Benefitfocus Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Benefitfocus Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Benefitfocus President and CEO Ray August
Ray August
81 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It's hard to have a work/life balance(in 48 reviews)

  • "Long hours for not enough compensation and very disorganized(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    i love my co-workers - they are friendly, hard working and intelligent. I also love the company and leadership. They provide constant and clear communications. There are regular training opportunities and new trainings are being constantly created. We have a bi-yearly eNPS review and follow up action plans to maintain a positive employee engagement.

    Cons

    There are always areas of improvement for any company, but at Benefitfocus the leadership team is always working to identify and rectify them.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2020-02-13
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time

    Pros

    Fun work Environment, good management.

    Cons

    No cons as far as I'm concerned.

    Benefitfocus2020-02-05
  3. Helpful (10)

    "What is declining faster? Company morale or our stock price?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - You become numb to showing any signs of positive emotion for those 8-12 hours when you’re at your desk - Your coworkers become experts at describing the company as a meme...(Insert Ross shouting pivot!) - Beyond excited to use my new Benefitfocus journal to write down my anxiety induced thoughts at 2:00 am - Dogs and coffee are nice

    Cons

    - RESPECT the Circle of Excellence: Sales team bashes customer service. Customer service lacks confidence engineering. Engineering distrusts sales. - OWN IT! As shareholder, it’s important to read financial analyst’s articles because our stock continues to hit a 52 week low. - TOGETHER the one common theme is the lack of confidence in our leadership’s direction or strategy, but that strategy will probably change before you finish reading this - COMMUNITY of mediocrity. Don’t worry, you’ll still get that 3% annual increase after your review regardless of how well your manager said you did this year - ANTICIPATE that if you have a senior manager scared to talk to a customer, it’s not advised to promote them over an entire market - CELEBRATE that we love to buy new shiny tools and widgets, then a year later attempt to figure out how to use them properly

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2020-01-30
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Privileged to work for a company like Benefitfocus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Department in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The people cannot be beat. I have found my second family here and would go to battle with any of them. - There's opportunity for growth - if you're not experiencing that then you aren't being proactive in developing your career path. Promotions, Raises and new positions aren't going to be handed to you on a silver platter. You're an adult now - develop your path and see it through. - We have an amazing product - seriously. We are the BEST in the market. - Our platform shift is what this company needed. Software is software, and while ours is great, our customers need and deserve more. We can provide that and that's what the shift is all about. - There are a ton of listening posts. If you are constantly complaining, without leaning in to drive changes and find solutions, then you are a part of the problem. There are numerous ways to get involved, make a name for yourself, and make the company better! - Our CEO listens to associates and takes action.

    Cons

    - There is a lot of change almost every year. I do wish that leadership would let changes, like reorgs, have an opportunity to work out the kinks and become successful before completely changing them again. However, I challenge you to find a company that has as many associates, customers, data feeds, rapid growth and moving parts, that doesn't have change annually. The only constant in the world is change. - Open Enrollment can be challenging but that's the business that we're in. There are long hours, fire drills, and you're going to be asked to work harder. We get better every year though.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2020-01-17
  5. Helpful (4)

    "It's all a sham."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice offices. Coffee. Food available for purchase.

    Cons

    Constant reward for under-performing, incompetent associates while the rest of us have to do all of the work. The eNPS that they cling so tightly to and read every verbatim? That is a flat out lie - the Q&Rays are only to tell you why you're wrong and your paltry salary is great. Get these bloated higher ups out of here and listen to the people who do the work and deliver results.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2020-02-17
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Has potential but lacking a coherent strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture is pretty good with lots of friendly and talented coworkers. Good flexibility for engineers with remote and work from home opportunities. Decent benefits and compensation

    Cons

    Large disconnect between the picture the CEO and leadership are painting out in public, and what is actually being worked on. Continuously jump from one shiny object to the next with the product, while work less than a year old is abandonded and quickly adds to the technical debt. Also struggling with an outdated tech stack and software development practices, which would be fixable if leadership could settle on a plan long enough to address it.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2020-01-14
  7. Helpful (5)

    "No Strategy, No Employee Trust, No Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some very smart people that work here, but they end up quitting within 1 year because of the lack of strategy, constant reorgs and never-ending meetings that lead to nothing.

    Cons

    everything has to go through the leadership team, no career development, new strategy and priorities every week, constant chaos, hard to see any future for anyone at this company.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2020-02-14
  8. "Potential Based on Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CSS 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and culture, can work remote Job prospects within company

    Cons

    Open Enrollment is busy, a little more money would help a lot

    Benefitfocus2020-01-11
  9. Helpful (3)

    "C level very questionable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Daniel Island, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some very smart and good people working there.

    Cons

    The CEO is a bit of a bumbling fool, since he has taken the title - stock has gone from 60 dollars a share to 18. He also spends money frivolously on “his” work area, spending company money and wasting company resources. The Executive team is sketchy at best, seems like a good old boys club for the most part, including the board.

    Continue reading
    Benefitfocus2020-02-09
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Time for the board to make a move"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Benefitfocus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’ve been working here for several years and overall enjoy the company and people I work with. I don’t have any intentions of leaving any time soon, but significant changes need to happen.

    Cons

    We have a significant challenge with our current leader. While things like Q&A’s are great, we hear the same corporate message over and over. Approval processes are slow, and everything requires CEO approval. We have many issues to fix, including technical debt, the ability to execute our roadmap, and service issues/gaps, all of which are exacerbated by significant control at the top. The CEO has surrounded himself with YES people rather than people who challenge and innovate, or are even responsible for their own parts of the organization. Moreover, his leadership team (which trickles down further) are for lack of a better word, fearful of the CEO. He may ask great questions, but execution or willingness to be coached is nonexistent- he feels he is the expert on all things, rather than hiring experts to run their parts of the business. I have heard MANY associates say that they feel a change needs to happen in that top seat in January, otherwise even more top talent will walk out the door. I hope the board acts quickly to make a move. What more evidence do you need than our stock price that just hit it’s all time low? There is an expectation set by leadership to be working or on call 24/7... but we’re not saving lives here. The urgent mentality, fire drills, and poor planning starts at the top. Associates will continue to leave if this is not addressed. While this may sound like a rant, it’s truly not meant to be- just voicing concern for a major issue that needs to be addressed. If it is- outlook looks bright. If not, I’d be worried and would start looking.

    Benefitfocus2019-12-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 687 reviews