npower Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

npower Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
npower Chief Executive Officer Paul Coffey
Paul Coffey
67 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insight Analyst in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working and good hours

    Cons

    Repetitive tasks that don't add value

    npower2019-12-05
  2. "Love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior MI Analyst in Hull, England

    I have been working at npower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for, full of opportunities and fantastic colleagues

    Cons

    Shutting down, meaning I'll be made redundant

    npower2019-12-04
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Analyst 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic workforce full of knowledge and understanding of a very complex industry. Lots of charity work and support including Macmillan and local charities. Agile working from home or most convenient office is a real bonus to working parents, great flexibility.

    Cons

    Company losing money by the millions due to a very tough market, so most of its fantastic workforce are sadly about to be made redundant.

    npower2019-12-01
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, work/life balance, development opportunities

    Cons

    Red tape to get jobs done

    npower2019-11-26
  5. "Very agile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Analyst in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Encouraged to work from home (mainly due to lack of space in the office) Able to manage own workload (depends on manager) Good salary and bonus

    Cons

    Business is not profitable so redundancy is likley. Upper management not clear direction

    Advice to Management

    Look after costs

    npower2019-11-07
  6. "Project Manager for metering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A great place to work

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    I do not have any

    npower2019-11-02
  7. "Unknown future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people Great location A willingness to be better

    Cons

    Unknown future due to takeover Huge gaps between management layers Cryptic communication

    Advice to Management

    Be more open with what is really going on Review management structure and the voids between them

    npower2019-11-01
  8. "Flexible hours , nice place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Solihull, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible hours and laid back management. Location is easy to access if you are based in solihull

    Cons

    Top management not aware of the business and leadership is poor.

    npower2019-11-11
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work and people

    Cons

    Higher management is a social club.

    npower2019-11-08
  10. "Lovely people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Solihull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great people culture and benefits

    Cons

    poor strategy leadership and plan

    npower2019-10-21
Found 225 reviews