Centene Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
59%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Centene Chairman and CEO Michael F. Neidorff
Michael F. Neidorff
762 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centene part-time

    Pros

    Staff are friendly and nice, good working environment.

    Cons

    Not many cons to this job. It’s good hours kind friendly staff and nice working environment

    Continue reading
    Centene2018-07-28
  2. "Growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centene full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing opportunities for career development and growth. Employees care about each other and the community we serve.

    Cons

    No cafe in our building.

    Centene2020-05-26
  3. "Good job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Eligibility Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Centene full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reliable, and lots of work

    Cons

    Not having proper training protocols

    Centene2020-05-26
  4. "Care Coordination"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Coordination 

    I have been working at Centene full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, Friendly, Positive, Driven, Encouraging

    Cons

    communication in some areas could be better.

    Centene2020-05-24
  5. "Great place to grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centene full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A fast growth, dynamic company.

    Cons

    Must be able to quickly adapt.

    Centene2020-05-19
  6. "Good company, but depends on your department"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Care Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centene full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, nationwide, growth potential, benefits

    Cons

    Poor management (hit or miss)

    Centene2020-05-19
  7. "Fast growth and fast paced"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middleware Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centene full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive Salary, Lots of room for growth, good health Benefits

    Cons

    Health Benefit costs on the rise, Can be chaotic at times, Very low bonuses (2-3%) compared to competitors.

    Continue reading
    Centene2020-05-19
  8. "Big lingual Service Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centene full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong Company .Customer.Service Oriented. Rewarding To work for.

    Cons

    Large. Intimidating. Difficult to Join.

    Continue reading
    Centene2020-05-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good company just bad decisions on how to train online."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Centene full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It appears to have good benefits, a reasonable pay for initial onboarding, the basics I would say are comprehensive across the board with any other company.

    Cons

    Working from home seems to be a new venture for this company due to the disfunction of their training time and capabilities. It is my opinion the trainers are new to this as well and have only trained onsite prior to this. It appears their structure is still geared as if you are training on-site. I believe they should take into consideration before you are turned loose. The first week was all about getting the technical glitches out of the way with quipment which bleed over into second week of training. Their are still technical issues but finally at a minimum after 4 weeks. You do not have time to do each training module due to the glitches which restricts your actually practice on how to handle calls. If you are going to train to work from home and your training is done at home, you better be able to catch on fast. This is a cram session to get all of your training completed in a four week time frame.

    Continue reading
    Centene2020-05-13
  10. "Overall good place, some cons"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst II in Clayton, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centene full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible company with work/life balance. Good technology to work with. A lot of interesting projects to keep you on your toes.

    Cons

    Not well organized and a lot of scope creep by management trying to expand their domain.

    Continue reading
    Centene2020-05-16
Found 1413 reviews