Build-A-Bear Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Build-A-Bear Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
53%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Build-A-Bear CEO Sharon John (no image)
Sharon John
181 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The pay was the bare minimum of minimum wage(in 38 reviews)

  • "Especially if you’re looking for something part time in retail(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best workplace going"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bear Builder in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Build-A-Bear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at the Fenwicks concession in Newcastle, and I adored my time at BABW. My beautiful team I hold close to my heart, and management were so welcoming, helpful, and kind - Chris and Julie, you are not only incredible management/leaders, but amazing people! The team are like a close knit family, and every new employee is welcomed with open arms. Every day is so different, and you learn to host parties and get to make such special memories for guests! I loved it.

    Cons

    I don’t have a bad word to say on the company.

    Build-A-Bear2019-11-25
  2. "Christmas Temp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Build-A-Bear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a flexible contract meaning I could fit work around my studies. It’s a fun and different job.

    Cons

    Working over the Christmas period is essential, as it usually is in retail.

    Build-A-Bear2020-02-07
  3. "Good first Job But Not Long Term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Build-A-Bear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good fun, good team community

    Cons

    Poor pay, often a lot of pressure to meet targets

    Build-A-Bear2020-02-01
  4. "Enjoyable but should be paid more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at Build-A-Bear part-time

    Pros

    Fun and there’s something different every day

    Cons

    You work hard and have to constantly be happy/perform for little pay

    Build-A-Bear2019-12-30
  5. "it was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bear Builder in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Build-A-Bear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    some of the staff that i worked wirh were the loveliest people ever and it made my day making people happy by helping them make their new furry friend.

    Cons

    understaffed and i only got paid just enough to get by. i ended up getting lectured on the shop floor for talking to a colleague by a manager who proceeded to do the same when customers were walking in. i offered to do extra hours and i think a lot of the staff and managers abused that.

    Build-A-Bear2019-12-11
  6. "Neutral experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Lead in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Build-A-Bear part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible employer open to your needs and patterns required. Willing to work with you to keep up prior commitments and education studies.

    Cons

    Limit on wages Inaccessible HR for issues Very Focussed of the bottom line over employee

    Build-A-Bear2019-11-25
  7. "Unorganised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Build-A-Bear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team Enjoyable experience

    Cons

    Management team was unorganised

    Continue reading
    Build-A-Bear2019-12-06
  8. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Build-A-Bear part-time

    Pros

    Discount on bears and flexible hours

    Cons

    Boring and very repetitive every day

    Build-A-Bear2019-08-16
  9. "Not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Build-A-Bear full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with kids Working with a lovely team

    Cons

    Working by yourself sometimes Long hours Management does not tell you anything Understaffed Not busy Expected to do the most work to be paid peanuts

    Continue reading
    Build-A-Bear2019-08-02
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 

    I worked at Build-A-Bear part-time

    Pros

    Great management fun environment and everyday is different

    Cons

    Pay isn't great, minimum plus a zero hour contract

    Build-A-Bear2019-07-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 681 reviews