Booths Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Booths Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Edwin J. Booth
13 Ratings
  1. "Shopfloor Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Booths full-time

      Pros

      Nice people, reasonable work, no surprises.

      Cons

      Not many - occasional rude customer.

      Booths2019-02-05
    • "Great for an Introduction to Retail"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - General Assistant in Clitheroe, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Booths part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay for all ages.

      Cons

      Extremely Poor and Unorganised Trading Management.

      Advice to Management

      Stop Changing Store Managers, and make sure the current managers (EG Trading) are organised and not last minute. I found myself in predicaments that put me in all work no life situations. Once having to work a 40+ hour week wih no extra pay because a manager didn't assign my holiday I requested months in advance.

      Booths2019-04-07
    • "Worked as a General Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Booths part-time

      Pros

      Socially it was good. All the staff around me were extremely pleasant.

      Cons

      Management were stuck up and out of touch

      Advice to Management

      Be less obnoxious and learn how to treat people

      Booths2019-04-09
    • "Not amazing but not bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - General Assistant (Stocker and Cashier) in Penwortham, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Booths part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      (for me) Great co-workers - Independence to just get on with it - Shifts can be quite relaxing when the store is closed and you can just get on with stocking - (from my experience) 8 hour work, 1 hour break! - 15-20% off staff card

      Cons

      - Managers can be a little pushy to part timers about doing more hours that week - They introduced a new 'timing' system for restocking, were they time how long it takes you to get out each cage, felt a bit pressuring and hidden under the guise of 'improvement'. - The stores don't take ideas or constructive criticism from employees who want to get more involved with the process, I tried a few times to empty responses....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      - Listen to your staff more openly and stop focusing so much on staff targets, it's way more transparent then you think and quite demotivating the way it's done. - Every store needs to have smaller bags to collect cardboard and plastic on the flatbed trollies, having to keep going round the back wastes time. Accuse staff less when there is a problem in operation, and consider what YOU are perhaps doing wrong to. I saw...

      Show More
      Booths2019-03-24
    • "Customer Assisstant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Booths part-time

      Pros

      Lovely people, great to work there

      Cons

      Management is a little poor

      Advice to Management

      Stop being poor

      Booths2018-12-08
    • "Process Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Process Manager in Preston, North West England, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Booths full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Great company to work for. Excellent food quality aimed at a more upper class market.

      Cons

      Small business that struggles to keep up with modern day methods adapted by other major supernarkets

      Booths2018-10-24
    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Booths full-time

      Pros

      Family run company, high class supermarket, ethical business

      Cons

      Work life balance can be poor

      Advice to Management

      Keep valuing your colleagues, they are your life blood

      Booths2018-09-21
    • "POOR MANAGEMENT AND ORGANISATION"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cafe Associate in Ilkley, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Booths part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      nice people in cafe and good hours

      Cons

      they hadnt put me down as employed so was emergancy paid and so taxed when i shouldnt have been poor management and comunication rota not online no clocking in system everything done on paper

      Booths2018-10-26
    • "One of the best supermarkets in the UK"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - General Assistant in Lytham St Annes, England

      I worked at Booths part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Fantastic team who were overall a delight to work with for the nine months I was there. Respectful of the free time I needed.

      Cons

      None whatsoever. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Booths

      Booths2018-08-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Booths

      Pros

      easy money family-orientated work life balance

      Cons

      not challenging hard to progress to senior role

      Booths2018-08-14
    Found 39 reviews