Brokers' Risk Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Brokers' Risk Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
14%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Brokers' Risk President  Cheryl Sandner (no image)
Cheryl Sandner
4 Ratings
  1. "salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brokers' Risk full-time

    Pros

    decent pay for the amount of work

    Cons

    this is a rudderless ship - except for the micro-managing irrelevant matters.

    Brokers' Risk2018-09-20
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Seriously just go somewhere else, sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brokers' Risk for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours....nothing else comes to mind.

    Cons

    Owner has passed, entrenched upper management unwilling to change anything, no data/IT support, no review of marketing numbers, no data driven decision making of any kind. No willingness to change anything. Fire employees on a whim with no notice.

    Advice to Management

    Get your upper management on-board and update your systems.

    Brokers' Risk2018-09-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "So much better than it was!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brokers' Risk full-time

    Pros

    I am a current employee. The atmosphere here at Brokers Risk has done a complete 180. Where before it was an environment of fear and 'lucky to have a job', now employees are treated with respect and our opinions actually matter. Management has gone out of their way to show us that we are important to the success of the company. Little things like after work drinks, random cookies and really fun company outings... have vastly improved morale.

    Show More

    Cons

    None compared to a few years ago. If I had to suggest an improvement, I'd go with a better Healthcare company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up what you're doing! We appreciate it as much as you have shown appreciation to us!

    Brokers' Risk2017-09-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Brokers' Risk full-time

    Pros

    I have been with this company for quite some time. I am tired of reading all the negative postings. This company pays above average salaries, has good benefits and you work a 7.25 hour day. The management team has made positive changes in the past year and the environment has changed for the better. If you want to be part of a team where your opinion and the job that you do makes a difference, you belong here. ... To all those former employees that put up negative posts, there is a reason your are a “former” employee. Go figure right?

    Show More

    Cons

    No work from home option.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are behind you!

    Brokers' Risk2017-06-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting Work, Professional Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brokers' Risk full-time

    Pros

    Anyone who has worked here under the previous leadership would likely say that the new leadership is a vast improvement in atmosphere and some would even say the change is like night and day. The work is challenging and provides for appropriate professional growth. I can see how working here might be hard for those without a decent amount of experience, because you need to know your stuff to be successful in a... small company. That being said, the need for employees to stand on their own without a lot of guidance allows for independent judgment and creative thinking to be used - a big plus for most professionals. Most employees care about their work product and act with integrity.

    Show More

    Cons

    Implement a structured, planned, occasional work from home option for employees in good standing. Many companies have adopted such limited plans and it would be a huge win for management and employees alike.

    Advice to Management

    Keep looking for ways to engage employees and make people want to work here - change is good for everyone! Trust your people, as noted above, most care about their work product.

    Brokers' Risk2017-06-23
  6. "THINGS MUST CHANGE!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brokers' Risk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The 1st Friday of the Month Employee Socials are GREAT!

    Cons

    The CEO is a HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!! I've NEVER seen so many people run to the elevator at 4:15 to leave this place. She's rude, just like her Dad!! I wouldn't be surprised if this company closed for good!

    Advice to Management

    CHANGE THE MANAGEMENT! THE CULTURE OF THIS COMPANY IS LIKE NONE OTHER THAT I'VE EVER SEEN BEFORE!

    Brokers' Risk2017-06-15
  7. Helpful (4)

    "NOT even if you're DESPERATE!!!! #dontdoit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Workers Compensation Claims Examiner in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brokers' Risk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The main kitchen/break area is lovely.

    Cons

    They do not present the true picture or idea of the workload or work environment. There is NO support, literally...no encouragement or motivation to do better. You maintain the best you can until you can find better. They're is LOTS of nepotism..it's kept in the family & fremily...the long time employees are there cause they don't do anything - or they're about to retire so why go elsewhere. There are new employees... but that's because SOOOO many leave. They eliminate positions & just pile the work on but this isn't what they tell you...you find out once you're stuck there. No training..no support...HORRIBLE communication. I expect this business to be closed or sold SOON!!! I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy!!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do BETTER!!! Be more PROactive & less REactive. Stop band-aiding situations. Provide adequate resources to do a good job. You CANNOT thrive when you do nothing to encourage growth. I expect you all will be out of business or under new ownership soon. #soonisnotsoonenough

    Brokers' Risk2016-11-05
  8. Helpful (3)

    "STAY AWAY!!!! I wish it was a half star that I could give!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administration in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brokers' Risk full-time

    Pros

    None! No Pros!!! This company is ran like a concentration camp!

    Cons

    Everything about the company is a CON!!! Everything!

    Advice to Management

    Get a NEW CEO, COO and everything else! The company sucks!!! The ONLY person in position that is worth ha in there is the CFO!!!

    Brokers' Risk2016-06-14
  9. Helpful (5)

    "RUN AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brokers' Risk full-time

    Pros

    nothing this place is a complete nightmare, I can't believe they are still in business.

    Cons

    This is satan's den on earth! The CEO is the biggest jerk you will ever meet.

    Brokers' Risk2015-12-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Nothing To Get Excited About"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brokers' Risk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One hour lunch but that's about it.

    Cons

    Company is stuck in the past.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like you value them. A once a year Christmas luncheon doesn't count.

    Brokers' Risk2015-11-08
Found 24 reviews