Absolute Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Absolute Reviews

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Absolute CEO Christy Wyatt
Christy Wyatt
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "C-level executives threaten and force employees(in 8 reviews)

  • "A lot of pressure from senior management, especially quarter end(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best kept secret"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time

    Pros

    Company is financially stable and has been in business over 20 years A heavy hitting exec team is being brought in to take the company to the next level Canadian culture is relaxed and open to change

    Cons

    23 year old start up - has many of the issues found with start ups including out dated processes and technologies i.e CRM Absolute is a very well kept secret - lacks brand awareness especially since the name change from Absolute Software and Computrace

    Advice to Management

    Keep reviewing and updating the structure and processes WITHOUT losing the lovely culture!

    Absolute2016-02-22
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Absolute

    Pros

    Decent offices, good training possibilities

    Cons

    Awful people and company culture

    Absolute2018-10-08
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Very unstable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great technology, unique (literally) A lot of great people Good work/life balance Good benefits

    Cons

    Very unstable Very few perks Little understanding of International markets

    Advice to Management

    Just get your act together

    Absolute2017-09-29
  4. Helpful (22)

    "Tread with care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The technology is unique. But not leveraged as it should be. It's also a bit of a one trick pony, and they have divested other technologies and put all of their dollars onto the one horse!

    Cons

    The single most political organization I have ever worked for. The company is drenched in nepotism. With senior leaders hiring friends to help shore up their own positions. They are increasingly hiring more and more middle-management positions to create an 80's style hierarchal style of organization structure. This makes it very top heavy and means it's more difficult to communicate. They play lip service... to their own corporate values.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Geoff, take a closer look at who you hire and the culture they bring with them. A flatter more approachable management style may work better.

    Absolute2016-09-15
  5. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compelling products, huge opportunities. Well kept secret.

    Cons

    reboot of company is a fast evolving work-in-progress and can't happen fast enough!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to think laterally to expand use cases and support of key security vendors.

    Absolute2016-08-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "great technology and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of positive changes, aiming the right direction, new market potential

    Cons

    still relying on old way of doing things, sometimes too political.

    Absolute2015-04-05
  7. "We are Gladiators of Persistence, Innovators of Resilience. Architects of Intelligence."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company has amazing history and technology that is meeting the market where it is today. CEO is a strong leader who is challenging teams to be customer-centric and innovation obsessed. It's a journey.

    Cons

    There's always growing pains during transformation.

    Absolute2019-08-25
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Absolute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Absolute best part of the job is the people. Leadership team believes in the groups' ability to achieve great results.

    Cons

    Because of significant growth, lack of available rooms to book for meetings

    Advice to Management

    The talent is already at Absolute, they're just waiting to be discovered.

    Absolute2019-08-15
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Just don't - wish I had taken the cons seriously when I read the reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Group in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Absolute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Lots to learn for people just starting out in their careers -Good location if you take public transit in Vancouver -Supportive environment for co-op students -Free food (Monthly pizza, weekly fruit and cookies) and sugary drinks (pop, juice) -Some initiative to bring employees working on three separate floors together (monthly beers in the office, social activities organised by the social committee) -Maybe... some potential because of the technology that this company develops and the experience that the new CEO brings

    Show More

    Cons

    -Expect to work extra hours (especially around weekends and long weekends) with little appreciation (and don't you dare complain) -for a 25 year old company, it's like working at a startup (disorganised, unfocussed, and biting off more than it can chew) -invisible leadership -middle management have about 2 -3 experience, on average -communication about anything is not good (wiki is full of old information or... "TBD", never know when an employee visits, joins the company, or leaves the company) -Little investment in career growth for employees -Unclear expectations from managers which make annual reviews a joke (no goals set but your bonus is based on performance) -Extended health benefits are better elsewhere -Get 4 weeks of vacation after 10 years of service -Get an engraved pen after 5 years of service -No appreciation for innovation -Management is not interested in ideas for process improvement -User experience of product is not well thought out -Below average pay for Vancouver -Constantly hear about how great things were "a few years ago" -Cliques and gossiping -Looks like nobody cares about the dev area: desks are still full of stuff from a team that was laid off in summer 2018, broken kitchen appliances sitting around, furniture stacked up on the side -Fraud

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees and provide a stable work environment. Take a good look at why smart and experienced people are leaving the company in droves. I realised I made a mistake to join the company on my second day, and I won't be staying much longer. You have good technology to develop so don't waste that opportunity.

    Absolute2019-09-15
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Ranks lowest for organizations I have worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Instructional Designer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Absolute for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people on the ground in my area, but looking for leadership and strategy.

    Cons

    No investment in customer training and infrastructure. Product features and updates kept getting kicked down the road. I felt my input on strategy and ideas were not considered. I was constantly asking for projects to work on. Often bored or I was asked to do grunt work. In the year I was there, my manager never made an effort to meet with me. Never experienced this before.

    Absolute2019-08-21
Found 156 reviews