BioLegend Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BioLegend Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
54%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
BioLegend Founder & CEO Gene Lay (no image)
Gene Lay
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company is growing so there is job security but at a significant cost(in 6 reviews)

  • "There are genuinely great people who work here(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very low pay and not very good work to life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "Needed more structure in upper management(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "growing company, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BioLegend full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - approachable management (within reason) and really great colleagues - there is a good work culture here with regular company events - employees are mostly young (mid to late 20s, early 30s) and happy to chat/socialise. if you're a positive and outgoing person you will do well here. - the company is also growing fast, change is constantly happening, not always communicated well but it's nice to see management taking real steps to improve things - real efforts by HR to turn problems around (see cons below) - nice big new campus in construction!

    Cons

    - simply not enough staff, people regularly work 11-12hr days here because there is just so much to do. amount of overtime has gone up lately and people are getting tired. - and yet... for those people killing themselves at this job, options for raise/promotion seem small to none??? - the message I get from this: this company is GREAT to kickstart your career/gain basic skills, but MOVE ON as soon as you've got enough under your belt.

    Continue reading
    BioLegend2017-02-20

    BioLegend Response

    March 28, 2017VP of HR

    Great to hear from the UK team! I appreciate the feedback. I agree that the growth can be a real challenge but it is a nice problem to have compared with the opposite! I know that recently the manager overseeing a majority of the business in the UK spent two weeks with the team so hopefully you were able to share your concerns and ideas with him during his visit. If we need to add more resource to the team there, raise this right away. The projections are for more growth in the near future so we need to make sure we are prepared. I definitely want to make sure our teams are able to maintain work/life balance as we are a company that is built to last and grow steadily. So while short runs of extra work will happen, this cannot be the standard. Keep up the great work and feel free to send any ideas to me or your management.

    Continue reading
  2. "Stay away from this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BioLegend full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cant think of any . Best to stay away

    Cons

    Not nice company, treating people badly without any concern

    Continue reading
    BioLegend2019-10-16

    BioLegend Response

    October 23, 2019VP of HR

    I would like to respond to this review but we did not establish our UK office that long ago so we have no employees in our London office with this much longevity. I can only imagine this review is a mistake? Otherwise please contact me directly and I can respond more appropriately.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Don’t bother and avoid at all cost or sell your soul to the devil, if you’re only in it for the money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BioLegend full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Nespresso coffee. They are prepared to pay £25k PA. The main Logistical Manager is super nice and so are most of the regular staff.

    Cons

    - No central heating: be prepared to freeze in the winter and keep the usage of an electric heater to a bare minimum, because it causes a regular power outage, which then results into more stress meeting your deadlines. - Only one toilet on the entire floor for 20 some staff. - Poor kitchen area with grimy microwaves smelling like yesterday’s food. - Poor, complicated, web-based ERP/CRM systems which crash regularly and get super slow at peak times or when engaged by too many users at once. - Be prepared to spend 80% of your time to look for information, which may often be inaccurate and not up to date on several platforms at once. - Very poor, unreliable web-based correspondence program- it’s either little or nothing or everything at once. Have your PC task manager open at all times to restart the program several times a day. - 25% of all orders are received by fax- mostly from German customers- that often arrive incomplete and in a poor visual state. - Don’t be your genuine self and adapt to a submissive schoolboy attitude, you want to be the teacher’s pet, especially, when in presence of your career driven Line Manager. Act dumb and get away with it. - Fake office atmosphere with an overworked and stressed out Line Manager, who has very little drive and time to train you properly, unless you’re her little favorite candidate. - Don’t expect any favors, motivation or gratitude, no matter how hard you work and be prepared to be named and shamed in front of everyone in the office for your mistakes, even if they are caused by forced interruptions by your Line Manager or unexpected system failures. - If you like Magic Soul music and are prepared to listen to the same songs three times a day, you’re good, if not, you’re doomed and don’t even try to put on Pink Floyd, you will have to switch it off.

