Agoda Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Agoda Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Good working environment, good company benefit, lots of internal career opportunity(in 39 reviews)

  • "Relocating to Bangkok has been a great experience(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "employees, there is only one Thai person in a senior management role (none in the C-suite)(in 20 reviews)

  • "Agoda tries to sell itself as being able to offer a Silicon Valley experience in Bangkok(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Competitive business, Agoda's innovation helps grow in the market but you need to be ok with confrontation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Services in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    leaping from start up culture to large scale company good team atmosphere senior management varied and possibility to learn different skills from each Reachable KPIs, rewarding to see the impact of your actions on the accounts you look after Unlike to previous comments promotion at Agoda comes on merit and i havent seen a case of favouritism. you will not get promoted for being in the company for x years, you... need to demonstrate team leading skills if you want to move up from MM to Senior MM role (not everyone wants to manage a team, but still wants to be recognized as a senior account manager)

    Show More

    Cons

    Conversations with hoteliers often confrontational as we are the underdog in the industry and apply aggressive practices, however other OTAs are following the route or have already Support from HQ in BKK limited and hard to get answers to questions programs are rolled out quickly without giving sufficient time for the teams to prepare

    Advice to Management

    It makes it hard to roll out new products when we only know half the information. We need more time in between green light for a roll out and pitching it to hotels.

    Agoda2018-12-28
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing Travel Tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High ownership mindset, you are really empowered, entrepreneurial, fast moving, Very talented people, high growth environment

    Cons

    Not any big ones I have come across

    Agoda2019-09-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Growth company with lots of opportunity to develop!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Development opportunities - I've never had the same role for more than 6 months! Recognizing talent Innovation - Fast changing industry with data driven approach

    Cons

    Benefits - generally meets minimum required

    Advice to Management

    Continue investing to achieve the right skillset at all levels Continue investing in Europe to drive our amazing growth!

    Agoda2019-10-03
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Market Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    opportunity to grow, dynamic and innovative

    Cons

    time difference with headquarter is somewhat challenging

    Agoda2019-09-19
  5. "Nice but disorganised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you get on with the right people you will have a good experience

    Cons

    very fast paced so can be messy at times, a lot of people get overlooked for promotions that they clearly deserve

    Advice to Management

    Focus on retention of staff

    Agoda2019-08-21
  6. Helpful (4)

    "You have to fit a certain profile to work their regardless of your performance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Agoda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues from so many places.

    Cons

    Senior "Management" are unqualified Dishonesty is the company culture Your work performance is not the focus

    Advice to Management

    Discrimination is a serious thing, next time you may not be so lucky.

    Agoda2019-08-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great and challenging place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Young and dynamic environment, space for growth, possibility to be relocated in other offices.

    Cons

    Benefits and flexibility could be improved.

    Agoda2019-03-29
  8. "It is ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Agoda full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    nice colleagues, if you are ready to move to Bangkok, you have great opportunities

    Cons

    If you have potentials but do not wish to move to Bangkok, forget it; you rarely get any other possibilities to move further. No real benefits other than what the country is legally requiring

    Advice to Management

    Decentralise things so that people really have a chance to develop; listen to people and accept that what works in X country might not work in Y country. Give extra benefits, not only what the given country provides.

    Agoda2019-03-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Partner Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partner Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Agoda full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very nice people with a lot of skills

    Cons

    Payment and benefits for employees

    Advice to Management

    more benefits

    Agoda2019-02-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "OK place to work if you like others to think for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Agoda full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    options to work from different offices world-wide. Relocation to different offices encouraged and made easy.

    Cons

    you do not have a lot of ownership, others in head office think for you.

    Agoda2019-02-07
Found 568 reviews