Biffa Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Biffa Reviews

Updated 3 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Biffa CEO Michael Topham
Michael Topham
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Supportive culture, ambitious plans, a senior team that genuinely listens, great people and fun(in 4 reviews)

  • "Strong senior management that listen(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance could be managed more proficiently(in 3 reviews)

  • "Upper management doesn't seem to have much room for suggestions, though this is camouflaged in facade(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great career prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PQIM in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Biffa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people Internal growth encouraged

    Cons

    Needs to be more consistent across contracts

    Advice to Management

    Value your people, they are your greatest asset

    Biffa2019-09-20
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Biffa Waste Services in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Biffa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pension, health insurance and Biffa Perkz which gives you discount at shops Good bonus scheme Good sick pay and holidays increase with time and company car Given space to perform in your role without being handheld

    Cons

    Slow paced to make any decisions Average/low pay Senior management focused on their own bonus before looking after yours.

    Advice to Management

    Senior management are not getting realistic results of the engagement survey from depot managers as they are bundled in their own team. They of course are going to score themselves high.

    Biffa2019-09-24
  3. "Drive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Stockport, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Biffa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good staff and good pay

    Cons

    Bad managers at my depot

    Biffa2019-10-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Heavy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Refuse Loader in Littlehampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Biffa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, not bad pay

    Cons

    Not my ideal job, no real prospects

    Advice to Management

    Consideration to staff

    Biffa2019-08-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Working for Biffa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Weighbridge in Durham, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Biffa part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working part time hours Monday to Friday

    Cons

    Bullying is rife, would not recommend if you want to keep your sanity

    Advice to Management

    If someone speaks up about being bullyed, do something about it and stop it before it escalates into years

    Biffa2019-09-12
  6. "Rubbish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Biffa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None while i was there

    Cons

    Rubbish while i was there

    Biffa2019-09-11
  7. "Best company for middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Biffa

    Pros

    Allowed to run own depot with very little negative input from senior management. Given advice and leadership at all levels

    Cons

    Zero, pay package is great hours are fair. If you want a good career work for Biffa.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t let people leave too easy. Sometimes they just need to feel valued.

    Biffa2019-08-05
  8. "Rubbish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Biffa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None none at all, definitely none

    Cons

    Unrealistic targets and unrealistic targets

    Advice to Management

    Comments removed and unrealistic targets, have a go yourselves

    Biffa2019-09-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Service Desk Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Biffa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff Nice office Good job Nice environment Interesting job

    Cons

    Smell form garbage trucks really bad.

    Biffa2019-07-11
  10. "Inconsistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Biffa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people in the team

    Cons

    Work life balance varies depending on your manager.

    Advice to Management

    More consistency across teams required in finance.

    Biffa2019-07-03
Found 75 reviews