npower Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

npower Reviews

Updated 24 October 2018
150 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
npower Chief Executive Officer Paul Coffey
Paul Coffey
23 Ratings

150 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Very poor management, no skills whatsoever , needs a major overhaul" (in 9 reviews)

  • "Massive blame culture which generates a very depressing environment to work in" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "A Great Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time

    Pros

    - Strong work ethic throughout
    - Support provided when needed
    - Ample opportunity to progress

    Cons

    - Willingness to change (depends who you work with)


  2. "Employers Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Representative in Hull, England
    Current Employee - Collections Representative in Hull, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower part-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Flexible working policy and benefits

    Cons

    Uncertainty at the moment during merger.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure line managers are more approachable

    npower Response

    23 Oct 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.

  3. "20 years review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    npower looks after it's people, from support for mental illness to developing career. Agile is a huge benefit to help home/work life balance. Mostly there are good opportunities for promotion. There has always been a good team spirit within the departments I have worked in

    Cons

    We should performance manage. It does not feel that npower is a dynamic market leader - more that we just follow the pack

    Advice to Management

    Please listen to your process workers before making any major decisions, too many times I have seen huge changes implemented that have proved unsuccessful - these could have been avoided by speaking to the people. We also start a lot of initiatives, projects, etc., taking up time, money and effort and then fail see them through, this disengages people and they are less likely to bother when something else new is introduced

    npower Response

    23 Oct 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


  4. "Everyone is unfortunately a number."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Former Employee - Analyst in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Some good people are employed by Npower who are unfortunately held back by poor management.

    Cons

    Progression is limited and jobs tend to be offered to friends ahead of more capable people.

    npower Response

    10 Oct 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


  5. "Graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at npower full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working and agile offices

    Cons

    Relocation every 6 months or similar

    npower Response

    25 Sep 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


  6. "***WARNING*** Npower Business Retention (Limewood, Leeds)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    AT least its a JOB

    Cons

    Poor Systems and even more ridiculous Management. Managers on the floor have no clue about policy and procedures or compliance issues..YET these same managers will fail you to take your COMMISSION AWAY...They dangle the carrot at every opportunity and then set you up for failure...All of the managers are either Married, Dating or Friends with Benefits...Take my advice and stay away...This is the worst place I have worked.

    In the time I have worked in this Company, I have not received any 1-2-1's...I have had no coaching session...nor have I ever had any feedback or support. POOR..no matter what amount of money they offer...your Sanity is more important.

    Advice to Management

    Seriously...Go get another Job..and stop making peoples life hell for your own incompetence.

    npower Response

    5 Nov 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for your comments, we take the views of our employees seriously. Our Employee Relations team would be happy to talk to you. You can contact them on 166 from your work phone. Additionally... More


  7. "Business Telesales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Telesales Advisor in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - Business Telesales Advisor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Diverse and excellent place to work

    Cons

    Nothing to say.....Everything is Brilliant

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    npower Response

    11 Sep 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Hi, thank you so much for your 5-star review! Glad to hear you are enjoying your time with us and long may it continue

  8. "Specialist Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Fair employers and work life balance is good

    Cons

    Knee jerk reactions need to be addressed

    npower Response

    11 Sep 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


  9. "NPower"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Worcester, England
    Former Employee - Consultant in Worcester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Diverse work
    Flexibility on location working arrangements
    Salary can be good if negotiated right at start, very poor at promoting within

    Cons

    Challenging and at times unrealistic Targets
    Projects reflective of a blame culture
    Senior German management is autocratic and remote from the business
    Little recognition of internal Talent should have moved on sooner stayed 10 years

    Advice to Management

    Re invent yourselves, and value the customer more.

    npower Response

    11 Sep 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


  10. "Rush rush rush, quantity not quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Metering Technician in Grimsby, England
    Former Employee - Metering Technician in Grimsby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Tools and equipment, lots of good lads on the tools.

    Cons

    A bad manager makes a company look bad and also makes the job crap.

    Advice to Management

    Sort out your crap managers

    npower Response

    11 Sep 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive.


Showing 150 of 163 reviews
Reset Filters