Verastar Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Verastar Reviews

Updated 18 March 2019
101 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Verastar CEO Chris Earle
Chris Earle
66 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "You don't work weekends or bank holidays" (in 6 reviews)

  • "Great place to work where they really care about their staff" (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours that are not flexible" (in 13 reviews)

  • "9-6 (40 hour week) quite long hours for office work" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "5* Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Verastar part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -All staff are friendly and lovely to work with especially management and sales.
    -Management is professional and supportive.
    -Regular pay progression based on a checklist which you work towards.
    -Pizza Friday and dress down days
    -Social events
    -The company have supported me through going back to university and have given me the opportunity to work part time throughout my studies.
    -Quarterly bonus worth 10% of salary.

    Cons

    The only con that I can think of is that there is no on site parking although this is not really a problem because the building is surrounded by residential streets that are always empty to park on.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    Verastar Response

    19 Mar 2019 – Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review!

    We are pleased to hear you are enjoying your role, and are working within a friendly and supportive team and management.

    It's... More


  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electricity Operations Manager in Manchester, England
    Former Employee - Electricity Operations Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Verastar full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    My experience at Verastar has been very positive. The company has grown rapidly over the last few years, which means large scope for career progression, financial security and always plenty of work to do! Their staff benefits have improved too, meaning flexible working hours for many people, bonuses and things such as pizza fridays.

    Cons

    Every con I can think of is already being worked on, such as improvements to the building and facilities, new starter training and call centre culture. The senior management team know exactly what needs to change but it is not something that can be fixed over night unfortunately.

    Advice to Management

    My advice would be for them to keep listening to the staff and providing them with the working environment that they feel they need, in order to retain and develop. Those with talent and desire for progression need to be given a bit more support, to assist them with building their own career internally. Bench marking salaries should also be taken in to consideration, as there are large discrepancies due to long standing members of staff still working within the business - who are not always adding value.

    Verastar Response

    19 Mar 2019 – Human Resources Manager

    Hi,

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a positive review! It's lovely to hear you enjoy the positive changes we’ve made recently and our continued progressive outlook.

    Kind... More

  3. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Verastar full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    We have flexi time which is great you could build up to 3.5 / 4 hours a week depending on how much you want to build.
    My manager is amazing, the people I work with are awesome and I’m very happy here

    Cons

    Not enough parking for everyone

    Advice to Management

    Keep being you! You’re awesome

    Verastar Response

    19 Mar 2019 – Human Resources Manager

    Hello,

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.

    It's great to hear you have such a fabulous working relationship with your team, and management staff!

    We are also happy... More


  4. "Rewards for Those Who Work Hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Support
    Current Employee - Partner Support
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Verastar full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Encouraging those who want to grow into the company, ambitious outlook, listens to employees, makes positive changes

    Cons

    Long hours, head office split over 3 different buildings

    Advice to Management

    Get us all in one modern building with boost morale, 9-5:30 would be a benefit

    Verastar Response

    19 Mar 2019 – Human Resources Manager

    Hi,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. It's lovely to hear you enjoy the positive changes we’ve made recently and our ambitious outlook.

    We would like to take this... More


  5. "Honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in Manchester City Centre, England
    Former Employee - Advisor in Manchester City Centre, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Verastar full-time

    Pros

    other sales advisers are great to work with

    Cons

    Management
    Backstabbing
    Military culture, cant speak about anything else

    Advice to Management

    relax with how you treat people, we are all adults NOT kids, its like being in the army.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Horrendous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Administrator in Manchester, England
    Former Employee - Customer Care Administrator in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Verastar full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The days we were allowed dish clothes

    Cons

    I left this company under constructive dismissal after almost 4 years service. I have Tourette’s.

    Just to sum up in a nut shell what this company is actually like.... I went to OH in December 2016 and they recommended a DSE. I chased over & over again and received this a week before I left the company in February 2019! The excuse they used..... we have been in back log.
    This is just a tiny fraction of what goes on at this company. I could write for days!

    I am astonished that this company are winning awards....

    I was asked by senior management to make animal noises for there entertainment despite my disability being involuntary.

    My mental and physical health suffered working for this company.

    No sick pay & then get penalised on bonus for being off sick.

    Advice to Management

    HR don’t bother with the please contact us it’s confidential and we’re concerned - been there done that. It’s not confidential, you are not concerned. I have all the paperwork to back that up.


  7. "AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Representative in Ipswich, England
    Former Employee - Field Sales Representative in Ipswich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Verastar full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I couldn't give less than 1 star unfortunately

    Cons

    After being made to drive around most of East Anglia in my own car at my own expense I quickly realised that I wasn't getting paid for the majority of the sales I completed due to 'cancellations'. I ended up quitting and was asked to work a months notice. I agreed until they started sending me on wild goose chases. And then refused to pay me for anything as 'agreed in their terms and conditions' signed when I started (TIP: READ THE 'CONTRACT OF EMPLOYMENT CAREFULLY!). This company cares nothing about it's sales people. There are far better propositions than this shower out there. Please don't become another sucker!

    Advice to Management

    PAY WHAT YOU OWE!

    Verastar Response

    19 Mar 2019 – Human Resources Manager

    Hi,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are disappointed to hear of your negative experience as a Field Sales Representative, as we endeavour to ensure all of our... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Support in Northenden, England
    Former Employee - Sales Support in Northenden, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Verastar full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Poor pay compared to similar fields

    Advice to Management

    Improve pay

    Verastar Response

    1 Feb 2019 – Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your review.
    Verastar aim to offer a great bonus scheme which encourages staff to reach their full potential. We take on board your feedback and wish you every success for the future.


  9. "Avoid at all costs - destroy your mental health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Renewals in Northenden, England
    Current Employee - Renewals in Northenden, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Verastar full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Home time !
    I must enter at least 5 words but I don’t have that many positives

    Cons

    Management drive you so far into the ground , don’t listen , only care about themselves and their commission. Will remove people who are weak links. Several members have staff have left the renewals team since I’ve been there over a year due to mental health problems caused by the management !

    If you are I’ll they ring you constantly until you come in.

    Sick note ? They don’t care they carry on ringing.

    Bad pay.

    Management laugh if you have any type of mental health problem.

    HR drag you in a room with management and interrogate you as to why your stressed or have mental health problems making it worse.

    One member of staff was on the sick for 6 months and harassed her to the point she could no longer return

    Advice to Management

    Get a new job that doesn’t involve speaking to humans at all.

    Verastar Response

    25 Feb 2019 – Human Resources Manager

    Hi,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are disappointed to hear of your negative experience as a Renewals advisor, as we endeavour to ensure all our representatives have a... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Trainer in Hamilton, Scotland
    Current Employee - Business Trainer in Hamilton, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Verastar full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work where they really care about their staff

    Cons

    No pay when off sick

    Verastar Response

    10 Jan 2019 – Human Resources Manager

    Hi,
    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. It's lovely to hear you enjoy the vibrant working environment.
    Keep up all the great work!