Tutor Doctor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Tutor Doctor Reviews

Updated 10 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Tutor Doctor President Frank Milner (no image)
Frank Milner
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "From the placement of students to tutors all the way to ensuring(in 43 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours: You set your own schedule with your clients(in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "So far so good so no cons to speak of yet(in 15 reviews)

  • "You're not paid to do session reports(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Math Tutor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tutor Doctor part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company was brilliant, they provided me with many opportunities in and around where I lived to tutor National (GCSE) level students.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to share

    Advice to Management

    Keep it going!

    Tutor Doctor2019-05-18
  2. "Tutoring for Tutor Doctor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Tutor in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tutor Doctor part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good students, easy work, good systems

    Cons

    Hourly rate and no travel costs included

    Advice to Management

    Increase the hourly rate

    Tutor Doctor2019-03-14
  3. "Well organised and easy to use"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maths, Science and 11+ Tutor in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tutor Doctor part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am very impressed with the coordination of students to tutor. The ease of just getting their details, preparing the lesson, turning up and teaching, returning home and submitting a report is very nice. No need to source students. Very convenient. It is a well organised company. I also like the fact we submit reports and a track record is kept. The fact that parents have already paid upfront is also good as you know how many sessions you will be doing. Good support and advice as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    I feel the rate we are given is very low. I can earn more tutoring on my own, and do, but the convenience is very impressive with TutorDoctor and their support invaluable..

    Advice to Management

    You could pay more!

    Tutor Doctor2018-10-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good but not without downsides"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Tutor Doctor part-time

    Pros

    The flexible hours and personal relationships that you can form are a joy to behold.

    Cons

    Online session summaries are compulsory for all students despite having never been read by anyone. Pay is low compared to tutoring privately

    Advice to Management

    Make online session reports an option that parents of pupils can opt-in to

    Tutor Doctor2018-11-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tutor Doctor part-time

    Pros

    Great team that are always on hand to help

    Cons

    Have to travel a lot

    Tutor Doctor2018-10-02
  6. "Wonderful company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tutor Doctor part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The interview process was very simple and straightforward and Shumit my boss was able to find me a suitable student who he thought would be a good fit. There is always opportunities to take on more than one student too so it's good extra money which has helped me pay for my bills.

    Cons

    I have no negatives to say!

    Tutor Doctor2018-05-22
  7. "Easy company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tutor Doctor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great platform for tutors to use in order for them to log their hours as well as session notes and outcomes. It works easily around your schedule, allowing to pick up more students during peak season, or refuse a student if you’re busy with your personal life. Shantanu Gupta from Tutor Doctor Harrow is especially lovely, regardless of the time of day, he will help resolve any problems you have and accomodate your students around your life really well. Having frequent phone calls with him really help motivation. The online tutoring platform Bramble is fantastic for long distance students, I enjoy teaching on that platform.

    Show More

    Cons

    I wish there was an option for students to come to me too, some students don’t have a big enough space or don’t feel comfortale to have strangers in their house and don’t wish to do online lesson, so the lessons end up being in public places.

    Tutor Doctor2018-04-11
  8. "Tutoring in Surrey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tutor Doctor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good students, decent pay, good senior management, friendly organisation

    Cons

    Long term prospects: not evident

    Advice to Management

    Pay for travel costs please

    Tutor Doctor2018-02-28
  9. "Ideal job for busy Mum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - French & Spanish Teacher in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tutor Doctor part-time

    Pros

    Total flexibility of working whenever suits me to fit in around family and other commitments.

    Cons

    The journey time to one of my students is 50 mins which means most of my hourly pay goes on petrol.

    Advice to Management

    Get leaflet dropping in Cambourne to promote tutor doctor.

    Tutor Doctor2018-02-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tutor Doctor part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They find the students for you

    Cons

    Travel costs aren't covered Have to write report for every lesson No set payment date Don't always respond to emails Payment starts at £15 but I'm quite sure the client pays at least £30 per lesson

    Advice to Management

    As an employee, I do all the lesson planning, actual teaching and travel to and from the students house. I feel that I deserve to start on at least £20 an hour - this is London and life is expensive.

    Tutor Doctor2018-02-16
Found 251 reviews