Anglo American Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 302 of over 858 reviews

4.5
93%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Anglo American Chief Executive Mark Cutifani
Mark Cutifani
143 Ratings
Pros
  • "work-life balance, good company brand, learning and development opportunities(in 11 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and incentives for the employees(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Hard work and long hours international projects in multiple time zones(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work life balance could be improved(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Jul 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is well run with the CEO and GMC having a clear strategy and direction

      Cons

      Whilst the overall group has a clear direction some of the functional leadership are more concerned with their own ambition rather than the company's

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Thank you for your honest feedback. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We are constantly working on improving our processes as well as our leadership styles to ensure our employees have the best guidance to perform at the best of their abilities.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Aug 11, 2021 - Instrumentation and Controls Engineer in Teesside County Borough, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, resourceful, interesting, opportunities, multinational

      Cons

      Slow, spread out, over complicate

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Thank you for your positive feedback. We value your opinion and agree that we encourage learning and development for our employees so that they are able to become the best versions of themselves and excel in their careers.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome

      Jun 27, 2021 - Project Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company for starting management

      Cons

      Pressure finish project in time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Thank you for your honest feedback. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We have incredibly innovative and inspiring leaders in our organisation whom we are very proud of.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Excellent, purpose-driven company to work for with great benefits

      Jun 20, 2021 - Group Head in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership team strongly bought into the company’s purpose (Re-imagining mining to improve people’s lives), genuinely great bunch of very diverse professionals, good benefits and lots of leeway to look at things differently.

      Cons

      The company’s growth and global footprint mean working hours can be long (although they are pretty flexible about working arrangements, particularly for those with caring responsibilities).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Thank you for your honest feedback. We value your feedback and continually strive for excellence. We have incredibly innovative and inspiring leaders in our organisation whom we are very proud of.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Positive

      May 28, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good company to work for

      Cons

      Do not have any issues here

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Global Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. It’s rewarding to hear that you recognise the major actions we take as an organisation to be an Employer of Choice by many. We truly aspire to live by our company values. Thank you for choosing to work at Anglo American

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work with great people

      May 17, 2021 - Performance Specialist in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, exposure across the Group, great team

      Cons

      Some days busier than others, cyclical nature of deliverables

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Global Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Thank you for your honest feedback. Here at Anglo American we value the wellbeing of our employees and are proud to be an employer who promotes a healthy work-life-balance environment.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company

      May 21, 2021 - Communication Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture, with accompanying benefits

      Cons

      Inconsistency across regions, needs more management focus

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Global Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Thank you for your honest review. We always strive for excellence and will continuously work on improving our culture and living our company values. As a large corporate company, it can be a challenge to ensure a consistent culture across the board however we can assure you that we are always working towards improving our processes and we are always open to suggestions and feedback.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Heavy Hierarchy, Band 4 upwards cannot fail

      May 18, 2021 - Principal in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some travel and exposure globally

      Cons

      Old School with all the baggage associated.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Global Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback. We value your opinion. We are always open to constructive criticism and strive to improve our interactions with existing as well as future employees. While we are 100yr+ company, we work to make sure that we are innovative and always improving our processes, working towards excellence.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Big company with many opportunities to learn but not so good in developing own workforce to grow

      May 12, 2021 - Strategic Workforce Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big company with a lot of opportunities for learning

      Cons

      Very politicised environment and culture. Difficult to progress in career.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Global Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Thank you for your honest feedback and we are disappointed to hear about your experience. As a large corporate company, it can be a challenge to ensure a consistent culture across the board however we can assure you that we are always working towards improving our processes and we are always open to suggestions and feedback.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great MNC to work for

      Apr 7, 2021 - Technology Analyst in Scarborough, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Just like any other MNC, AA also offers a wide range of perks

      Cons

      Unlike startups, it can be difficult to put forward personal ideas and have them approved

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Anglo American Response

      Global Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Thank you for your honest feedback. We pride ourselves with offering our employees very competitive benefits and support and will continue to improve our benefits and offerings going forward. As a large corporate company, it can be a challenge to ensure a consistent culture across the board however we can assure you that we are always working towards improving our processes and we are always open to suggestions and feedback.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 302 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Anglo American Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Anglo American? Share Your Experiences

    Anglo American logo
    or