BiP Solutions Reviews

Updated 4 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
BiP Solutions Executive Chairman Ron Burges (no image)
Ron Burges
19 Ratings
  1. "Uncapped commission"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BiP Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can make a shed load of money.

    Cons

    The salary is poor and below average

    Continue reading

    BiP Solutions Response

    February 24, 2020.

    Thank you for review. Our commitment is to continue offering more opportunities for career progression and ensure our commission structures continue to reward high performance so it's great to hear your positive comments on this. Your other comments will be taken on board as areas of development - we definitely understand the importance of listening to our colleagues and are committed to introducing and actively promoting more opportunities to get this kind of input - whether that is about our future products or our overall working environment.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Not a good place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Management in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at BiP Solutions full-time

    Pros

    You do get paid (but on the 6th of the month); Staff are generally supportive (if not battle hardened); You get a chocolate egg at Easter (no seriously, you do); When you leave and get a new job you appreciate how great life can be!

    Cons

    Pay well below market rates.; Senior Management are of 2 types: 1) yes man / yes woman 2) have left or are in process of leaving; CEOs lack of competence is almost laughable if your livelihood did not depend on him; Digital Transformation going nowhere (can someone please explain how a digital technology company goes through a digital transformation?); IT function consuming 1 consultant after another and spiralling downwards.

    Continue reading

    BiP Solutions Response

    May 17, 2020Sales and Marketing Director

    Thanks for your review. Obviously it is disappointing that this is your perception of the business, however we are always striving to improve . The Digital Transformation project is moving forward at pace, with new product launching and huge investment going into our infrastructure (much of which you will have been involved in, given your previous role). We are learning a great deal as we go, and of course - we don't get everything right first time, but the commitment to delivering this strategy is unwavering. Our IT team are doing outstanding work, under a new and robust structure. You're right about the chocolate egg at Easter - this is simply a long-standing tradition from a family-owned business. Our staff (and their children, if the eggs make it home) see it just as a small gesture of appreciation: along with the other things we do such as social events (like the annual staff Awards, quarterly social nights, children's Christmas party, hampers and - when we're not home working - free fruit and drinks in the office). Even during the challenges presented by COVID-19 we are continuing to invest heavily into the business, with the goal of serving our customers better and protecting our staff. It's a shame that your review gave such a one sided and inaccurate appraisal of the business, but we wish you well for the future.

  3. "Improving across the board"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BiP Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Huge variety in workload Opportunity to bring ideas to the table Genuine appetite to enable innovation and invest in people Listens to staff feedback and tries their best to improve If you deliver and work hard - you get recognised This is a company full of potential, but requires grit and determination to see through the transformation, it’s not easy but it is challenging and exciting to be part of

    Cons

    Volume of task required by historical processes, systems and decisions is blocking progress across the board IT challenges are significant - albeit this is recognised as a priority and there doesn’t seem to be any resistance to investing in it, but currently it makes it hard to be creative with your day job and use the opportunities digital and technology presents.. IT issues just make everything harder than it should be. I’m not sure senior management understand how hard that makes everyday daily tasks.

    Continue reading

    BiP Solutions Response

    January 14, 2020.

    Thank you for your honest and positive review – your constructive feedback is really useful to us and will be used to make further improvements to our working environment. You’ve made some valid observations regarding IT processes… as you have outlined, this is something that is a priority for us and we are committed to investing in. We understand that change may seem slow and isn’t always straightforward, but we are confident that we are making good progress in this area with exciting development changes already being implemented. It is really encouraging that you are already starting to see improvements from these changes – we look forward to sharing the rest of our digital transformation journey with you!

  4. "Overall Negative Experience of Software Development - IT (Support) Dev"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Software Developer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BiP Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Mostly friendly staff... some not so much when separated by a screen - Central location - Health plan after a years service (pays for appointments/prescriptions etc) - Parking available nearby - Company admits need to change, but digital transformation progress is slow and hampered by attrition of staff.

    Cons

    - Choking technical debt - Exceedingly low pay - Little opportunity to develop new skills - IT department hemorrhaging staff, BiP only seem to recruit graduates to replace higher level developers

    Continue reading

    BiP Solutions Response

    January 10, 2020.

    As Head of Delivery within our IT Department, it is disappointing to hear that you did not have as positive an experience from your time within BiP as we would have hoped. We do, however, appreciate you taking the opportunity to provide feedback through this channel. We understand that the job market for Graduate Developers is candidate-driven and as a SME, it is difficult to always directly compete with the package that is offered by larger businesses/financial institutions. In addition to regularly reviewing and the external market, our commitment is to offer our Developers exposure to the whole software development lifecycle combined with the autonomy to get involved in new projects and a clear, structured route for career progression … which is directly linked to salary bands. We are passionate about investing into graduates and giving them skills to progress within BiP…but also to support their wider career development. We talk about it a lot, but we are proud of our track record of developing Graduates. We have recently promoted 4 colleagues to Senior Developers and a further colleague to the role of Lead Developer. All joined BiP in the Graduate Developer role before subsequently progressing through our development structure. We appreciate your acknowledgement that we are trying to make positive change – it may seem slow, but we truly believe it is about taking many small incremental steps to achieve our goals. As part of our transformation, we have introduced Agile methodologies and put measures in place to free up our key development team to concentrate on new innovative technical development. This all takes time but we are confident that we are making good progress. Again, thank you for your review and we wish you well in your new role.

