Alcumus Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Alcumus Reviews

Updated 26 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Alcumus CEO Alyn Franklin
Alyn Franklin
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "In terms of support, the senior management team are easily approachable should they be needed, which is a refreshing change(in 7 reviews)

  • "My manager and senior management team are very supportive and care about our wellbeing, development and how we are doing(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "This is a fast paced employer which worked for me but it won’t work for all(in 6 reviews)

  • "No cons at present worthy of a comment(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Info Exchange"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Sales in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcumus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic induction despite the incredibly challenging times (Corona virus) we're currently in. There is a clear drive for the welfare and happiness of all Alcumus employees. The People Success Team are key to this and have made me feel very welcome.

    Cons

    Because I have to put something: The company laptop is a little dated.

    Continue reading
    Alcumus2020-03-24
  2. "New Start at Alcumus ISOQAR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Auditor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Alcumus full-time

    Pros

    Great people, really friendly, approachable and seem very competent. Get issues sorted really quickly, not that there were many - mostly getting equipment working.

    Cons

    The first two weeks have been quite fast paced, which is not for everyone - loads to do and you have to get it done to keep up.

    Alcumus2020-03-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Helpful & loyal employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alcumus full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Good progression opportunities - Friendly, fun atmosphere - Helpful, caring staff

    Cons

    Increasingly Alcumus is considering its social responsibility. I would personally love to see more fair trade or ethically sourced coffee supplied.

    Alcumus2020-02-18
  4. "A fantastic company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcumus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with some great people who support me everyday. I have a laugh every day! My manager and senior management team are very supportive and care about our wellbeing, development and how we are doing. The benefit package is really good; healthcare cash back, pension, money off discounts, gym discounts. We even have free fruit, food for lunchtime and a wicked coffee machine! The MD is really inspiring, the HR Partner is cool and supportive, the sales and delivery teams work better than ever to make sure we have great customer experience

    Cons

    The learning and development offering hasn’t been great, but the HR Partner is working hard with us on career mapping and cool things like Linked In learning

    Continue reading
    Alcumus2020-02-18
  5. "Think twice about joining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Based in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alcumus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Car park, on-site canteen

    Cons

    You have to suck up to managers to get anywhere, some people’s job performance is shockingly bad yet are praised by senior management. You will rarely know what’s going on and it changes constantly. People are leaving / joining all the time. Senior management team appear to be on different pages and some come across as very entitled. Lots of work done is pointless and never used, IT systems are terrible and make every ones job harder. Really frustrating and demoralising place to work.

    Continue reading
    Alcumus2020-02-08

    Alcumus Response

    February 18, 2020Head of Talent

    Hi there, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write your review. We are working really hard to provide all of our employees with a clear and transparent career path that is structured around competencies and behaviours aligned to our values. We ran a rising stars and rockstars program within our Safecontractor business last year and will be launching our new career pathways offering into the business shortly along with a multitude of other development opportunities. I’m sorry to hear you haven’t felt that you have been able to benefit from these during your time with us. As a business we strongly believe that performance issues should be dealt with in private hence why it may have looked like these were overlooked however we have a clear review process in place and regular 121s to support those who are struggling to improve. Alcumus is a growing business that has a number of new starters built into the headcount plan each month to support our business strategy. Unfortunately, as with the majority of organisations, we do have people who leave the business for a number of reasons (personal and professional) too with a lot having an open door with us should they wish to return. You are right that the business is fast-paced and there have been a lot of changes recently. We have ambitious goals laid out for the coming years and we are working hard to ensure that these are communicated effectively via the CEO roadshows, conferences, company intranet posts and business update sessions that are in place. I am sorry to hear that our efforts did not meet your expectations at this time. Once again, thank you for your feedback. It’s important for us to learn about the experiences of both previous and current employees so that we can make our working environments better. On behalf of Alcumus, I wish you the best in your future endeavours. If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Really enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alcumus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people across all of the offices who are really helpful and welcoming. There is a genuine feeling that the company is interested in your personal development which is more impressive given the Group's rate of growth. The legal team is an exciting place to work given how varied the work is. Plenty of responsibility and develops your skills in all areas. Sam and Suzie are great people to work with. Senior management are fully integrated with the rest of the office. Very anti-bureaucracy and hierarchy.

    Cons

    Going through a period of real growth and change so if you enjoy a more settled role and workplace then this might not be for you.

    Alcumus2020-01-17

    Alcumus Response

    January 27, 2020Head of Talent

    Hi Thank you for your review- it's great to hear that everyone was friendly and welcoming! I also enjoyed reading that you feel the business is invested in your development and that there is a lack of hierarchy! Nice to see your immediate team have been personally mentioned too- i'm sure they will also be pleased to read this. If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

    Continue reading
  7. "Supportive and Encouraging Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcumus full-time

    Pros

    Support, in so many ways. From the benefits offered to if you need additional support on a personal/well-being level. So much has changed in the company over the past few years but it's all been for the better. I cannot enthuse enough about being able to discuss a chronic condition with my line manager and have support to "feel better" and be encouraged to "be better" at the same time. I've now been able to progress into a job role which is an amazing opportunity and to know the Company listens and does as much as it can for employees just adds to how much I hope I'm here for many years to come.

    Cons

    The fast pace of the business isn't for everyone, but if you love being busy then this isn't an issue.

    Continue reading
    Alcumus2020-01-16

    Alcumus Response

    January 27, 2020Head of Talent

    Hi there Really enjoyed reading your review as your feedback really resonates. It's lovely to hear that you feel supported, you're able to progress with the business and that your well-being has been a priority. We hope you are here for many years to come also! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Passionate Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alcumus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people and the culture here is excellent! There’s a real work hard play hard environment with people laughing on the floor every day. High energy, high reward, canteen on site, career progression, excellent company benefits, free onsite parking in Cardiff office, recreation room, involved and approachable CEO. Generally a fantastic employer to work for.

    Cons

    This is a fast paced employer which worked for me but it won’t work for all. Your role will not be the only role you do and you will be expected to involve yourself in other areas. There are very high expectations and management will be looking for people to constantly be moving forward and driving the business upwards (which is a good thing). However, if you like to get comfortable in a role by simply getting your work done and going home, this role may not be for you.

    Continue reading
    Alcumus2020-01-25

    Alcumus Response

    January 27, 2020Head of Talent

    Hi Really appreciate your review and I agree with you that the people here are fantastic! There has been a lot of positive change over the last 12-18 months so we do appreciate that the pace can feel uncomfortable for some people- glad to hear that wasn't the case for you! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A supportive employer with great potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alcumus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive culture, lots of opportunity for progression, approachable senior management team

    Cons

    Some systems improvement needed (which is recognised)

    Continue reading
    Alcumus2019-12-04

    Alcumus Response

    January 27, 2020Head of Talent

    Hi there Thank you for your feedback- always enjoy hearing that people feel they are working in a supportive culture that offers progression in your role. It's important to us that everyone feels that they can have a career here and not just a job. We are investing a lot into our systems at present so looking forward to the launch of all the slick new technology platforms that are coming! Watch this space! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Impressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcumus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Value centric (truly - many say this and aren't). Positive atmosphere and business is performing well.

    Cons

    Longer commute, but there is flexibility in working locations.

    Continue reading
    Alcumus2019-08-13

    Alcumus Response

    January 27, 2020Head of Talent

    Hi Thank you for your feedback, it's lovely to hear that you feel our values are more than just words on a page. I agree with you that the business is on it's way up and the growth plans and international expansion talked about at the conference is all very exciting! Glad to hear that the flexibility you have in your role helps with the commute too! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

    Continue reading
Found 57 reviews