npower Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

npower Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 211 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
npower CEO Paul Coffey
Paul Coffey
55 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management, poor training, little accountability(in 11 reviews)

  • "Perception of company not great due to previous senior management decisions leading to unsuccessful resolution of complaints(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment to work

    Cons

    The company are being taken over

    Continue reading
    npower2019-09-14
  2. "Headline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Finance Business Partner in Solihull, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture, friendly and supportive people

    Cons

    Senior career opportunities are limited, in process of being taken over

    npower2019-09-19
  3. ", they dont appreciate staff no matter what you help the company achieve."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Complaints Advisor in Houghton, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Colleagues were/are like a family, some fantastic managers among the shortsighted disloyal ones

    Cons

    The higher management that take take take without an ounce of appreciation

    Continue reading
    npower2019-09-19
  4. "Gone downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some nice colleagues, initially there's was a lot of support, relaxed and happy environment

    Cons

    Negative, no support, bullied and if you don't fit in you will get no where

    Continue reading
    npower2019-09-16
  5. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer 

    I worked at npower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some interesting work, nice people.

    Cons

    no direction, some terrible managers

    npower2019-09-13
  6. "times were better before 2015"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Consultant in Solihull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    friendly people, nice offices, national locations, agile working allowed

    Cons

    over worked, for not very competitive salaries, in a broken industry where npower was behind others so the culture and vibe wasnt always positive

    npower2019-09-11
  7. "Flexible working time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working time Work from home

    Cons

    Lack of professional trainings Low salary

    npower2019-08-23
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forecast Manager in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at npower full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Trusted to use own initiative, good career prospects, team support is great (esp in the planning area) flexible working including working from home, shift flexibility, suppprtive leadership, great facilities in building!

    Cons

    Not much budget for accreditations/certificates for staff so very hard to prove competence in certain skills, uncertain future of company.

    npower2019-08-16
  9. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Consultant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Variety of work and projects, move toward agile

    Cons

    Uncertain future for last 2 years and ongoing

    npower2019-08-13
  10. "**BEWARE** Customers & Investors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at npower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing is good, this company is the worse company I have worked.

    Cons

    This company is full of racist managers with an agenda to demonise, demoralise and make working life hell for all those who are from ethnic minority background. They run the floor like a concentration camp, plotting and scheming how they can get rid of the ethnics, when questioned they work together to manipulate and twist things to fit their agenda. This is a serious concern which is echoed by those on the floor. Leniency is shown to white employees and harshness to those which fall into the ethnic minority. Requests to be put forward to occ health are ignored, with managers taking the role of Doctor, the whole building is littered with posters about healthy minds but the managers refuse to refer or the request is brushed under the carpet. Life is made unbearable which affects those involved both mentally, financially and psychologically. No doubt this review will be replied to by some person sat in an office pretending to care, management all the way to the top are hardly every present, I hope those who are wanting to merge with this joke of company see this, so they realise what kind of rotten carcass they are about to takeover. I advise all business owners to stay well away from this company and agree your contracts elsewhere. Like a snake they (the managers) are breathing the life out of the employees, I can count the very few competent managers on my hand, I will be taking this further as a lesson needs to be learned. The dietry needs of ethnic minority employees are not met, relgious observances are not respected and requests are only authorised at the last minute.

    Continue reading
    npower2019-09-13
Found 211 reviews