bags of adhesive you will fit in brilliant. If your 40 plus/45 plus you will be accused of being a vic

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Topps Tiles Response

      Recruitment

      Thank you for taking time to do a review of Topp Tiles we are really sorry you feel we don't care about mental health, we do have a team of trained mental health first aiders who would be happy if you would like to get in touch with any of them a list of names can be found on our intranet. We would also encourage you to speak to your ASM or HRBP to discuss any problems that may be occurring in store. Kind regards the recruitment team.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      That's how I'm looked upon

      26 May 2021 - Dish Washer in Leicester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you are liked by a director or regional then you are going places.

      Cons

      Egos as delicate as egg shells where one wrong comment to the wrong person can wreck your career. You are not there to improve conditions etc just do as you are told

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Topps Tiles Response

      Recruitment

      Thank you for review of Topps Tiles, we are really sorry to hear of your experience with Topps Tiles, if there are any problems you would like to discuss please contact your Area Sales Manager or HRBP. We wish you lots of luck for the future with Topps Tiles, kind regards the recruitment team.

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Yes men succeed

      8 Jun 2021 - Store Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent wage, good hours decent bonus structure if in a good branch

      Cons

      Poor management, move people around too often and profit is all that matters

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      .

      21 May 2021 - Sales Assistant in Enfield, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, good commission opportunities

      Cons

      A lot of heavy lifting

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Topps Tiles Response

      Recruitment

      Thank you for your review of Topps Tiles we are really pleased you find we have decent pay with good commission. We do have regular training updates on the HUB regarding lifting of the heavy products we sell, we wish lots of luck for the future, kind regards the recruitment team.

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice work environment

      9 May 2021 - Sales Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - good place to learn transferable skills

      Cons

      - need more promotional opportunities

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Topps Tiles Response

      Recruitment

      Thank you for review of Topps Tiles we are really pleased you find it a good place to learn transferable skills, we always like to promote from within the company were possible. Many thanks the recruitment team.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 177 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Topps Tiles Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Topps Tiles? Share Your Experiences

    Topps Tiles logo
    or