Bacardi Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Bacardi Reviews

Updated 10 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Bacardi CEO Mahesh Madhavan
Mahesh Madhavan
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Still family owned- Great brands(in 42 reviews)

  • "Great people, family values which create a very positive , transparent and collaborative environment(in 20 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Brand Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bacardi full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We have THE best brands, everyday and project is exciting, the culture is amazing and all about family! The company genuinely wants to see you do well and recruits and trains from within to make our employees feel empowered and invested in. The best part of the company are the people they hire, everyone is super friendly and a great vibe in any office you step into around the world. The Bacardi vibe :)

    Cons

    I actually can't think of one!

    Bacardi2020-02-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, flexibility and brands to work with! Winners are rewarded!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Account Manager in Winchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bacardi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great brands with great support - no micromanaging, just KPIs and guidance - brilliant flexibility in your day to day. Get the job done on your own terms - Solid plan for growth you can believe in - great benefits, meal allowance/travel/car

    Cons

    Communication of KPI’s and standardised KPI planning No real cons though

    Bacardi2020-02-19
  3. "Family Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bacardi full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Warm, friendly and dynamic people, truly a family company. Challenging work, very entrepreneurial and you're encouraged to take on projects that inspire you and help develop you in areas you enjoy. The perks are good too, lovely office environment, cocktail classes, great little treats throughout the year. Our brands have a rich heritage and wonderful back story so I'm proud to work here.

    Cons

    Can be ambiguous at times, we work in a fast paced, competitive industry and we have to react at speed so you need to be comfortable with change. The matrix can be complex to navigate at times as it's not always obvious who the key stakeholders are.

    Continue reading
    Bacardi2020-01-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The meaning behind #bacardilife."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Brand Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bacardi full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The business of spirits is an amazing business to work in. Bands are really emotional and have a deeper meaning to consumers, which brings so much opportunities for marketers. We have some of the greatest brands which so much rich history in our portfolio and if you love experiential work, this is the place to work as it all comes down to bringing experiences to your consumers. Next to that, you work with great strong people and thanks to the small size of the team you actually get a lot of freedom within your work. You are accountable and get to bring a lot of things to the table to help grow global brands. Opportunities to change jobs & disciplines are big and encouraged, so if you want to dip your tows into something else - whether it's region or function - Bacardi is definitely a company to work for. You can be your true self here, even if it means you die your hair purple or have tattoos & piercings. As long as you deliver the outstanding work there is a lot of freedom.

    Cons

    We are a family owned company, and have a quite small team structure so things can get chaotic sometimes. You need to be aware of that, and be able to deal with the insecurity and ambiguity. Everyone at Bacardi is outspoken and has an opinion which is great to get feedback, but sometimes it means everyone has an opinion and you have to be able to deal with that. You need to do a lot of stakeholder management, and we do bring a matrix structure to another level compared to a lot of other companies which can get confusing. As a family business it also means that changes happen often and we rethink ways of working a lot. That takes energy, and if you like a fixed structure Bacardi is not the company to work for.

    Bacardi2020-01-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work on great brands while having fun doing it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bacardi full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, family culture, and family spirit.

    Cons

    The London office could be more diverse considering its location.

    Bacardi2020-01-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Brand Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bacardi full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Portfolio of iconic brands, great culture and people. Fantastic career development opportunities in some amazing locations around the world. Benefits are great.

    Cons

    Heavy workload and challenging work life balance. Many teams are under resourced with too many people at the top & enough entry-level employees.

    Bacardi2020-01-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Bacardi: a great working environmnet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Marketing Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bacardi full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, family values which create a very positive , transparent and collaborative environment The wealth of the portfolio, the brands we own and the industry we operate in, make working in this organization so much fun Entrepreneurial spirit is appreciated and rewarded as well as fearless inititative I also like the practical and results driven approach (not too much process driven) Truly an international enviroment Most of the work locations are great places to go every day to

    Cons

    Sometimes too much focused on short term returns More structured approach to key decision making is improving but not there yet

    Bacardi2020-01-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "An amazing family to be part of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bacardi full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, family oriented, fun and friendly place to work. Great industry to be part of with interesting brands and, as a finance person, an opportunity to have a real influence on strategy and how we engage with our consumers. Lots of opportunities for international travel and career growth to exciting locations!

    Cons

    Historically the company was sometimes slow to react to changes in the external environment and unclear over long-term plans however that has changed massively in the past couple of years for the better

    Bacardi2019-12-20
  9. "Such a pity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bacardi full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great brands, 100% family company, many good people, fewer and fewer though, so many good people have been fired by all the many CEOs with no other reason than the need to place their own people nstead. Great Harvard program for the happy few.

    Cons

    Too much politics. Like a monarchy, only way to survive is to please the current CEO. If one dares to disagree and speak up, the person is fired. It is dangerous for a company to have that autocratic style of management.

    Continue reading
    Bacardi2019-12-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Stimulating and collaborative culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GlGlobal Digital Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bacardi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative mindset Stimulating culture with rich learnings opportunities Very visible senior management and leadership teams Strong brands

    Cons

    Maintaining work/life balance in global team can be challenging

    Bacardi2019-12-09
Found 279 reviews