Axios Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Axios Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Axios part-time

    Pros

    Great leadership Opportunity to explore different areas of the country

    Cons

    Pay could be higher Sometimes not enough work

    Axios2018-03-15
  2. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Axios full-time

    Pros

    The people are absolutely awesome

    Cons

    Recent buyout took some of the magic away

    Axios2017-10-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Appalling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Axios

    Pros

    - Some of the staff are decent people.

    Cons

    - CEO is a dictator past his use by date. - Product cannot complete with rivals in term of quality or pricing (Worst i have ever used or worked on). - Product has extremely poor security (It WILL fail any security audit).

    Advice to Management

    Retired.

    Axios2017-06-12

    Axios Response

    March 19, 2018Senior Engineer / Recruiting Coordinator

    This is a troll post. As a cursory glance at our website will reveal, we are a services company. We do not sell a product that can "compete with rivals in term of quality or pricing".

  4. "Fun work environment, but work could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Axios

    Pros

    It's a very fun work environment and everyone is very friendly. The work-life balance seems to very good as well.

    Cons

    The career opportunities seem to be a little lacking. People would have probably enjoyed having more responsibility and accountability.

    Advice to Management

    Please give your employees more responsibility and accountability.

    Axios2016-09-07
  5. "Good but recent sale wrecked the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Sterling, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Axios full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Incredibly smart people. The job really pushed me to my limits as a software engineer and I learned more than I ever did in school. The benefits were incredible.

    Cons

    The recent sale of the company really devasted everything that was good about this firm. Everyone at the company essentially took a 17% pay cut in the form of benefits with a pity raise of a few percent. So you took more cash home but, no more unlimited vacation, no more IBA, no more real incentive to continue working there

    Advice to Management

    I don't know if I have anything more to say other than what I included in the pros and con section. This doesn't really seem like the behavior of an "employee owned" company

    Axios2015-11-08
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Challanging and Engaging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Axios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Axios has some of the brightest minds in the business. They are always looking for ways to improve. Compensation to employers is among the best in the business. Management is always available to talk and engage with employees. Everyone's opinion matters.

    Cons

    I wouldn't consider it a con so much as a warning. Axios employees are the BEST at what they do and expect other employees to be and do the same. Be prepared for a challenging hard working environment.

    Axios2015-05-19

    Axios Response

    June 1, 2015Senior Engineer / Recruiting Coordinator

    Thanks for your review. Axios is a great place to work.

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Love this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Axios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * One of the best benefits packages I've ever seen * Flat organizational structure which makes it easy to approach upper management (i.e., open-door policy) * A lot of incredibly smart people at Axios, Inc. * Upper management really cares about work/life balance of employees * You *can't* bring your work home with you * Work is technically interesting and rewarding * There is room for personal growth and room for...

    Show More

    Cons

    * Working in this industry means not necessarily being on the bleeding edge of technology or development methodologies * It can be hard sometimes to directly see the impact of your work due to the nature of this industry * We've come a long way with recruitment, but we still have a ways to go * Some of the time it seems we tend to write "get it done code" -- I'd like to be able to write more tests and take more time...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Keep the benefits plan! It's unbelievable! * Keep the flat organizational structure even as we grow larger. This really makes employees feel valued more than you might realize. * We need to get our name out there and really brand ourselves further as having the best of the best. I'd like to do more stuff to make Axios, Inc. "known" for having great and talented people -- e.g., more speaking engagements / hackathons...

    Show More
    Axios2015-05-13
  8. "Axios"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Axios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent management, they really care about their employees and try to do the best to cater to everybody's needs. There is a family atmosphere there and the senior management is top notch.

    Cons

    They have a narrow scope of work there so if you are considering employment there, try to ask questions to make sure you know what you are getting into. The work there is good but make sure that you'll like it because it is a small company and so naturally they don't have 1000 different things you can work on.

    Advice to Management

    Excellent, keep doing what you guys are doing. I think that your model of management will retain excellent employees for years to come.

    Axios2015-05-15
Found 8 reviews