Bechtel Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Bechtel Reviews

Updated 11 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1172 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Bechtel CEO Brendan Bechtel
Brendan Bechtel
221 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "CAD Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time

    Pros

    it is one of the most respected engineering, construction, and project management companies in the world.

    Cons

    there isn't thing bad at bechtel

    Advice to Management

    very good

    Bechtel2019-02-13
  2. "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company, flexible working hours

    Cons

    Nothing bad, its going well

    Bechtel2019-05-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Engineering Dinasour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent career opportunities, ability to work overseas

    Cons

    Very poor pay, inability/reluctance to innovate. A lack of staff rotation - a huge amount of people stay in the same positions for many years. No clearly defined promotion system, a sever lack of new work booked.

    Advice to Management

    Incentivise fresh talent better, it is much needed to bring innovation.

    Bechtel2019-05-28
  4. "Great company but bad culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You'll get to work on the best projects in the world and get well compensated for it. Work enough and you will get well compensated.

    Cons

    Politics are hard to navigate. If you're not buddies with the upper management you won't get anywhere. They prefer hard workers over smart workers or those that have advanced degrees.

    Advice to Management

    Use a holistic approach to promotion and career advancement decisions. Some of the smartest people I knew there have left and that is evidence that something is off.

    Bechtel2019-05-01
  5. "Excellent people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Bechtel

      Pros

      Excellent people, solid processes, large scale projects, opportunities to learn from the best.

      Cons

      You have to be mobile to stay long term with the company, the work is where the projects are. Tough to win new projects, which means sometimes redundancies.

      Advice to Management

      Good luck...

      Bechtel2019-04-04

      Bechtel Response

      April 11, 2019Senior Talent Acquisition Program Specialist

      Thank you for your response. At Bechtel, we value and invest in our people and customers that contribute to our employees ’ careers and our company’s growth over the long-term. As a global organization, while not always required, relocation is sometimes necessary. Further, we are ...

      Show More
    • "Real Family Feel"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Bechtel full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Focused on development, value good people and senior management visibility

      Cons

      Holiday entitlement is a little behind their competitors

      Advice to Management

      Keep sharing the vision

      Bechtel2019-04-01
    • "HR"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Bechtel part-time

        Pros

        great people to work with

        Cons

        Nature of business can fluctuate quite a bit

        Bechtel2019-03-19
      • Helpful (1)

        "Good place to learn - Opportunities drying up"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        - Proprietory procedures and work processes - Quality of Senior staff to learn from -Opportunities to work abroad and on a variety of projects

        Cons

        -Work Life Balance -Shrinking market share -Reduced opportunities for development -Obscure progression pathways -Pay (was a pro) -Work Life Balance (again)

        Advice to Management

        Pay to retain your best.

        Bechtel2019-02-14
      • "Fantastic Culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Process Engineer in London, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        People - the best thing about Bechtel is its people. The vast majority are talented, have a good attitude and above all have integrity. Working with colleagues is a pleasure. Work - work is varied and there is a lot to be learned even after 10 years of experience. Pay - pay is competitive. Overtime can be requested during busy periods. Pension is superb. Location - London is a good place to be.

        Cons

        Pressure - work can be fast-paced and meeting multiple deadlines during peak times can be challenging.

        Advice to Management

        Management are some of the best I have seen. Keep it going!

        Bechtel2019-01-21
      • Helpful (4)

        "Chaotic and Interesting"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Bechtel full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Fluid in terms of roles/lateral movement Opportunity to develop (lots to work on) Given a good amount of responsibility (depending on your role/supv)

        Cons

        Lack of effective strategy from the top - or potential lack of communication Doing too much of the same things - business process are archaic and shocking HR is a mess, again archaic processes designed for the organisation and not for people. Lack of trust is evident in their processes Lack of humility - believe that they know best Bit of a blame culture - though no one like to admit it

        Advice to Management

        Commit to things and stand behind them Changing policies and procedures only takes you so far - you take the easy way instead of having the more difficult conversations SVP/PVPs - you are in some sort of bubble which is removed from the realities of what it's like for everyone else. Take a minute to notice things and ask questions. Treat your employees like adults and you might be surprised to see what you find. ...

        Show More
        Bechtel2018-08-17
      Found 1172 reviews