npower Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

npower Reviews

Updated 15 January 2019
155 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
npower Chief Executive Officer Paul Coffey
Paul Coffey
26 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "CEO, Poor Management, Financial instability" (in 10 reviews)

  • "Massive blame culture which generates a very depressing environment to work in" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good team environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at npower full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits, working team spirit, flexibility

    Cons

    Not many downsides - location is out of town

    npower Response

    29 Nov 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Hi, thank you so much for your 5-star review! Glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us


  2. "Unsustainable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to fix broken things

    Cons

    Heavily regulated to the point it's near impossible to make a profit

    Advice to Management

    Chin up

  3. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Policy Team Leader in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Current Employee - Policy Team Leader in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangements, work from home if needed.

    Cons

    There is a lot of pressure.

    Advice to Management

    Don't pass pressure to employees.

    npower Response

    14 Jan 2019 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


  4. "well paid - just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Performance Coach in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Former Employee - Performance Coach in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    well paid
    good working conditions
    modern office space

    Cons

    the management are a law unto themselves

    Advice to Management

    LISTEN!

    npower Response

    29 Nov 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Mismanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kingston upon Hull, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kingston upon Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Working hours, Local, Overtime, Free parking, Diversity

    Cons

    CEO, Poor Management, Financial instability

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time listening to the front line employees

    npower Response

    29 Nov 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


  6. "Employers Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Representative in Hull, England
    Current Employee - Collections Representative in Hull, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower part-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Flexible working policy and benefits

    Cons

    Uncertainty at the moment during merger.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure line managers are more approachable

    npower Response

    23 Oct 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


  7. "20 years review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    npower looks after it's people, from support for mental illness to developing career. Agile is a huge benefit to help home/work life balance. Mostly there are good opportunities for promotion. There has always been a good team spirit within the departments I have worked in

    Cons

    We should performance manage. It does not feel that npower is a dynamic market leader - more that we just follow the pack

    Advice to Management

    Please listen to your process workers before making any major decisions, too many times I have seen huge changes implemented that have proved unsuccessful - these could have been avoided by speaking to the people. We also start a lot of initiatives, projects, etc., taking up time, money and effort and then fail see them through, this disengages people and they are less likely to bother when something else new is introduced

    npower Response

    23 Oct 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.

  8. "Everyone is unfortunately a number."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Former Employee - Analyst in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Some good people are employed by Npower who are unfortunately held back by poor management.

    Cons

    Progression is limited and jobs tend to be offered to friends ahead of more capable people.

    npower Response

    10 Oct 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


  9. "Graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at npower full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working and agile offices

    Cons

    Relocation every 6 months or similar

    npower Response

    25 Sep 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "***WARNING*** Npower Business Retention (Limewood, Leeds)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    AT least its a JOB

    Cons

    Poor Systems and even more ridiculous Management. Managers on the floor have no clue about policy and procedures or compliance issues..YET these same managers will fail you to take your COMMISSION AWAY...They dangle the carrot at every opportunity and then set you up for failure...All of the managers are either Married, Dating or Friends with Benefits...Take my advice and stay away...This is the worst place I have worked.

    In the time I have worked in this Company, I have not received any 1-2-1's...I have had no coaching session...nor have I ever had any feedback or support. POOR..no matter what amount of money they offer...your Sanity is more important.

    Advice to Management

    Seriously...Go get another Job..and stop making peoples life hell for your own incompetence.

    npower Response

    5 Nov 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for your comments, we take the views of our employees seriously. Our Employee Relations team would be happy to talk to you. You can contact them on 166 from your work phone. Additionally... More