Amazon Lab126 Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Amazon Lab126 Reviews

Updated 31 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Amazon Lab126 CEO  Jeff Bezos (no image)
Jeff Bezos
171 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Less work life balance and weekend work days(in 47 reviews)

  • "There are also few opportunities for career growth as Amazon prides itself as a very frugal company(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Smart people, lot of politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon Lab126 full-time

    Pros

    You work with some very smart people who genuinely care a lot about the product, the pay is good, and even though some rules sound fairly strict (smart casual dress code for example), if you get your job done, people don't care. Hackathons were also a great chance to experiment with the Kindle.

    Cons

    Very political - there were tensions within my group, and to get things done you really had to get people on your side on the exec level. Often needed to get approval before I could go ahead and do things.

    Amazon Lab1262013-07-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "The right team and manager fit is more important than work competence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDE-II in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Good compensation * A lot of learning

    Cons

    * Work life balance is bad * Career is very dependent on relationship with Manager. * A lot of office politics and secret meetings * Unrealistic expectation to excel in ALL Leadership Principles

    Amazon Lab1262020-04-01
  3. "Good compensation, less work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation. Ability to work closely with developers, product mangers, UI folks.

    Cons

    Less work life balance and weekend work days

    Amazon Lab1262020-03-06
  4. "nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Hyderābād

    I worked at Amazon Lab126 full-time

    Pros

    nice culture and easy life

    Cons

    I find no such big problem there

    Amazon Lab1262020-03-05
  5. "best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amazon Lab126 full-time

    Pros

    very good company, flexible timings

    Cons

    no cons. no cons at all.

    Amazon Lab1262020-02-25
  6. "Poor Work Culture and Frugality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon Lab126 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Sometimes we get snacks.

    Cons

    It seems like many people aren't excited to be there and are just putting in the hours before they go home. I run into many lemons. Spending money to make employees happier is not on their priority list.

    Continue reading
    Amazon Lab1262020-03-10
  7. "Great place to learn but SUPER low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can always learn new things and take on more projects to expand your scope of work. You can works on things that matter to you and that inspire you.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay. You will end up making less money after your second year bonus runs out. They count your stock vests as part of your salary. So your base is always low and you feel cheated. No free food. No Amazon wide work from home policy. Doesn't feel like a Bay area tech company.

    Continue reading
    Amazon Lab1262020-02-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Political hell hole"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon Lab126 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The weather is nice

    Cons

    Management refuses to listen to others. No standardized processes or organization. Leadership principles are designed to shape workers into arrogant deuce bags that just argue and point fingers for hours not getting any work done. People are constantly sick or ill due to the stress and poor work life balance. New hires become the scape goats. This is why most people stay for 2 years then leave once their sign on bonus ends.

    Continue reading
    Amazon Lab1262020-03-11
  9. "Good learning environment for embedded systems development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon Lab126 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast environment with serious crunch times in order to ship products every year. Every team at Lab126 is run differently. It's very hit or miss how one's experience will be. I landed in a good set of managers whereas I see adjacent teams with much worse work/life balance and day to day just a difference in management chain.

    Cons

    Impossible get true raises without promotion in SDE track Less cushy compensation and benefits compared to other FANG companies but still good for the bay area

    Amazon Lab1262020-02-05
  10. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Amazon Lab126 part-time

    Pros

    helpful, outgoing, organized, understanding, fast paced

    Cons

    unorganized, hectic, rude, no respect, difficult

    Continue reading
    Amazon Lab1262020-02-03
Found 344 reviews