Bupa Reviews

Updated 5 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Bupa CEO Carlos Jaureguizar
Carlos Jaureguizar
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review
    COVID-19

    "Purpose led organisation with customers at the heart of decision making"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Management in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Customer centric organisation, genuinely trying to do the right thing for customers. Whilst its an insurance product, they are really trying to help people get the best care. Really do care about their people, and driving an inclusive agenda.

    Cons

    Sometimes it doesn’t feel as though there is a plan with everyone contributing on anything that personally matters to them. This was different during Covid

    Continue reading

    Bupa Response

    September 2, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to share your positive feedback and recognising that we do care about our people and our customers. We wish you all the best in your current role.

  2. "Amazing work"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Dentist in Bristol, England, England

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great supporting staff Good teamwork Trust Ability to learn more

    Cons

    None so far Salary a bit lowee

    Bupa Response

    April 8, 2021

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's always lovely to hear how our colleagues feel supported by their team! We'd like to thank you for your contribution so far and wish you all the best for your continued career with us!


  3. "Understaffed and unsafe"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Healthcare Assistant in Wolverhampton, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Given Rotas with lots of notice, access to Wagestream app to receive part of wages before payday if needed, free hot meal on 12 hour shift, opportunity to take extra shifts ( although overtime pay was stopped in my particular home so were payed at standard rate.

    Cons

    Majorly understaffed which led to unsafe practice, carers having favourite residents and prioritising their care needs over others leading to some residents receiving less than satisfactory care, incident forms being “lost” or ignored on multiple occasions, carers being put on the floor without having completed any manual handling or safe moving training, on night shift only having one nurse for the whole building with 2 carers - for the nurse to be uncontactable and sleeping in the nurses station!, no management response to MANY serious concerns being raised, frequent changes in management, incorrect pay, poor training.

    Continue reading
  4. "Clinical meets commercial"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive workmates; good pay and benefits (for central office roles at least); flexible working; lots of learning and development opportunities and chances for career progression; people are really passionate about providing great healthcare services.

    Cons

    Hugely complex organisational structure, which means it can be hard to orientate yourself even after a few years. Constant ‘change and transformation’ which can make it hard to feel settled. As with any big organisation, things can feel disjointed between teams. If you’re more healthcare minded than commercial minded, getting on board with the more sales-driven aspects of the business can feel difficult.

    Continue reading

    Bupa Response

    April 29, 2021

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We're all driven by our purpose of helping people live longer, healthier happier lives and making a better world so it's great to see that our passion for providing great healthcare services is shared across your team. We wish you all the best for your continued career at Bupa!

  5. "Fantastic Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bupa full-time

    Pros

    So supportive of all of their staff, Very knowledgeable and they will always push you to take control of your own development

    Cons

    The company is so vast across the world that it can be difficult to communicate with all areas of the business

    Continue reading

    Bupa Response

    May 4, 2021

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's always great to read such positive comments! We wish you all the best for your continued career with us!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointed"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Carer in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time

    Pros

    Overtime available Lovely residents Clean building No more to say No more to say

    Cons

    No support from managers First come, first serve to hot meals (only 4 people allowed out of 9 staff) Supposed to be a carer, but doing all the other job titles in the building No appreciation No help for the team when high number of residents No understanding to sickness or family emergency’s Made to feel guilty of calling to or finishing early because of health NEVER any care or sympathy or interest in your own health by managers, they will never ask if your okay when knowing your struggling to do everything on the floor Attitude towards staff Cover your own shift if you want it off otherwise you won’t get it The list could go on!

    Continue reading

    Bupa Response

    April 19, 2021

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're sorry to hear your experience of working at one of our care homes isn't positive. We take all feedback seriously and would encourage you to use our confidential Speak Up Service for any issues that you don't feel comfortable raising to your manager so any issues can be thoroughly investigated. You'll find the details here: secure.ethicspoint.eu/domain/media/en/gui/102918/index.html

  7. "Best company ever"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Brighton, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bupa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Felexible, compassionate, really put the people at the heart of the business

    Cons

    There isnt any to be honest

    Bupa Response

    May 4, 2021

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's always great to read such positive comments! We wish you all the best for your continued career with us!

  8. "Great company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Member Services Advisor in Salford, North West England, England, England

    I have been working at Bupa full-time

    Pros

    Supportive management, fair pay good pension scheme

    Cons

    Stressful, tough targets, not a lot of time for admin

    Bupa Response

    April 30, 2021

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we wish you all the best for your continued career at Bupa!

  9. "Working at Bupa as an analyst"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Analyst in Manchester, England, England

    I worked at Bupa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and extremly good work life balance

    Cons

    Too much bureaucracy when it comes to the IT infrastructure.

    Bupa Response

    April 27, 2021

    Thanks for your review and your comments, we're really proud of our people focussed environment and flexible culture so we're glad to see you felt the same. We wish you all the best for the future!

  10. COVID-19

    "perks"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Lead Dental Nurse in Poole, England, England

    I have been working at Bupa full-time

    Pros

    great progression with courses etc

    Cons

    pay could be improved especially the hard work that goes on since covid.

    Bupa Response

    April 27, 2021

    Thanks for your review, we wish you all the best for your continued career at Bupa!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 792 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Bupa Job Seekers

Health Advisor
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Bupa? Share Your Experiences

Bupa logo
or