ASB Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ASB Bank Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
ASB Bank Chief Executive Vittoria Shortt
Vittoria Shortt
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "the company appreciates the good work-life balance and caters for a healthy relationship with all level of management(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great culture, atmosphere and people(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "takes a couple years to actually get any career progression(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Employee Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASB Bank full-time

    Pros

    ASB is a fantastic and relatively progressive organisation, where you can make a meaningful impact in people's lives. The management structure are open to discussion and challenge.

    Cons

    Hierarchy can sometimes get in the way of progress, as with most organisations.

    ASB Bank2017-10-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASB Bank full-time

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working here. A great work culture and the company encourages and supports continuous training and development.

    Cons

    Pay rises are difficult if not receiving one at the beginning of the financial year.

    ASB Bank2017-10-04
  3. "Good foot in door for banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ASB Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good Corporate Culture that looks after employees and offers flexibility and job movement

    Cons

    Large organisation so some of the hierarchy can be frustrating

    ASB Bank2017-07-21
  4. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASB Bank full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful, inclusive, high performing culture. Plenty of career opportunities and the organisation really cares about its people. Some roles can be demanding, however, you are rewarded accordingly. Overall, I would recommend working at ASB.

    Cons

    A little slow to adopt change, however, faster than the other banks and more tech savvy.

    Continue reading
    ASB Bank2016-12-11
  5. "Excellent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASB Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    Great head quarters building, strong team culture, strong focus in the culture on serving the customer. Reasonably good technology set up. Colleagues are motivated and in general helpful.Good life / work balance in my role (in Finance)

    Cons

    Some concerns from others over levels of compensation compared to competitors,Like most Banks there is also a strong focus on due diligence and risk management which can sometimes create barriers to achieving results for the team and customers. Other teams in Finance had poor life/work balance. Relative few opportunities for advancement

    Continue reading
    ASB Bank2016-07-03
  6. "Good company but nepotism on the rise!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASB Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good culture and flexibility to manage life.

    Cons

    Progress and promotions are not based on your capability and achievements! Growth is limited to a small group within a tight circle, who seem to be offered opportunities more than others.

    Continue reading
    ASB Bank2020-02-17
  7. "Loan officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASB Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good maternity leave pay benefits

    Cons

    No room for progression or movement

    ASB Bank2020-01-14
  8. "Career Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ASB Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good career progression if you stay.

    Cons

    Day to day demanding workloads.

    ASB Bank2020-01-11
  9. "Great place to work as far as big corporates go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ASB Bank full-time

    Pros

    Decent culture for a big corporate

    Cons

    It's still a big corporate with all the same negatives. Communication across the bank could be better.

    ASB Bank2019-12-24
  10. "personal banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASB Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good working environment and friendly staff member

    Cons

    too much paper work and salary is below average

    ASB Bank2019-11-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 93 reviews