Akamai Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Akamai CEO Tom Leighton
Tom Leighton
953 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/Life balance was bad for the ones who were working on night shift as well(in 53 reviews)

  • "NO cons have seen in my experience(in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "SDR"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy is great within the company

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Akamai2019-06-21
  2. "So much more than a CDN!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Major Account Executive in Addlestone, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akamai full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to work, strong leadership Good people people & benefits Industry leading solutions

    Cons

    No major cons, but there was room for improvement with sales ops tools.

    Akamai2020-01-22
  3. "Heading in the right direction"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Working with some very smart people (Internet protocol development, kernel level engineering etc). - Smart humble people! they really are the best quality about this company! - Depending on the manager - can have good mentor-ship opportunities/continuing professional development - Encouraged to get involved in communities such as the IETF - Ability to relocate between offices - Good work life balance, generous remote work policy

    Cons

    - Salary lags behind competitors - Can be tough to make positive change (lots of process & hurdles to go through can make even small changes difficult). - Sometimes management decisions seem tone def. - Sometimes projects seem doomed to fail - (Understaffed/resourced)

    Continue reading
    Akamai2019-12-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "London Office"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Akamai full-time

    Pros

    None to mention, especially the Addlestone office

    Cons

    Beware of this company, especially the Addlestone officce

    Continue reading
    Akamai2019-11-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed Experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TPM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Going big with great future plans and roadmap;

    Cons

    Extensive and monotonous online based training, mainly watching video clips, which IMO is quite ineffective and tedious; Lack of meaningful support and development; Mgmt can be quite oblivious to their team's overwhelming workload and provide little support ; Overstretched resources; Very poor work-life balance; Training and Professional Development budget is either tight or poorly spent

    Continue reading
    Akamai2019-03-13
  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akamai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    technologies work-life balance self development learning a lot culture

    Cons

    I can not see any

    Akamai2018-10-04
  7. "Sales"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akamai full-time

    Pros

    Great work live balance and great people to work with. Love the tech and the sense of you are making a direct difference to thousands with the work you put in.

    Cons

    Career ladder is stagnant, Pay differs wildly.

    Continue reading
    Akamai2018-05-30
  8. "Sales"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time

    Pros

    Up beat dynamic team - all driving for success!

    Cons

    Male dominated management in EMEA & HQ

    Continue reading
    Akamai2018-04-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Job review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work culture and environment

    Cons

    Tough to get info within org

    Continue reading
    Akamai2018-04-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Engagement Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company will offer flexibility and option to work from home. Opportunity to change role within the company that privilege retention.

    Cons

    Management is poor, although communications are opened. Suits best an individual that is self-managed and can take initiatives. Would be difficult for individual without experiences.

    Continue reading
    Akamai2018-03-07
Found 1411 reviews