Booths Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Booths Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
39%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Booths CEO Edwin J. Booth (no image)
Edwin J. Booth
18 Ratings
  1. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Assistant in Barrowford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booths part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, like a family atmosphere

    Cons

    Often some very rude customers

    Booths2019-08-09
  2. "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booths part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of nice customers and pretty easy work, nothing difficult about it really. Most colleagues are easy to work with.

    Cons

    Find one of my supervisors very difficult to work with, holier than thou attitude and all that jazz. Pretty boring and bad communication when it comes to time off. Quite disorganised as well in terms of reviews.

    Advice to Management

    Fix communication and organisation issues.

    Booths2019-10-15
  3. "Easy work but lots of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Salford, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Booths part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    15% staff discount, generally quite easy jobs literally nothing too mentally taxing, nice people, good contract hours and possibility for overtime. Were also okay at accommodating for your university/college hours

    Cons

    Terrible management, always short staffed so had to do a lot of work, staff always called in sick last minute so had to cover sometimes 2/3 departments at times! If you could do overtime they would sometimes rinse you for it.

    Advice to Management

    Could be more understanding towards staff and appreciate the work they do considering the amount of times I had to cover many departments a few times as they could not be bothered to ring people to come in

    Booths2019-10-09
  4. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Buying 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Booths full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support from Booths Brand Team

    Cons

    Lacks career development and training

    Booths2019-09-11
  5. "Work on kiosk and stack shelves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Assistant in Lytham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booths part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for U25’s

    Cons

    Long shift work, repetitive

    Booths2019-07-23
  6. "Good ish place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Assistant in Kendal, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booths part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay Good breaks Mostly friendly staff

    Cons

    Management can be somewhat unprofessional Over time is just expected and a pain if you are unable to do a shift

    Advice to Management

    Be more attentive to staff needs

    Booths2019-07-22
  7. "Family Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Buyers Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at Booths full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Close knit office and friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    No real perks of the job

    Booths2019-06-23
  8. "Awful managers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Assistant in Preston, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Booths part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay if you’re a student, good for students because lots of other students work there

    Cons

    Management is poor, disorganised, put you on for any shift and get annoyed when you can’t do it even if it says on your flexibility form you can never do that shift. Management make working at booths awful.

    Advice to Management

    Stick to Rotas unless you ask employees first, treat employees with more respect.

    Booths2019-07-06
  9. "Great for an Introduction to Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Assistant in Clitheroe, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booths part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for all ages.

    Cons

    Extremely Poor and Unorganised Trading Management.

    Advice to Management

    Stop Changing Store Managers, and make sure the current managers (EG Trading) are organised and not last minute. I found myself in predicaments that put me in all work no life situations. Once having to work a 40+ hour week wih no extra pay because a manager didn't assign my holiday I requested months in advance.

    Booths2019-04-07
  10. "Worked as a General Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booths part-time

    Pros

    Socially it was good. All the staff around me were extremely pleasant.

    Cons

    Management were stuck up and out of touch

    Advice to Management

    Be less obnoxious and learn how to treat people

    Booths2019-04-09
Found 48 reviews