Volvo Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Volvo Group Reviews

Updated 12 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 721 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Martin Lundstedt
161 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Slow decision making in projects(in 23 reviews)

  • "No cons, but suggest staying in Greensboro rather than commuting from RDU area(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Volvo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of shifts , friendly customers and good management

    Cons

    Late nights long shift which is expected

    Volvo Group2019-04-09
  2. "I would recommend as a journalist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Volvo Group full-time

    Pros

    I was at SE10 for a little over a year. I enjoyed the office environment, parties, colleagues and clients (for the most part).

    Cons

    Like any office there is an element of favouritism. I always made sure to be a positive presence in the office, keep my clients happy and lead by example to maintain morale, but I struggled to receive acknowledgement from my boss. I wasn't promoted even though my boss was always happy with me and my work. Everyone is entitled to their preferences until it impacts someone's career progression. Maybe I wasn't pretty enough!

    Advice to Management

    Give credit where credit is due

    Volvo Group2018-08-14
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Storesperson in Horsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, nice people, good products

    Cons

    Decision making is a little slow

    Volvo Group2018-02-13
  4. "Volvo Group UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice place to work, friendly, structured, good product

    Cons

    very political, not easy to progress upwards, older management team, constant re-orgs

    Advice to Management

    Help team members progress by actively encouraging them

    Volvo Group2017-04-06
  5. "Good company, but less than the sum of its parts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Profitable business which includes several sector-leading brands. Many excellent products and many talented staff. Good future prospects through strong product -portfolio.

    Cons

    Conservative culture, some parts of the business not sufficiently customer-focused. Some long-stayers lack dynamism and openness to new ideas, stifling others who do. Many plus points, but could achieve much more.

    Advice to Management

    Plan for a 5 year period, rather than the current short horizons.

    Volvo Group2017-03-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Volvo Group

      Pros

      A good company that let's their employees grow and prosper. Working with the most exciting products will full support from managers to take your own decisions. A lovely company and I am so proud to have been a part if it for 15 years. Had I not moved abroad with my husband I would have happily stayed until retirement. Such a great company!!

      Cons

      The salary levels aren't bad but they could be better.

      Volvo Group2015-06-01
    • "Great place to work with better work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Applications Developer in Eskilstuna
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Volvo Group full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      1. Freedom 2. Transparent management 3. Good work Life balance 4. No Micro management

      Cons

      1. Can be more aggressive in approach

      Volvo Group2019-06-12
    • "Good work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Applications Developer in Bangalore
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Volvo Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      They provide very good work life balance. Your innovation ideas are considered here. You get travel to onsite.

      Cons

      Sometime you have to be involved for legacy work.

      Volvo Group2019-05-30
    • "Great company to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Learning Program Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Volvo Group full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Open to ideas great management support good policies friendly atmosphere

      Cons

      Slow in taking decisions and sometimes implementations

      Volvo Group2019-05-29
    • "Great learning curve and growth prospects"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Applications Management Analyst in Bangalore
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Volvo Group full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Flexible working hours Great bunch of employees

      Cons

      Offer salary based on skill not based on technology

      Advice to Management

      More receptive to latest trends in IT

      Volvo Group2019-05-27
    Found 721 reviews