Ask Applications Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ask Applications Reviews

Updated Mar 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
Ask Applications CEO Will Treves (no image)
Will Treves
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A business model with almost complete reliance on search engines(in 4 reviews)

  • "Bro corporate culture with no transparency or respect(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "very relax working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Oakland, CA

    I worked at Ask Applications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very good work life balance

    Cons

    there is not a lot of room to grow

    Ask Applications2019-03-23
  2. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ask Applications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, management support, great culture, start-ups

    Cons

    I have nothing to say on this section, my overall experience was great

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Ask Applications2019-01-29
  3. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ask Applications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Values driven, innovative and strong cultured company

    Cons

    - Sometimes pace is quite fast, but other times its great

    Ask Applications2019-01-28
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Totally overwhelming and stressful culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ask Applications full-time

    Pros

    Good salary, some people are brilliant (but they leave the company every day!), good snacks

    Cons

    They don't care about employees at all, just about money. No new successful products, no new ideas, no creativity. You must be happy about work here, and you must not tell about problems. If you speak about company or product problems they call you a toxic person . They fired the smartest and most vivid people because those people were not ready to agree with everything managers told. They are firing people... who created the most valuable products, and call them unprofessional and "under expectations" but can't offer new products and ideas without them. They are just using old products and adding scum-subscriptions etc. Line managers and top managers are replaced every year. It is not enough just be a good specialist to build a career here, you need to have a good skill in corporate games. Nobody can trust nobody... I have a big experience but this is the most stressful workplace I've ever seen!!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't have an advice because I don't believe these people are capable changing!

    Ask Applications2019-01-20
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Needs new leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ask Applications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The employees are nice people to work with. Owned by IAC which has deep pockets

    Cons

    Zero transparency (even though the CEO constantly tells everyone how transparent he is) Horrible products (everything is borderline spam/malware) Upper management cares very little for the worker bees

    Advice to Management

    Don’t be so afraid of your boss. Push back, your employees will be thankful,

    Ask Applications2018-12-23
  6. Helpful (4)

    "In a sad state of decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Yonkers, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ask Applications full-time

    Pros

    -Flexible time off -Office snacks/drinks -Location outside of NYC (pro for some people)

    Cons

    -The business is a state of decline, with absolutely no vision or plan on how to improve things (read the IAC quarterly earnings report). They are willing to just ride it out for as long as it will make money, while cutting "expenses" (people) along the way. -Every strategic decision made is to meet the quarterly IAC goals, not to benefit users of the product or employees. -Management does not care about its... employees, aside from the bigger layoffs they have fired many of the brightest people without notice and forced many more to have to leave. Very few promotions and it usually happens because someone else quit. -Only looking to hire in the European office because the work is cheaper and the only future revenue to be made is in the mobile company they bought (Apalon).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop skewing the numbers to tell the story you think your employees want to hear. Everyone sees what is going on, be honest and try to work together to answer the tough questions and keep the business alive. Treat your employees like you actually care, not just for some PR stunt.

    Ask Applications2018-11-06
  7. "Engineering Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ask Applications full-time

    Pros

    Interaction with multiple teams Open culture Weekly releases

    Cons

    Adapting to latest technologies Short term gains

    Ask Applications2018-10-03
  8. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ask Applications full-time

    Pros

    Best team and manager you could ask for.

    Cons

    I didn't see any cons in the company

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Ask Applications2018-07-31
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Yonkers, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ask Applications full-time

    Pros

    Work with great people, at least while I was there Good benefits Summer Fridays Great snacks

    Cons

    It’s an old school business CEO is authoritarian Business is not transparent with employees Pay could be better

    Ask Applications2018-07-14
  10. "On its way up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ask Applications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company has made changes over time to position itself to be more successful. Yonkers office is not far from major transportation. Small office of well mannered and talented people. Great benefits and work/life balance.

    Cons

    Lots of information stored in people’s heads. Needs to be a little more organized.

    Advice to Management

    Continue on the path forward. Good things are ahead for IAC Apps

    Ask Applications2018-06-06
Found 61 reviews