Akamai Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Akamai Reviews

Updated 26 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Akamai CEO Tom Leighton
Tom Leighton
920 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is so much to do and so much passion to do it that a work-life balance can be hard to achieve from a personal perspective(in 52 reviews)

  • "NO cons have seen in my experience(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "SDR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy is great within the company

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Akamai2019-06-21
  2. "So much more than a CDN!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Major Account Executive in Addlestone, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akamai full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to work, strong leadership Good people people & benefits Industry leading solutions

    Cons

    No major cons, but there was room for improvement with sales ops tools.

    Akamai2020-01-22
  3. "Heading in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Working with some very smart people (Internet protocol development, kernel level engineering etc). - Smart humble people! they really are the best quality about this company! - Depending on the manager - can have good mentor-ship opportunities/continuing professional development - Encouraged to get involved in communities such as the IETF - Ability to relocate between offices - Good work life balance, generous remote work policy

    Show More

    Cons

    - Salary lags behind competitors - Can be tough to make positive change (lots of process & hurdles to go through can make even small changes difficult). - Sometimes management decisions seem tone def. - Sometimes projects seem doomed to fail - (Understaffed/resourced)

    Advice to Management

    We already know where the pain points are in our business, instead of hiring consultants to tell us what we already know, prioritise spending in places that may not directly lead to new revenue (E.g. developer productivity, ). Also, properly staff and hire for mission critical projects if you want them to be successful.

    Akamai2019-12-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "London Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Akamai full-time

    Pros

    None to mention, especially the Addlestone office

    Cons

    Beware of this company, especially the Addlestone officce

    Advice to Management

    Fix Management

    Akamai2019-11-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TPM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Going big with great future plans and roadmap;

    Cons

    Extensive and monotonous online based training, mainly watching video clips, which IMO is quite ineffective and tedious; Lack of meaningful support and development; Mgmt can be quite oblivious to their team's overwhelming workload and provide little support ; Overstretched resources; Very poor work-life balance; Training and Professional Development budget is either tight or poorly spent

    Advice to Management

    You're too busy trying to be great managers which is easy but success is short lived. May be you should stop, take a step back and try being great leaders instead!

    Akamai2019-03-13
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akamai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    technologies work-life balance self development learning a lot culture

    Cons

    I can not see any

    Akamai2018-10-04
  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akamai full-time

    Pros

    Great work live balance and great people to work with. Love the tech and the sense of you are making a direct difference to thousands with the work you put in.

    Cons

    Career ladder is stagnant, Pay differs wildly.

    Advice to Management

    Provide clear actionable steps to all not just favored.

    Akamai2018-05-30
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time

    Pros

    Up beat dynamic team - all driving for success!

    Cons

    Male dominated management in EMEA & HQ

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to the feet on the street -

    Akamai2018-04-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work culture and environment

    Cons

    Tough to get info within org

    Advice to Management

    To create more transparency within the prganisation

    Akamai2018-04-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Engagement Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company will offer flexibility and option to work from home. Opportunity to change role within the company that privilege retention.

    Cons

    Management is poor, although communications are opened. Suits best an individual that is self-managed and can take initiatives. Would be difficult for individual without experiences.

    Advice to Management

    Things are improving, but moving very slowly. Company could benefit to hire external experienced managers to improve diversity.

    Akamai2018-03-07
Found 1362 reviews