Checkout.com Reviews

Updated 21 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Checkout.com Founder / Executive Chairman Guillaume Pousaz
Guillaume Pousaz
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Would highly recommend Checkout as a place to work both professionally and socially(in 7 reviews)

  • "Fast paced company in a great vertical(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is still a lot of place for improvements but Checkout continue to make great efforts to fill them(in 5 reviews)

  • "Very fast-paced so not the place for you if you don't have energy and drive(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to join"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VP Finance and Strategy in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Checkout.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very dynamic company with a huge ambition. Great team of talented & passionated people.

    Cons

    Moving super fast so perfect environment for people ready to work in fast changing environment

    Checkout.com2020-03-09
  2. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Checkout.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Self motivated people. Everyone works beyond their limit without any push from anyone.

    Cons

    Too many meetings, less meeting rooms.

    Checkout.com2020-03-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Checkout.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been at Checkout.com for around a year now and I feel that I have been able to make a difference to the company and really grow my own personal skills. I have been given the opportunity to run my own projects, look after my own team's requirements but also given the tools and support I have needed to succeed. It is a company that very much rewards achievements with a clear career plan and regular salary reviews so you never feel you are stagnant in your career. Would highly recommend Checkout as a place to work both professionally and socially.

    Cons

    Being a start-up there is a lot happening so your job can be very reactive rather than strategic. But this is changing with increasing internal processes and best practices.

    Continue reading
    Checkout.com2020-03-04
  4. "The best place I have ever worked"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Checkout.com full-time

    Pros

    The people make the place. Surrounded by ambitious, energetic and kind colleagues, all striving towards the same goals. An innovative and exciting place to work where no two days are the same and things are always evolving.

    Cons

    Very fast-paced so not the place for you if you don't have energy and drive.

    Checkout.com2020-03-05
  5. "Scaling for success!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Acquisition Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Checkout.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Checkout.com is going through incredible fast paced growth, making the environment exciting and forever changing - you certainly won't be bored! Passionate and likeminded colleagues who are supportive, collaborative and creative. An amazing culture, looked after by a dedicated People Culture team and a People Experience team who organise great company events and maintain the offices. Opportunity for career progression and training supported by the People Development team. Great collaboration between People Acquisition, Technology and Product, with individuals that appreciate and initiate change

    Cons

    Out growing the offices! Not really a con especially with the exciting new office plans

    Continue reading
    Checkout.com2020-03-04
  6. "A business full of passion with its focus still firmly on its people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Checkout.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Checkout.com is continuously trying to improve its already engaging culture. The business's focus still feels firmly on its people, in spite of high growth targets for the year ahead. It's such an exciting time to join the business with amazing projects to work on.

    Cons

    Slight unsurety over what the future looks like as we are growing so quickly.

    Checkout.com2020-02-18
  7. "Startup"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Database Administrator 

    I have been working at Checkout.com full-time

    Pros

    Young, passionate, busy, fast paced

    Cons

    young so lack of processes.

    Checkout.com2020-02-12

    Checkout.com Response

    February 19, 2020Head of People

    Hello, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, at Checkout.com we are constantly on the lookout for ways to better support our team members, so we really appreciate the feedback. We’re really happy to hear you found Checkout.com to be a workplace full of passion whilst you were here, and found the busy and fast-paced environment to be a positive - we care a lot about what we do and always work hard to turn our ideas into reality. As we’ve grown as a business, we’ve tried to introduce processes along the way to ensure everything continues to run smoothly, but we’re sorry to hear from your perspective we could have done with a few more. It’s always a tricky balance with structure, as we still want to give people who want it the freedom/agility to experiment and innovate with new ideas. We did find the 1 star review to be a tiny bit harsh, as we thought you had some lovely things to say about us. If you feel like you could elaborate slightly on your reasoning, do please feel free to reach out - we’re always looking to improve where we can! Thanks, Louis - Head of People

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Overall a good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Checkout.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Interesting domain (payments) - Nice perks such as occasional free lunches, drinks, company trip, parties - “People” team seems better than usual HR at most companies. - Lots of ambitious projects with modern technology (e.g. .NET Core 3.0, DynamoDB). - Twice-yearly reviews

    Cons

    - Non-technical people in product roles is a frequent source of frustration - Some of the longer-serving developers aren’t great

    Continue reading
    Checkout.com2019-12-03
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great company that's growing fast."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Checkout.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The engineering leadership is open to using the latest technologies, latest versions of tools, etc. Teams are given good amounts of freedom to experiment, do R&D, write pocs etc. We've had a bunch of training sessions with Amazon AWS people on recent AWS tech and services. Management seem to actually be good people, friendly, approachable, not micro-managers and so on. Teams are trusted to do the right thing. People team (HR) really try to put on good events and to their credit they are actually quite good. Often good food is provided, drinks, etc. Recently more push towards physical and mental health initiatives (which I think is amazing). Very sociable company in general.

    Cons

    The office is getting packed with all the new hiring (basically impossible to book meeting rooms), although we are moving to a new (and much bigger) office soon so that should be way better. Some growing pains in terms of hiring so fast and trying to expand in every way which makes coordinating on cross team products hard. Communication needs to be better on cross team initiatives. Working with the Mauritius office can be difficult. Communication-wise.

    Continue reading
    Checkout.com2019-11-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Checkout.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - A lot of new greenfield projects - Reasonable freedom to choose technologies yourself, management support for modern technologies - Free snacks, fruit, and beer :)

    Cons

    - Growth pains, sometimes priorities change overnight :)

    Continue reading
    Checkout.com2019-07-25
Found 54 reviews