Wiley Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Wiley Reviews

Updated 13 September 2018
765 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Brian Napack
51 Ratings

765 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great work life balance and salary" (in 162 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, kind people, quality products" (in 47 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The more you put in, the more you get back.

    Cons

    Learning to have a work/life integration, rather than a work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing forward to develop our high performance culture, we have come so far these past few years and I thank you for that.

    Wiley Response

    27 Apr 2018 – Director

    Five stars! Thanks! You're exactly right that the more you put in the more you get back - which is true of so many things in life.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Publishers buying in to Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Product Manager in Oxford, England
    Former Employee - Technical Product Manager in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Lovely people to work with
    Very intelligent staff, innovative and collaborative
    Very flexible working
    Active innovation scheme for all employees to collaborate and contribute ideas to the company roadmap
    Excellent Sports/Social opportunities
    Good Pension, Childcare, Deals with local businesses etc.
    Annual bonus and salary review scheme
    Nice office in Oxford
    Great if you're passionate about publishing

    Cons

    Continued outsourcing of technology results in redundancy of knowledge base for existing products
    Too quick to restructure to resolve problems without giving the previous restructure time to work
    Siloed mentality in some areas makes collaborative working difficult
    Lack of co-located teams can make you feel isolated (in IT roles especially)
    Trying to be a "Tech" company but not committing to it.
    Little career progression opportunites in IT

    Advice to Management

    Stick with a restructure long enough to truly measure if it is working or not
    Keep knowledgeable staff around longer to support
    Commit to being a Tech company both in your staff and your technology, don;t just say you are
    Keep up the Innovation programme - encourage participation from more/all of your employees

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for, with positive changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Oxford, England
    Current Employee - Assistant in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Colleagues and managers are friendly and respectful and although they're often very busy, will make time for you if you wish to discuss something
    - There's a very proactive approach to tackling the disruptions in academic publishing, which isn't always common in such a large business.
    - Good work/life balance. Hours are easily adjusted and holiday is easy to take.
    - Good response to the gender pay gap problem- lots of communication throughout the company and it's being taken very seriously

    Cons

    - Staff often overworked, particularly as the work filters down
    - Certain systems don't run as well as they should, but these issues are being tackled
    - Opportunities aren't always obvious/widely advertised. Initiative is required.

    Advice to Management

    It would be good to focus more on entry/lower level employees. Opportunities are fine, but encouragement is sometimes lacking.

    Wiley Response

    13 Aug 2018 – Director

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! Understanding the root causes of inequality and making the effort to inform people and address the situation is part of creating that respectful... More


  4. Helpful (6)

    "Just a sad mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chichester, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chichester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    there is free coffee/tea and the pension contribution is ok. Officially there is a buddy system for new hires

    Cons

    Where to start...

    all looks nice on paper but when it gets to the real work people do not like to be accountable nor have the required skills, all is just figured out on the go.

    We had some recent new hires lately and all were left to their own devices, no on boarding, no equipment set up etc. This was just awful! When brought up in a meeting ..."This is the Wiley way"...

    There are many old-timers around that just do not want to change anymore nor develop anything. They have their little thing going locally and that is enough for them. Of course those are extremely well connected can get away with anything. This goes as far as into HR.

    The amount of negligence/arrogance is appalling and does not contribute to any team spirit or future for the company.

    Again, all will look very nice on paper because all boxes are ticked on a sheet but never really ask ...otherwise you get the boot.

    Employees are asked to contribute to the Glassdoor presence by adding positive reviews adding to social media engineering.

    Managers in Chichester love standing around and gossip about anybody and everything, resulting in a very toxic atmosphere. This is the only time when they are not in their offices or a meeting.

    Development opportunities are zero to none because of pure office politics and the Girls Club.

    Advice to Management

    close down Chichester and restart with new staff that is actually up for the task.

    Stop praising yourselves for a great job on the intranet after the Glassdoor score went up...I mean the CEO and his entourage!

