Buffer Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 21 reviews

4.4
87%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Buffer CEO Joel Gascoigne
Joel Gascoigne
5 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

434

62 Comments

Tech

283.4K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Buffer~941992
Join the conversation on
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great environemnt

    Apr 21, 2022 - SQA Developer in Gené
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work culture and ethics

    Cons

    too much work load and over time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    greAT

    Dec 27, 2021 - Product Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    it was a great job

    Cons

    i couldnt work more there

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Sep 24, 2021 - Head of Partnerships in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a great company to work for - completely remote, amazing work culture and customer focused.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind as a negative!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Super transparent

    Apr 2, 2021 - Vice President Engineering in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The transparency is key especially with everyone remote

    Cons

    No Complaints from me here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Mar 15, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart coworkers, great benefits and high quality product.

    Cons

    Lack of feedback. There is an odd culture of being too positive. The hard real talks were incredibly taboo

    11 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Don't drink the Kool-Aid...

    Oct 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working remotely Seemingly nice people (not all are...some are passive aggressive) Pay is good and transparent Global retreats

    Cons

    People can be fake Upper management can be flaky It is not the "dream" job, other reviews claim it is People can take on too much and not deliver with no consequence CEO can be moody

    Continue reading
    37 people found this review helpful

    Buffer Response

    Director of People

    Hey there, thanks so much for sharing so openly the areas where we have room for improvement. It's really helpful to hear that more structure and policy might be something we could benefit from, as well as working on clear communication and feedback (to fix that feeling of passive aggression you noted). Thank you for caring enough to want to improve things, and for the time you have given to Buffer so far. I hope we can turn things around for you.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Buffer

    Feb 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best company I've ever worked for.

    Cons

    The remote environment isn't for everyone.

    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    xyz

    Feb 8, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    it has a collaborative work environment

    Cons

    nothing i can thnk of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Growth Hacker

    Sep 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and awesome team, founders were passionate on the business and growing the team

    Cons

    Lean team back in the days

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    One of the best companies in tech to work for

    Sep 1, 2017 - Engineering Manager in Cape Town
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Buffer is incredibly forward thinking in how they approach work and build products. The no-ego doer value contributes immensely to a humble culture, where people are receptive to feedback and willing to say when they are wrong. Working on the engineering team, the tech challenges were neverendingly stimulating. Working with product managers/designers/customer teams were always a breeze, because we were all rowing towards the same goals. Diversity & inclusion was also hugely important to the team.

    Cons

    Remote working can be challenging for some folk, especially if you're in a tricky timezone.

    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Work at Buffer? Share Your Experiences

or