Buffer Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 18 reviews

4.5
84%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Buffer CEO Joel Gascoigne
Joel Gascoigne
3 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Super transparent

    Apr 2, 2021 - Vice President Engineering in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The transparency is key especially with everyone remote

    Cons

    No Complaints from me here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Mar 15, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart coworkers, great benefits and high quality product.

    Cons

    Lack of feedback. There is an odd culture of being too positive. The hard real talks were incredibly taboo

    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Don't drink the Kool-Aid...

    Oct 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working remotely Seemingly nice people (not all are...some are passive aggressive) Pay is good and transparent Global retreats

    Cons

    People can be fake Upper management can be flaky It is not the "dream" job, other reviews claim it is People can take on too much and not deliver with no consequence CEO can be moody

    Continue reading
    25 people found this review helpful

    Buffer Response

    Director of People

    Hey there, thanks so much for sharing so openly the areas where we have room for improvement. It's really helpful to hear that more structure and policy might be something we could benefit from, as well as working on clear communication and feedback (to fix that feeling of passive aggression you noted). Thank you for caring enough to want to improve things, and for the time you have given to Buffer so far. I hope we can turn things around for you.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Buffer

    Feb 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best company I've ever worked for.

    Cons

    The remote environment isn't for everyone.

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    xyz

    Feb 8, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    it has a collaborative work environment

    Cons

    nothing i can thnk of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Growth Hacker

    Sep 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and awesome team, founders were passionate on the business and growing the team

    Cons

    Lean team back in the days

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    One of the best companies in tech to work for

    Sep 1, 2017 - Engineering Manager in Cape Town
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Buffer is incredibly forward thinking in how they approach work and build products. The no-ego doer value contributes immensely to a humble culture, where people are receptive to feedback and willing to say when they are wrong. Working on the engineering team, the tech challenges were neverendingly stimulating. Working with product managers/designers/customer teams were always a breeze, because we were all rowing towards the same goals. Diversity & inclusion was also hugely important to the team.

    Cons

    Remote working can be challenging for some folk, especially if you're in a tricky timezone.

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Buffer is the future of work

    Jan 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at Buffer is like having one of those jobs you sometimes read about but think "That could never be me, I would never be that lucky!" You feel it in little things, like getting a free Kindle and all the books you can read (such an awesome perk!). And you feel it in the big things, like a team of the kindest, most empathetic and enthusiastic people I've ever met. They want Buffer to succeed and they want YOU to succeed, and you feel it every day. It is a really special feeling, one that I've truly never had before at work and never really expected! Add to all that the ability to work anywhere in the world; the ability to travel if, when, and as much as you want; unlimited vacation (with a *minimum* of 3 weeks/year); generous salaries; fun and interesting work; progressive family leave; and annual paid-for trips to somewhere awesome in the world (South Africa, Iceland, Hawaii, New York, Sydney, Madrid!) to meet up with the team. It's really a dream job. :D

    Cons

    I ended up falling in love with remote work, but it may not be for everyone. :) Buffer is also fairly experimental and radical, with things like our transparent salary formula and self-management experiment, and that might not be the ideal environment for some.

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Life changing

    Jan 5, 2017 - Happiness Hero 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Where to start? Working for Buffer has been a dream come true. I've never met a bunch of people more kind, selfless, empathetic as my teammates at Buffer. I feel I have grown so much as a human being since I start working for Buffer. I could go on & on about the great salary and perks, which are wonderful, but the reason I love working for Buffer is because within moments of starting, these amazing people felt like family. It's crazy to think how close I've become to a group of people, most of whom I've never met in person. Throughout my time at Buffer I've expressed interests in different areas of the company, and have always been encouraged to pursue it. Not once have I shared an idea and felt like it wasn't considered seriously. You're not just an employee when you work for Buffer. Every single person at Buffer has the power, the potential, and the platform to shape the future of the company. I couldn't possibly pick another company I'd rather work for.

    Cons

    The only con I think of is that, because I enjoy my job so much, I often feeling like jumping into work on evenings and weekends (this is never required, suggested, or even hinted at by any of the team leads). This can lead to a lot of hours on the computer, which I enjoy, but can easily become a problem for home life if you're not careful.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A company with heart

    Jan 24, 2017 - Community Champion in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Living and learning by company values, transparent culture, fluid movement within the company (in many areas - we're working on making this more company-wide!), remote working and support for family integration into work life, generous family leave policy

    Cons

    As a "young" company, we're learning and growing constantly and have experienced many different "phases" of our journey: self-management style, hyper-growth to more organic growth, etc. This keeps things interesting but can be tough for some.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Work at Buffer? Share Your Experiences

Buffer logo
or