    Wiley Response

    21 Aug 2018 – Director

    This is quite a lot of feedback and it would be nearly impossible to address it all in the limited space that we have here; however, I would like to address a few things in particular - specifically... More


  5. Helpful (6)

    "Desperate to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Chichester, England
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Chichester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time

    Pros

    The offices are being refurbished and there is free tea and coffee

    Cons

    No career progression, poor bonus scheme, limited opportunity (unless your face fits). New leadership are driving a high performance culture without rewarding it or respecting the effort, time and loyalty of staff.

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff - all of them - not just the few

    Wiley Response

    14 Aug 2018 – Director

    Building a culture where the whole organization shares common values and goals and is focused on high-quality execution is critically important and, you're right, requires mutual respect from all... More


  6. Helpful (4)

    "Good interpersonal relationships but let down by structural issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chichester, England
    Current Employee - Manager in Chichester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Excellent interpersonal relationships
    Some great colleagues
    Wiley really looks after its own
    Good attempts to foster community spirit through various initiatives

    Cons

    Communication is truly bad. Sometimes find out people have left through Linkedin updates.
    Constant restructuring which sometimes seems to lack rationale and is then reversed at a later date.
    Outsourcing has meant some basic functions like getting an invoice paid or having new software installed turn into bureaucratic nightmares

    Advice to Management

    Communicate to your staff. Don't be afraid to inform people that staff are leaving.
    Think carefully about the outsourcing and its effect on the day-to-day jobs of staff

    Wiley Response

    16 Jul 2018 – Director

    Thanks so much for the positive review! You're right, Wiley does it's best to build a strong workplace community. Your feedback is well received and we'll do our best to make sure that your advice... More


  7. Helpful (6)

    "Good colleagues, but hard work isn't recognised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I was allowed to change my hours slightly to suit my personal needs.

    Some really great colleagues, who have become friends outside of work too.

    Cons

    Worked way above my level for two years, being told I'm doing all the right things and it never leading to anything... applied for a job internally and jumped two levels by moving.

    Lots of egos which are being rewarded with promotions, leaving those who quietly do a good job behind.

    "Manager's discretion" for EVERYTHING is great if you've got a good manager, but not for those who don't. Lots of inconsistencies in management and fairness.

    Advice to Management

    Recognise those who are working hard - not those who shout the loudest.

    Wiley Response

    21 Jun 2018 – Director

    Thanks for the review! I'm sorry that you felt that your work wasn't being recognized. That's never a good situation and we try to do everything possible to ensure that people are appreciated and... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "A company that needs to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time

    Pros

    The people are really lovely.

    Cons

    In the past, there have been many many redundancies which has left older employees quite bitter.
    Technology is atrocious.
    Maternity scheme is super basic.
    Gender pay gap is bad and HR make excuses for this.
    Falls short on the way it handles employees with mental health issues.
    Doesn't hold managers responsible for poor performance.

    Advice to Management

    Look at cons section - its pretty obvious

    Wiley Response

    21 Jun 2018 – Director

    For what it's worth, we do read the "cons" of every review and take the things that people write very seriously. You're right though that the people that work here are really lovely. We believe in... More


  9. "Great team to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bognor Regis, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bognor Regis, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Friendly, welcoming office with some very helpful cheerful people. Tools to support career progression are available.

    Cons

    Communication between departments can be frustrating. Pay isn’t great.

    Wiley Response

    22 May 2018 – Director

    Hey! Thanks for the positive review! And thanks for pointing out the tools that Wiley offers for career progression. Having a development plan is vitally important and we love it when people take... More


  10. "Good Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chichester, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chichester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    A very strong employment package , the Company has provided myself with a stable job over 19 years and at heart is I think a caring and benevolent employer.

    Cons

    Constant change requires a period of stability whereby employees are confident that they will still have a job in 12 months time.

    Advice to Management

    Decide on way forward and stick to it , better communication of the strategy that is being followed.

    Wiley Response

    21 Aug 2018 – Director

    Thanks for the feedback. Periods of change are often difficult to navigate and can produce unwanted stress and anxiety to all involved. You're right though, the company does care. Hopefully you'll... More


Showing 765 of 821 reviews
Reset Filters