Wiley Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Wiley Reviews

Updated 23 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Wiley President and Chief Executive Officer 	Brian Napack (no image)
Brian Napack
132 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Admissions Upper Management is unapproachable(in 40 reviews)

  • "Employee loyalty is thrown out of the window, low pay, predictable and no room for growth(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Only been there a short time, but I’ve found it a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journals Publishing Assistant in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Caring and helpful management. Good salary. Lovely team of people. Great facilities in Oxford.

    Cons

    Working from home isn’t as accepted and normal as I was led to believe

    Wiley2020-03-02
  2. "Considerate, employee centric Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Chichester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, looks after employees - well defined career paths, great internal development and beautiful offices in Chichester (if somewhat quiet!). Excellent Work Life Balance.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic, sometimes stale - meaning career path bottlenecks (staff are often lifelong Wiley employees). Decision making can be frustrating.

    Wiley2020-02-18
  3. "Supportive family organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Wiley end product matters: seeks to educate and save lives; Supportive of flexible working patterns

    Cons

    Can sometimes suffer from slow-moving decision making

    Wiley2020-01-25
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Still the best job I have had, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Publisher in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful colleagues. Outstanding opportunities for entrepreneurship - in my case shaping a successful publishing programme. Great place to learn on the job and from others.

    Cons

    Senior management very poor unfortunately. A total lack of understanding of what makes the publishing business profitable now and will do so in the future (content!). Business basics jettisoned in favour of advice from consultants whose closest equivalents are possibly the quack doctors of the past. IT infrastructure completely inadequate.

    Continue reading
    Wiley2019-10-18

    Wiley Response

    November 12, 2019Director

    Couldn't agree more that Wiley colleagues are among the most wonderful aspects of the company! Thanks so much for the feedback and please know that we take everything posted here to heart.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Operations Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chichester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, not stressful, relaxed working environment, allowed to work from home as and when needed

    Cons

    Office is very quiet, no team spirit, dated and dark office, needs more natural light

    Continue reading
    Wiley2019-10-27

    Wiley Response

    November 12, 2019Director

    Providing flexible working arrangements so that employees can maintain a healthy work/life balance is extremely important and we believe it helps enhance the workplace and supports creativity and productivity. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good People and Family culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked at Wiley for long time which is possible due to the people and family based culture surrounding your work. Always had growth opportunity as far as you are showing your willingness to do challenging Jobs

    Cons

    Big organisation so decision making and process defining is a time consuming which sometimes demotivates people.

    Wiley2019-09-19

    Wiley Response

    October 1, 2019Director

    Thanks for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to put down your thoughts and please know that we do read them and take people's opinions to heart.

    Continue reading
  7. "Friendly environment, slow HR processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is super friendly You have a lot of systems that make your day to day management easy Team environment

    Cons

    Processes for HR can be very slow, they don't have a clear career progression strategy

    Continue reading
    Wiley2019-09-17

    Wiley Response

    October 1, 2019Director

    Thanks for the review! Couldn't agree more - Wiley people ARE super friendly! Hopefully that helps makes any slow processes you encounter that much easier to bear. But also please feel free to reach out to your HR Business Partner and make them aware of the challenges you're having. They're here to help!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great social life and communities but poor management and leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial Assistant in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    opportunities for social events community groups such as Generation Wiley end-of-year bonus

    Cons

    very poor line management no interest in personal development by senior staff very bad communication of restructuring plans chances for promotions differ widely per department

    Continue reading
    Wiley2019-07-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time

    Pros

    Great company atmosphere with lots of societies and schemes to get stuck into. Good work/life balance with wfh options.

    Cons

    Lots of unnecessary meetings, takes a long time to get projects moving.

    Continue reading
    Wiley2019-05-15

    Wiley Response

    June 22, 2019Director

    Thanks for the great review! You raise an important point; listening is critical to maintaining a healthy dialogue between all parts of the company, and it's why we read these Glassdoor reviews!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Good place to work but constant restructuring for many years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A lot of intelligent, friendly colleagues. Good income. Nice enough workplace environment

    Cons

    Constant restructuring over too many years has created a lot of job uncertainty for many people. Too many changes of top level management who then restart the same process all over again.

    Continue reading
    Wiley2019-04-27

    Wiley Response

    June 22, 2019Director

    Thanks for taking the time to write. Industry change is challenging and can create a lot of uncertainty. Navigating that so that all employees are informed and (hopefully) aligned with the company strategy is equally challenging. Thanks for taking the time to let your voice be heard. We're doing everything we can to ensure that we offer a stable, supportive environment.

    Continue reading
Found 941 reviews