  5. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Business Development in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BiP Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good career progression, uncapped commission and great office environment

    Cons

    consult with staff more around future product developments

    BiP Solutions Response

    July 24, 2019.

    Thank you for review - it is great to hear that you enjoy working at BiP. Our commitment is to continue offering more opportunities for career progression and ensure our commission structures continue to reward high performance. With regards to your reference to future product developments, this is constructive feedback we have had from other colleagues and as such, are working hard to develop in this area. We have made a conscious effort to include individuals across different business areas in our product development workshops - our most recent being an off-site 2 day workshop at Radisson Red in June.

  6. "Exciting times ahead!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BiP Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Digital transformation in place - Exciting environment - Fast-paced, yet supportive - Colleagues with high degrees of subject matter expertise - Collaborative environment - Excellent development/learning opportunities - Industry leading company - Opportunity to travel within the UK - Good holiday package - Free fruit and drinks - Dress down Fridays

    Cons

    - Some IT teams understaffed and therefore very slow to respond to requests. Digital transformation in place to deal with such issues and massive progress has already been made.

    Continue reading

    BiP Solutions Response

    July 24, 2019.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback - it is very much appreciated. It is encouraging that you have been able to provide so many 'pros' of working at BiP. We don't want to stop there... our commitment is to keep developing our working culture and overall benefits package. We are excited about our digital transformation strategy and the positive impact it will have on us realising our growth ambitions. We look forward to sharing our vision with you and the role you will play in the journey.

  7. Helpful (6)

    "Horrific...Simply HORRIFIC place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BiP Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get weekends off and public holidays

    Cons

    Family business. If you ain't family...

    Continue reading

    BiP Solutions Response

    July 16, 2019.

    As Associate Sales Director, I am really disappointed that you did not gain more from your experience of working within the Sales Department of BiP Solutions. I have recently returned to the business after 5 years and was pleased to see so many of our sales staff from my time before. It was also pleasing that many are performing at a far higher level than had been previously and as a result are making healthy bonuses on a monthly basis. The addition of really experienced sales managers, focusing on each BDMs improvement, team motivation and bonding has created a hard-working, focused and motivated sales environment. I am currently creating a new structure within the sales department that maps out clear development paths for each individual if they choose. This strategy underpins our focus moving forward and believe that it will continue to develop as a great environment to work in. As mentioned at the start of my post, I am disappointed that it has not worked out for you like most of the sales staff and wish you good luck and every success in future employment.

  8. "Not a bad place to work but needs improvement"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BiP Solutions full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people, veriety of work load

    Cons

    Sick leave, wage inflation

    Continue reading

    BiP Solutions Response

    May 15, 2019

    Thank you for your review – it is extremely encouraging to see that you have been with the business for over 10 years. The ‘pros’ you have highlighted certainly echo feedback we have received from previous reviews and our most recent Annual Employee Engagement Survey. Even our own Executive Chairman references that BiP would not be where it is today if it wasn’t for our ‘Brilliantly Innovative People’. You also made a valid point about the variety of work – we truly believe that this is one of the things that make BiP an exciting place to work. We are confident that this will only strengthen as we move into our next phase of growth and introduce new product/services to our portfolio. It is important that we are listening to feedback on how we can make BiP an even better place to work, so we are grateful that you provided ideas of how we can achieve this. We are committed to the development of our overall benefits package, which is why we have recently enhanced our Company Pension Plan, introduced a Cycle to Work Scheme and continue to provide well-received benefits such as our Health Cash Plan and access to SSE Hydro tickets. We look forward to sharing further developments to our overall benefit package over coming months.

  9. Helpful (6)

    "Sales"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BiP Solutions for more than a year

    Pros

    I’d heard about the “positive” reviews left here about this company which I expect may have something to do with the marketing team were most of the money is spent. The new CEO has a marketing degree and no sales acumen so if you’re looking for a challenging sales role this a good place to start.

    Cons

    Goal posts consistently changed for sales team. No relevant support or incentives for struggling performers. Staff morale is horrific. Salaries are very low.

    Continue reading

    BiP Solutions Response

    December 24, 2018Sales and Marketing Director

    Thanks for your review. It's disappointing that this is your view of the business, but we are always happy to learn from any feedback received. Our recent staff survey showed very high levels of satisfaction, engagement and morale across both our Manchester and Glasgow sales teams, and retention rates in 2018 were amongst the highest on record. We invest heavily into the development of our sales people. Recognising that sales in any organisation can be a challenging role, our goal is to help anyone who is struggling to get their performance back on track. We are in this for long term success, not just short term results.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "A busy place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Executive in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BiP Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice modern offices with good facilities Amazing colleagues Reward scheme ( by business performance) that acknowledges staff at all levels Good opportunies to travel I learned a lot Good induction process to a complicated organisation

    Cons

    Its a very busy place to work Lots of staff had left when I was there which affected morale a little

    Continue reading

    BiP Solutions Response

    May 30, 2018Sales and Marketing Director

    Thanks for your honest and positive review. It's good to know that we got many things right, even if your time here was shorter than planned. This is a busy place to work, but that's because we're focused on continuing the growth and expansion of the business; creating more opportunities for our people to develop. Thanks for playing your part in it.

Found 29 reviews