BSI Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BSI Group Reviews

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
BSI Group Chief Executive and Board Member Howard Kerr
Howard Kerr
67 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Business transformation programme very unstructured left due to not support by senior management(in 20 reviews)

  • "Travel Oriented, lesser work life balance(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "5* Organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great rewards / benefits / holiday - Good pay for office based roles -Progression opportunities if you work for it -Corporate channels with development / HR/ Recruitment etc...

    Cons

    -Specific manager can affect your view on the company -Not a con but just to note - very corporate environment if that's not your 'thing'

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2019-08-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great, forward thinking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Specialist & Scheme Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + Excellent remuneration and benefits all around + Well managed home working + Good attitude to international travel and rest + Proactive management + Social responsibility team (including environmental and mental health) + Lots and lots of training

    Cons

    - HR is a bit disconnected from the rest of the organisation. Sometimes difficult to get a quick answer.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2019-11-19
  3. "A Marmite company. You'll either LOVE working at BSI, or you'll HATE it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fixed Term Contract in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Executive team and CEO very approachable. • A respected brand. • BSI tries to be the leaders in the industry and their rivals the followers. • Lovely, modern offices. • Nice food in staff restaurant. • New starter process and on-boarding is excellent. • Great benefits. • HR and Executive do try to listen to employees and have good intentions. • Flexible working (department depending). • Free parking. • Good events (department conferences, family fun days, decorate your department at Christmas competition, Town Halls and end of year / kick-off event), where colleagues and management party very hard! • Most staff are really friendly. • BSI takes pride in being "a great place to work" and tries hard to bring this to life for colleagues. • A lot of staff are people that have been there a long time and still enjoy their job. • The staff that are engaged seem proud to work for BSI.

    Cons

    • Low morale and toxic behaviours at the testing sites (in Loughborough and Hemel Hempstead), but HR were actively working hard to change this when I left. • Confusing business model, takes time to fully understand what BSI does, as it does so many things. • BSI throws a lot of money about frivolously, such as: We didn't need to get quotes for a supplier, we could just book anyone we wanted. I went to an event in MK and all staff were given a hotel room, which was very nice, but 70% of staff in attendance lived in MK. Nobody seemed bothered if a budget was breached. • Some departments can be cliquey and there was a "if your face fits" type of vibe there. Those whose faces fitted got better opportunities, even if they were inept. • Blame culture evident at times. • Not enough parking spaces at MK and parking on main roads limited and difficult. • A lot of people power-dress and stomped about like they were the Wolf of Wall Street, which I found odd. I thought those days were left in the 80s! • My line manager was an Exec member and obviously busy, so never around, which made me feel out at sea and not very supported. • I didn't work solely for one team, so never really felt like I 'belonged' anywhere. • The last two points are major factors into why I didn't enjoy my actual job. The company is overall a good one though.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2020-01-30
  4. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a good holiday package

    Cons

    Work life balance, expected to travel at least 2.5 hours to a client, undertake a full day assessment and then travel 2.5 hours home - 5 days a week. They promise it gets better, but it doesnt. When approached about it, "management" just give you a blank look and then tell you it will get better !!!!!!!!

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2020-02-12
  5. "great company , could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor in Chiswick, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    consistent training and good colleagues, various clients to work with from sole traders to blue chip companies

    Cons

    no work life balance. we work at weekends and evenings to stay on top of workload to meet targets different ethos for internal office staff and auditors outside of main offices if you are favoured, you will do well, but if not, you are not recognised for your efforts with no opportunity to progress admin time varies between teams so some teams have 3 or 4 days pm and others 1 day pm glass ceiling and bullying of some colleagues who then leave. no exit interviews

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2019-12-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Professional and resourceful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Resourceful, professional, care and committed

    Cons

    Travel Oriented, lesser work life balance

    BSI Group2019-11-02
  7. "Ecstatic when I was offered to work at BSI and it hasn't worn off!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Advisor in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team and we engage EMEA & globally Wonderful variety of careers to recruit for - I get to speak to different types of people keeping me challenged and engaged Learning & development - I've learnt tons on the job and have the support of my management to continue my personal & professional development I've had the opportunity to support my colleagues across the team with assessment centers, recruitment and industry fairs etc I'm building relationships with my internal stakeholders all the time, to understand each team, dynamic, technical skills required for them is great fun When required I've assisted our key stakeholders with interviews, the best learning tool ever I could go on, but overall I'm extremely happy to get into the office and perform my role.

    Cons

    Nothing serious to note, sometimes processes can appear to be long but get quicker once you get into the swing of it.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2019-10-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management are super friendly and willing to help. Targets are realistic but as in sales, you will have ups and downs. Management are supportive and want to see people succeed. Nice building and facilities like a canteen with subsidized food

    Cons

    Targets can be to high for some teams which might see them struggle. If you get into a good patch then you can do very well, into a bad patch and it might affect your sales.

    BSI Group2019-09-28
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Number on a badge!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BSI Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of opportunity to go on free courses and speak to interesting individuals who are market experts within their respective industries. Monday to Friday job and no requirements to work from home.

    Cons

    True lack of understanding of their staff, never listen to feedback and if the feedback is not as the management team expect then you are simply bullied out of your opinions and belittled. Management team distance themselves from their teams, no relationship building in place to understand their staff. Complete lack of structure in personal development and if you apply for roles within the business which are not given to you by your management then you will be blocked in applying and questioned on your intent and commitment for the business. A very backward working environment, where micro management is a key factor and treat employees like children. A toxic environment, where breaks, lunches and everything else you do is watched and timed and you are constantly questioned and the lack of an exit interview went to prove that you are no looking to change anytime soon. Hardly any benefits, everything is a salary sacrifice and company does not pay for anything for you.

    Continue reading
    BSI Group2019-10-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BSI Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people who are pretty smart

    Cons

    Slightly chaotic and disorganised. A lot of red tape you need to work through

    BSI Group2019-10-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 121 reviews