npower Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

npower Reviews

Updated 23 June 2018
135 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
npower Chief Executive Officer Paul Coffey
Paul Coffey
12 Ratings

135 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Pension, benefits, flexible/agile working" (in 16 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance and ways of working" (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Perception of company not great due to previous senior management decisions leading to unsuccessful resolution of complaints" (in 8 reviews)

  • "Very poor management, no skills whatsoever , needs a major overhaul" (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "A manager's view"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Worcester, England
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Worcester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Best Place i have ever worked, truly a people driven business

    Cons

    Lack of career progression, antiquated HR structures, Lack of willingness to change

    npower Response

    18 May 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Hi, thank you so much for your 5-star review! Glad to hear you are enjoying your time with us and long may it continue


  2. "Good culture, battered by external winds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Collaborative culture, freedom to explore ideas locally, positive mindset, good levels of reward, ability to stand out quickly, work life balance

    Cons

    Government and external market pressure mashing profitability hard, meaning only possible to drive down costs. Oversight from conservative German owners.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your people, explore new ideas, invest in systems, build in your strengths, have vision and focus everything on that, reward according to ability

    npower Response

    25 Jun 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Disconnect between staff and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people, on site canteen

    Cons

    poor transport links for staff without cars


  4. "Awful care to customer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Complaints Handler in London, England
    Former Employee - Complaints Handler in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very few! Only stayed for a few months

    Cons

    Bad customer service, ignores complaints customers make, in some cases ignored for over 8 months. I saw a cases were someone wasn’t paid the resoluation compensation. Bad attitudes in the office! Restricted in what we can do with customers! So we would have to pass the customer from team to team. Awful

    Advice to Management

    Restructure, allow staff to be more diverse I knowledge so we can stop transferring people all the time! And rectify the complaints quickly and efficiently.

    npower Response

    25 Jun 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback.


  5. "Agile working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Agile working. Output important, not where you are.
    Some great offices with onsite parking
    Support from managers

    Cons

    Complex organisation
    View of Energy industry a challenge

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your employees, it's working well so far!

    npower Response

    18 May 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Hi, thank you for your review. We agree agile working is important to us, giving our employees flexibility. Keep up the good work!


  6. "Npower on the up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good atmosphere and a lot of people have a strong work ethic.

    Cons

    Higher management is very inexperienced in the energy industry or with Npower systems so decisions that they make are not suitable for the business.

    Advice to Management

    Promote senior managers within the business and do not higher from other industries or other energy companies without giving them a clear indication of what npowers limitations are.

    npower Response

    18 May 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance and ways of working. Pay is decent, on site gym

    Cons

    Sometimes pace of change can be slow

    npower Response

    18 May 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. Glad you're enjoying your time with us and long may it continue

  8. "Passionate company with big aspirations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time

    Pros

    Agile working
    Good spread of locations
    Autonomy to develop new ideas
    Competitive salary
    Progression opportunities

    Cons

    Some areas work in silo's
    Negative reputation because of the Energy industry


  9. "Best company I’ve ever worked for! So understanding and treat their staff with respect."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Agile working
    Trusted
    Continuous learning
    Supportive
    Good pay
    Development
    Helpful
    Honest
    Opportunities
    Great networking
    Provides support to out of work activities
    Helps with personal issues
    Great company benefits

    Cons

    Only con is the new canteen not being open longer at Limewood which I can live with. More options for parking but that’s all as we are agile so not really an issue.

    Advice to Management

    To continue being amazing and supportive.

    npower Response

    18 May 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Hi, thank you so much for your 5-star review! Glad to hear you are enjoying your time with us and long may it continue


  10. "hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    can finish work by thursday night or early friday

    Cons

    there is not any downsides

    Advice to Management

    none

    npower Response

    18 May 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Hi, thank you so much for your 5-star review! Thank you for your hard work


Showing 135 of 148 reviews
Reset Filters