mpb.com Reviews

Updated Sep 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 28 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
mpb.com CEO  Matt Barker  (no image)
Matt Barker
20 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company

    Apr 16, 2021 - General Manager in Brighton, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Office environment, friendly people to work with, relaxed work environment if you work hard and pull your weight as it should be.

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    mpb.com Response

    Head of Recuitment

    Thanks for your feedback! Great to hear that you enjoy working at MPB .

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Depends what you're looking for...

    Aug 28, 2021 - PPC Executive in Brighton, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Nice office - Free fruit - Work laptop (mac) - A lot of photography-related passion which can be inspiring - Good community feel - ideal if you are passionate about photo & video - The CEO is an extremely smart guy who wants his employees to enjoy working

    Cons

    - Clicky environment - I wouldn't call a lot of people who work there approachable - Some of management are borderline narcissistic - Not ideal if you're wanting to progress in digital marketing due to how repetitive the work is - A lot of pressure was put on me to manage a key revenue stream for the business when I only went in as a junior and I was then blamed when things didn't go to plan

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stressful

    Apr 15, 2021 - Customer Experience Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friday drinks, lots of social events if you get on with everyone

    Cons

    Stressful experience, lots of time spent on the phone to angry customers, cliquey work place

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    mpb.com Response

    Head of Recuitment

    Thanks for your review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed our social events and we're looking forward to rolling them out again soon! I'm sorry to hear that you found the role as Customer Experience Executive stressful. We are always looking at ways we can improve our teams experiences at MPB our EAP service is something that we're evolving to help support in those difficult situations, with your feedback we can focus on bringing more attention to this to further support all teams! Thank your for your dedication to MPB and for this feedback, it's a vital ingredient for growing and evolving as a workforce.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great company

    Mar 1, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good culture, friendly team, good work

    Cons

    none none none none none

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    mpb.com Response

    Head of Recuitment

    Great to hear you're enjoying your time at MPB. Thanks for your feedback!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company to work for

    Jan 26, 2021 - Frontend Developer in Brighton, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Perfect work / life balance * Plenty of room to learn (paid for) and grow * Supportive, friendly environment

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hit and miss

    Jul 1, 2020 - Warehouse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool relaxed environment, dog friendly, interesting job in some ways.

    Cons

    Pay is awful, just disgusting. Too much of a boys culture, people are in charge who shouldn’t be, simply because they’ve been there for years. Warehouse manager is a bully and treats people horribly and gets away with it.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    mpb.com Response

    Head of Recuitment

    At MPB we are constantly looking at ways to make improvements and better our company culture so thank you for your feedback, it’s heard and most certainly helps us learn! We pride ourselves on recognising the hard work all MPB employees put into their roles. All salaries are reviewed annually and we always strive to reward as much as possible, both in terms of pay and also in terms of benefits. We are proud to pay above the Brighton living wage for all roles and feel this is but one piece of recognising the dedication and talents of all who work here. For fairness and equality across our worksites we ensure all new joiners within our operational teams are paid the same wage upon entry, and these entry salaries do not differ depending on the location of your role within the UK. Listening to the many voices within MPB is a valuable source of insight and something we are always keen to build upon. It’s unfortunate to hear that you felt your feedback was not received, we understand the importance of resolving issues and removing problems and as you say listening to our people can be a great way to highlight pressure points early on. Finally, whilst all points raised are hugely appreciated and will be used to help us grow, it is the feedback on our working culture that we want to ensure is appropriately received and responded to. It is important that every employee at MPB feels valued and appreciated. We aim to foster a rich and inclusive working experience where everyone has the opportunity to grow and learn. It is saddening to hear that your experience was less than we aim for and not what you had hoped for. Your experience of our culture is not representative of the 150+ people that make MPB what it is, and therefore we will continue to review, listen, and learn to ensure our culture continues to be an inclusive one. We have reviewed and will continue to monitor all points you raised in attempts to further develop our ever growing culture. Your feedback has been invaluable, thank you for your dedication to MPB.

  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Really truly awful during CONVID-19

    Mar 24, 2020 - Product Specialist in Brighton, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They've been buying staff pizza and bribing them with lunch food to try and keep morale high

    Cons

    During this COVID-19 pandemic, where all places are being told to close and people told to stay at home... of course MPB is staying open. I feel like somebody needs to die of this virus for anything to change, and its truly awful how they are going about business. Some people who can work from home are - which is great - others, have to get public transport and be around others, when we are being told to all stay at home. The CEO has written an update from mpb on the website: "At present, all our customers can continue to buy, sell and trade at MPB" "Please stay safe and healthy, we will get through this together" What a ridiculous statement to say when they are forcing workers to work in an environment during this. The warehouse is in an area that isn't easily reached so employees have to catch a bus, with people who are going to ASDA and working at ASDA (which at this point is a high risk area and lots of people going). The buses are packed with people trying to get shopping which means the virus could be spreading at any time. This is so irresponsible of an employer. Please do what is right. Please think about your employees. Employees old and new have discussed how unfair this is in private and are anxious and worried to travel in. They don't want pizza. They want you to act like you care.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    mpb.com Response

    Head of Recuitment

    Thank you for your feedback. As you suggest, there are some staff at MPB who’s jobs cannot be done from home and this applies to staff employed at our UK warehouse and to some staff at our US warehouse in Brooklyn, NY. Government guidance in the UK & the US is recognising that this is the case across a number of industries, notably manufacturing, distribution and eCommerce which together employ millions of people. There is clear guidance that staff in such jobs can and should continue to travel to work at this time. In respect of our workforces based at our warehouses, very significant steps have been taken to reduce stress and anxiety during this difficult period, whilst ensuring that livelihoods are maintained. In addition to stringent additional daily cleaning, provision of protective gloves and hand sanitiser, and provision of daily food to ensure that our staff do not have to go out for food if they do not want to, we have also adjusted staff hours on site to ensure we have reduced to the absolute minimum required levels, and we are enforcing social distancing well above 2m guidance within our workspaces. Additionally, MPB is paying ahead of Government requirements for sick pay at full salary during this very difficult period to support all our staff, especially those in isolation, either with symptoms or without, to further reinforce our commitment to pay and jobs through the COVID-19 crisis. We will continue to monitor and respond to this evolving crisis over the coming weeks.

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Junior software developer

    Mar 22, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great atmosphere Nice people Free beer on Fridays

    Cons

    Can get a little noisy. Office furniture wasn't great when I worked there but could be better now.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    We've had an amazing time

    Nov 5, 2018 - Product Specialist Team Leader in Brighton, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started with MPB in 2016 and I never regretted a day of being there. Nearly everything about this company is great: They are human, they listen, they hear you and your needs. They are fair. The working environment is positive and colleagues make you laugh every day. The starting salary could be a lot higher but once you stuck with MPB for a bit you get regular and generous pay rises. It was a rewarding job and I can't say anything negative about management and CEO.

    Cons

    The bigger the company grows, the more it's changing. Relationships aren' what they were before due to such an increase of employees. If you like working for MPB, stick with them! I made the mistake to leave for a bit and coming back would have me starting from scratch again. Salary and Job wise. It's a shame. I hope that this company will cross my way again later on. Not ready to say goodbye for good just yet.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Fantastic company

    Mar 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Brighton, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly and encouraging atmosphere. I've met a lot of good people here and it continues to happen as time goes on.

    Cons

    Not enough animals in the office if you ask me!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Work at mpb.com? Share Your Experiences

mpb.com logo
or