    Continue reading
    BioLegend2018-04-14

    BioLegend Response

    May 3, 2018VP of HR

    This reviewer and I spoke over the phone as he was working in our UK office. I especially appreciate the feedback from our overseas offices. This gentleman worked for us for approximately two months and it seems this job was not a fit for him. I've shared the feedback he gave me with the UK local management team so we can focus on improving our work environment. I wish this former employee all the best in his next position.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Associate in Sorrento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BioLegend full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a ton of multidisciplinary experience that is vital to the biotech industry if willing to work hard and aggressively volunteer to do more.

    Cons

    Very low pay and not very good work to life balance.

    Continue reading
    BioLegend2020-02-20

    BioLegend Response

    February 24, 2020VP of HR

    Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. I completely agree with your opinion on time off. We have increased the amount of time off we give employees across the board. I will share this feedback with the executive team today as we want all employees to feel comfortable taking time off. I wish you all the best in your career.

    Continue reading
  5. "4 star"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tissue Culture Manufacturing Associate in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BioLegend full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work and great coworkers

    Cons

    Don't sponsor visas by company policy

    Continue reading
    BioLegend2020-01-15

    BioLegend Response

    January 28, 2020VP of HR

    Thanks for the positive feedback! Visas have become very complicated and unpredictable lately. The denial rate across all industries for most visa types has grown dramatically which has caused many companies to rethink their practices. We will certainly continue to monitor this and adjust as necessary.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Autocratic senior leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BioLegend full-time

    Pros

    401k match was a good benefit.

    Cons

    Limited development for employees Pay below average Little appreciate for effort of employees Ignorant and narcissistic senior leadership

    Continue reading
    BioLegend2020-02-06

    BioLegend Response

    February 10, 2020VP of HR

    Thank you for your feedback, I will share this with the executive team. I wish you all the best in your career.

    Continue reading
  7. "OK for experience... Sad Dedham site is closing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at BioLegend full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was good to gain industry experience but I agree with other reviews that you should use this company as a stepping stone. Work was relatively easy and monthly metrics ensured all the associates were pulling their weight. There was a running tally of the number of WB, ELISAs and IHC experiments I ran. Definitely quantity of quality when it came to the products. I didn’t mind the time clock to punch in and out. Sad to hear the Neuroscience Business unit in Dedham will be closing this year. I hope everyone finds a new position. Good place if you want to do simple lab work that doesn’t require much troubleshooting.

    Cons

    Pay was not competitive for the Boston market. Higher than average voluntary attrition rate compared to companies this size. No bonuses at the associate level. Raises were less than 3% for one year I was there and not present the other year. Management was disorganized and I felt workloads were on the high side and patience on the very low side. I wouldn’t recommend working for BioLegend even to my worst enemy.

    BioLegend2020-01-09

    BioLegend Response

    January 28, 2020VP of HR

    It was definitely a difficult decision to consolidate the neuroscience business into our San Diego site. I'm sorry you didn't have a more positive experience in our Dedham, MA location.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It depends on what you put in!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BioLegend full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I learned and gained so much knowledge during my time there. Practically provided me base foundation if industry knowledge. Great place to learn if you put in your time and effort.

    Cons

    Needed more structure in upper management.

    BioLegend2019-12-20

    BioLegend Response

    January 28, 2020VP of HR

    Thank you for your feedback and we wish you success in your career.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BioLegend full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None! There are no Pros to working at BioLegend

    Cons

    Terrible Management! Horrible HR Department.! CHEAP The food served at all of their functions/parties is terrible.

    BioLegend2020-01-25

    BioLegend Response

    January 28, 2020VP of HR

    I am sorry you didn't have a more positive experience at BioLegend. I do hope you've found a place that better meets your needs.

    Continue reading
  10. "I had a very positive experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at BioLegend

    Pros

    Small business development group allowed me to meet and work closely with my director.

    Cons

    A lot of information to learn in a short amount of time. Prior experience is a plus although not needed.

    BioLegend2019-11-25

    BioLegend Response

    December 19, 2019VP of HR

    Great to hear you had a good experience. As a fast paced growing company there is a lot to learn quickly. We will keep your feedback in mind for our new hires as we grow. All the best to you and thanks again for the feedback.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 90 reviews