Carbonite Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Carbonite Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 222 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Carbonite CEO Steve Munford (no image)
Steve Munford
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "nice to have free snacks and drinks and great technology in the office(in 25 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is excellent, people rarely stay past 6pm(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "The only way for you to get a promotion is if upper management actually likes you as a person, nothing to do with your resume or how you work(in 15 reviews)

  • "tons of support was handed off to a Jamaican call center for cost reasons, except their support team is extremely lackluster(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time

    Pros

    Carbonite is growing through acquisitions which is giving additional opportunities to existing employees. There is a technology vision which is helping the company become the data protection leader.

    Cons

    No major downsides to working at Carbonite

    Carbonite2019-02-08

    Carbonite Response

    March 4, 2019Director of Talent Management

    Thank you for your review.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good potential but some of the tech is out of date and way behind the competition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time

    Pros

    Some smart tech acquisitions: DoubleTake, EVault, Datacastle Leadership team has a successful track record of building companies Staff views and opinions are valued Work/life balance

    Cons

    Some of the products are a long way behind the competition in several key areas, and these may not be addressed quickly enough to stave off customers switching to other products (this is already happening). Recent acquisitions have led to layoffs. May be more to follow.

    Continue reading
    Carbonite2017-11-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Place to Learn Grow and Succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Lewiston, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere; it is very easy to get along with staff (including management) and everyone is very friendly even when the job can get stressful. I worked as a Consumer Agent, then moved to Business and now I work in Sales, this all took place within the last four years with my most recent position change last summer! The potential to move upward is also accelerated by the fact that all positions are offered internally before the recruiters look externally for those roles. I felt considered for any position I applied for and if I did not get the new role than I was given details on what I needed to improve on. Carbonite provides a lot of "extras" including: Customer Service Week activities, Beer/Juice carts when we succeed or have extraneous tasks to get through, Contests, Awards, Lunch money for your hired anniversary, and a nice budget to spend on the employees through the 'Employee Satisfaction Council' , and so much more. The benefits are great, especially for the area; my entire family has dental, vision, and healthcare plus a Health Savings Accounts for less than what I paid for just healthcare on my own before I came to work here. Employee matched 401K and Stock options are offered right out the door. Not to mention that when I moved from consumer to business I was trained to get the Microsoft certification I needed to be able to speak with my more tech-savvy customers. The attendance policy gives me a TON of PTO, so it is easy for me to take time off for appointments or take a vacation. I highly recommend Carbonite for anyone interested in Technology and growing as a human.

    Cons

    Show up to work! This place counts on you being there due to the nature of the business and if you cannot be counted on than it will catch up with you. I've seen good employees not stick around due to attendance, but as I mentioned above, you are given plenty of PTO to organize your life, you just need to communicate.

    Continue reading
    Carbonite2019-09-05
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time

    Pros

    - Very talented and smart people. Some are very fun to work with. - Flexible work schedule - Interesting projects to work on - Catered lunches

    Cons

    - Organizational chaos and dysfunction. - Poor team communication/silo mentality - Turnover churn

    Continue reading
    Carbonite2019-09-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Fun place to work, could benefit from having more processes and training in place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture and people here at Carbonite are top notch! Open office area where there is constant interaction between the teams. Overall most employees are friendly and willing to help one another. Great benefits and perks, free lunch and breakfast a couple of times a week.

    Cons

    For a company that's been around as long as Carbonite, I'd expect there to be more processes in place, there are quite a few gray areas where employees don't know how to proceed in certain situations. I also think there needs to be more structure for training new employees, some teams rely heavily on shadowing more senior employees, which can be good but shouldn't be the only training received.

