Anglo American Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Anglo American Reviews

Updated 5 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Anglo American Chief Execuvtive Mark Cutifani
Mark Cutifani
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "o de alguns gestores Estabelecer plano de carreira bem pontuado mostrando onde o colaborador est(in 30 reviews)

  • "(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Anglo American full-time

    Pros

    Very professional, good systems and processes in place, good canteen

    Cons

    Slow pace at times .

    Anglo American2018-10-10
  2. "Making a genuine difference to current operating model and a dynamic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Data Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Anglo American full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Future of mining is taking a fresh approach to all aspects of the firm

    Cons

    A need to move away from individual business units to a more joined up enterprise

    Anglo American2020-01-08
  3. "OK...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Anglo American

    Pros

    Free lunch - Amazing how this balanced evenly with all the cons. Excellent food provided daily. Free alcohol - last Friday of the month (I do not drink but the culture heavily revolves around alcohol) Easy 6 months, never felt so full of energy in my spare time outside of 'work'. Security and kitchen staff were excellent. Management often make staff aware of recent deaths caused as a result of the work they doing and often refer to goals of striving towards minimising them.

    Cons

    Having been given no work to complete in 6 months, I was there from March to October. I left not knowing much about the company or what they do on a daily basis. Communication was poor. Induction was meaningless and souless where by nothing from it materialised. Emails just go around in circles with no resolution.

    Continue reading
    Anglo American2019-12-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Awful culture good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Anglo American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary Some really nice people Interesting business

    Cons

    Culture is horrible. Senior management are misogynistic and only interested in lining their own pockets. The only women who get on there are those who keep their heads down and don’t rock the boat. If you speak up your job is “restructured” out. Lots don’t speak up because the pay and benefits are good. The best managers leave

    Continue reading
    Anglo American2019-07-24
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Anglo American part-time

    Pros

    good director of studies and staff

    Cons

    little opp for progression, insecure contracts

    Anglo American2019-05-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglo American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and striving to be a great company with an inspiring purpose.

    Cons

    Can sometimes be hierarchial and a bit of the slow side

    Anglo American2019-04-15
  7. "Toward 2023"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglo American full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Currently we are all working very hard to achieve our burning ambition of being the most valued mining company by 2023, therefore a sense of urgency and excitement in the air - the company offers global Opportunities and solid remuneration packages, get the chance to work with a large diverse set of colleagues, friendly place to be

    Cons

    Not all managers are equally skilled so it’s better if you are an independent type and can get along by yourself, need to be able to take responsibility for you own career Development and determine your own future

    Continue reading
    Anglo American2019-04-12
  8. "More to Mining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglo American full-time

    Pros

    Pays very well Nice organisation and people

    Cons

    Needs more women worklife needs to be better

    Continue reading
    Anglo American2019-04-04

    Anglo American Response

    May 11, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Inclusion & Diversity is a key focus of the organisation on a local and global basis.

    Continue reading
  9. "HR Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Anglo American full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location and offices lovely, good benefits for employees, free lunch offering, career development encouraged.

    Cons

    Lack of flexibility, some antiquated views.

    Anglo American2019-03-15
  10. "Nice company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglo American full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of benefits - free breakfast, lunch.etc Working with smart people

    Cons

    Lack of career opportunities within the company.

    Anglo American2019-01-20
Found 162 reviews