Uncommon Schools Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Uncommon Schools Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Uncommon Schools CEO Brett Peiser (no image)
Brett Peiser
137 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome Place to Learn and Grow, give it time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Secondary School Mathematics Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Uncommon Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When you are new and do not know much you will get a lot of support to improve. Once you have improved you are then given more room to make your classroom your own. It takes time to get good and teaching at Uncommon for a year or two is not enough. Give it at least three. The kids are awesome too.

    Cons

    Too many hours of work.

    Advice to Management

    Shorten the school day.

    Uncommon Schools2019-11-07
  2. "Not long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Uncommon Schools full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, students are great, coworkers are great

    Cons

    No time for yourself (11 hour days everyday), management expects you to care more about behavior than education

    Uncommon Schools2019-11-12
  3. "Great Mission Driven Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uncommon Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mission driven company. Good resources and you feel like you're making a difference at work. very results oriented

    Cons

    Promotions feel based on favoritism and it can be hard to move up in the org.

    Uncommon Schools2019-10-16
  4. "Change is good, unless it's poorly handled."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Projects Coordinator in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Uncommon Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great like-minded coworkers Apt educators Confidence in Employees Benefits

    Cons

    Work-Life Balance Very Cliquey Support for New Hires Little to no training, expected to just do it without instruction "That's not my job" mentality Revolving door, difficulty with consistency

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to struggling employees Make an effort to train before assuming Support new hires instead of forcing results Careful with the cliquey atmosphere

    Uncommon Schools2019-10-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Uncommon Brooklyn Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 8th Grade Math Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Uncommon Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a ton of opportunity to move up the leadership ladder. In 3-4 years you can be on the track to become principal or dean of curriculum of instruction or a dean of students. You will definitely feel supported depending on the campus you are a part of and feel prepared anywhere you go moving forward.

    Cons

    The biggest thing I don't like about the network is how they tend to never have people in color who are well known in the network for their success in the classroom lead network wide things like content based PDs. There are also a ton of PDS that you attend throughout the year and there needs to be a more streamlined process to take teachers time in consideration to prevent less of these. Also they don't typically... differentiate the PDs for staff who have been there longer and often are repetitive and can make you feel as if you no longer are growing.

    Show More
    Uncommon Schools2019-10-05
  6. "Needlessly Stressful, with lots of anger directed at students and staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Uncommon Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have always worked in nonprofits and working at Uncommon will at least be more fulfilling than a for-profit job.

    Cons

    I have worked in low-income school district for years, so my bad experience isn't because I couldn't "cut it". It was because of a school structure that seemed actively detrimental to staff and student mental well-being Low pay, even by industry standards Mean and mercurial principal for Roxbury High School Campus Panic attacks on the weekend when I'm anticipating work Dehumanizes the students they work with... through prison like discipline "Results" should be viewed with skepticism. Roxbury Prep can report a high graduation rate because students that choose to leave after heavy suspensions and dehumanizing discipline aren't counted as drop-outs because they return to a district public school.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please reform how you treat students, especially students with special needs. You're going to sully the reputation of charter schools in Boston, which will hurt the other charter schools in Boston doing great work.

    Uncommon Schools2019-11-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No excuses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School 

    I have been working at Uncommon Schools full-time

    Pros

    -pay is decent -students are wonderful

    Cons

    -no excuses charter school are racist. Most of the students are Black and Brown and are policed to extreme measures. Management is very white. The dynamics of this school are wrong.

    Uncommon Schools2019-10-14
  8. "Not a good fit for me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Fellow in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Uncommon Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Their results are impressive in terms of testing.

    Cons

    The school and overall network did not fit. Would advise fellows their assigned school visit several times and make sure they are committed to the daily culture and school leadership.

    Uncommon Schools2019-11-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Achievement Focused Charter network"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Uncommon Schools full-time

    Pros

    Very focused on student data and achievement. Decent pay.

    Cons

    Long hours. Very little work-life balance.

    Uncommon Schools2019-10-09
  10. "Toxic Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Uncommon Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kids are learning kids eat everyday

    Cons

    Stop micromanaging work life balance is terrible rentention rate too high

    Uncommon Schools2019-10-28
Found 316 reviews