    Continue reading
    Carbonite2019-09-04
  6. "The Force is strong with this one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ● They value diversity and the strength it brings to the table. ● Competitive wages. ● Pretty good insurance. ● Catered meals: breakfast on Mondays, lunch on Fridays. ● They celebrate holidays that I've never even heard of. ● Lots of opportunity for self-growth. ● Strong culture of teamwork among your colleagues. ● Drinks once or twice every month, wine, beer, wine coolers, etc. ● Managers are pretty great, straight-forward, easy to relate to, positive, and try their best to help you do your job your best. ● Company asks employees to fill out employee satisfaction surveys every quarter to allow employees to identify things that are going well and going not so well with the company. You get to rate your managers as well. ● Brand new, remodeled floor. ● You could fit a Starship Destroyer in the break room. ● Bathrooms are cleaned multiple times daily. ● Plenty of snacks and drinks for you to get fat on. ● We've got one of those coffee machines that makes like 10 different kinds of coffee beverages. ● Fresh fruit: Apples, oranges, bananas, pears, lemons (?) ● Assorted cereals for breakfast. ● Lots of free parking. ● 100" TV in the break / training room. Tons of flat panel TV's everywhere. ● Pretty fast workstations to work on. ● You get at least 2 monitors, most have 3, some have 4. I saw one person with 6. ● Adjustable motorized standing desks. ● You get your own lockable drawers and a half-height closet locker, also lockable. ● Very nice, comfy, Plantronics BT headset. ● Free Wi-Fi. ● Everything is Star Wars themed! ● We got the top floor of the building, amazing views all around. ● Nap room. ● Two nap rooms, actually. ● Training room that fits probably 75-100 people. ● Pool table, foosball table, ping pong table, arcade games in the break room. ● All kinds of dairy and non-dairy stuff (almond/coconut milk) to put in your cereal / coffee - organic to boot! ● LGBTQ friendly workplace. ● People with disabilities friendly workplace. You won't be stuck on the top floor when the fire alarm goes off and the elevators automatically shut down. ● Very little office politics and BS like that. ● They will pay for your certifications. ● Hard work is generally recognized and rewarded. ● Our tech support tools generally work well but it's not perfect. ● Health benefits start on Day 1. ● Easy to rack up lots of PTO. ● Salaried employees get unlimited PTO. ● Zero tolerance policy towards intolerance/harassment. ● Team building events several times a year, like golf tournament, pool tournament, etc. with gift cards as prizes. ● Monthly opportunities to win gift cards. ● Mentorship emphasized in our corporate culture.

    Cons

    ● Heard one person automated themself out of a job. ● There are some slackers that seem to get away with slacking off, not carrying their own weight. ● I never feel like my job is safe here or that there's any loyalty to their employees. ● Nobody is safe here, don't get too comfortable. ● Not enough men's restrooms. We have probably 150 employees with about 75% of them being male and 1 bathroom. Do the math. ● They could be more diverse with hiring qualified women but this is something every tech company suffers from. ● Too much soda pop! Would like to see more non-sugar drink options. Not sugar-free (ie, with sugar substitute), I mean no sweeteners at all. ● Our chairs are new, but they look better than they feel comfortable. ● Nothing to rave about our keyboards and mice. ● Wish we had wrist and mouse rests, carpal tunnel is a thing! ● People always getting sick around here, flu/colds/etc. ● Product knowledge is deep and complex, you'll still feel like a noob after 6mos. ● We kind of don't have a CEO right now. I really liked Mo. ● There are a few know-it-all bossy types that need to take it down a notch. ● Wish we had more fruit and veggie options. ● They took away all of our Nerf guns. ● Wish they were more centrally located or located in Silicon Slopes. There's a synergistic energy out there.

    Continue reading
    Carbonite2019-09-06
  7. "Best Company Ive worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great Culture -Provides lunch and breakfast on Mondays and Fridays -Snacks and drinks with a fully stocked Kitchen -Management truly cares about your success and ideas. they have an open door policy -great insurance -unlimited PTO -Good pay -Company is growing, great opportunity to move up within the company -Great work life balance

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Carbonite2019-09-06
  8. "Good Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people that I work with are great. I look forward to coming into work and collaborating with them. They have great perks, between feeding us twice a week, and the fun activities they plan for us regularly. The Salt Lake office does a great job of showing appreciation to its employees.

    Cons

    With any company that grows, there is constant change. At times I feel that we change the structure within our company too early before we understand which direction we should go.

    Continue reading
    Carbonite2019-09-06
  9. "Over all good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Agent in Lewiston, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Carbonite full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work group is an amazing group of people. The pay and Benefits are great. Management cares about the employee's and the needs of them. The environment is relaxed but a lot of work. If you can start before October Customer service week is an amazing time and lots of events all week.

    Cons

    At times the information for the future goals and changes are not communicated down the food chain this is one area I would hope gets worked on for the future.

    Continue reading
    Carbonite2019-09-06
  10. "Very Solid Company w/ Excellent Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Carbonite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Carbonite is the best company that I have ever worked for. I rarely feel like I can work for a company for more than a few years, but I really feel like I could work here forever. The benefits are amazing The culture is phenomenal The pay is competitive The teams are productive The company’s outlook is positive

    Cons

    Teams have been adjusted, both in headcount and focus too frequently.

    Continue reading
    Carbonite2019-09-04
Found 222 reviews