Citadel Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Citadel Reviews

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Citadel Founder and Chief Executive Officer Ken Griffin
Ken Griffin
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Highest concentration of smart people to learn from(in 35 reviews)

  • "Fast paced environment with no(minimal) red tape(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Difficult to manage work/life balance(in 23 reviews)

  • "Some teams' work life balance isn't too great and do work very long hours(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place with brilliant people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citadel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Everyone is brilliant -Cutting edge technology

    Cons

    -Turnover -Contractors are not treated the same as full time employees

    Citadel2019-12-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citadel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast-paced company with a huge investment in technology. I have had the chance to use a wide variety of open source technology to deliver projects. Very smart and interesting colleagues and an atmosphere that enables you to learn a huge amount very quickly. Big emphasis on technical and financial training, if you're interested in it.

    Cons

    Priorities can change quickly due to the nature of the firm - this can be a challenge but can also provide opportunities.

    Citadel2019-07-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Quantitative Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Researcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citadel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Difficult to manage work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Citadel2019-02-08
  4. Helpful (27)

    "Plenty of smart people but hire and fire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citadel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will learn lots, everyone is smart and have something to teach you

    Cons

    hire and fire, you can be fired for anything. Performance bad ? fired, PM blew up ? fired. Going to the toilet to do your business too much ? fired, say wrong thing to a wrong guy ? fired. Talk too much ? fired. Talk too little ? fired

    Continue reading
    Citadel2018-08-08
  5. "highly intelligent people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citadel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you will work with amazing people and high impact tasks

    Cons

    all good things about my current position.

    Citadel2020-01-05

    Citadel Response

    January 6, 2020Life at Citadel

    We're glad that you're able to build your engineering career at Citadel based on our commitment to giving elite colleagues the freedom to innovate. We will continue to champion a culture where we continually earn the trust of colleagues like yourself and our capital partners. Thank you for your thoughtful review. Feel free to send any other feedback to me, Jonathan Blank (jonathan.blank@citadel.com), and I'll make sure it is sent to the appropriate people.

    Continue reading
  6. "Nice Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citadel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Effective company that gets the work done.

    Cons

    Cut throat environment. High turn over in recruiting.

    Continue reading
    Citadel2020-01-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It's the Special Forces of finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Reliability Engineer Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citadel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You are trusted and expected to tackle problems and provide solutions as you see fit. In other words, you are provided with a lot of "agency" to make decisions about your job. - Compared to other firms I've worked for, if you want to volunteer for a new role, responsibility or project, you are actively encouraged to and rewarded for doing so. There is no "sorry, that's not your job". - The management here is top notch and know both the technology and the business intimately. They consistently make good decisions that take into account what's best for the people, technology and business needs. - Many firms claim they are SRE but in reality are just making developers do support work. Citadel truly believes in the SRE model and actively makes every effort to streamline the process of creating applications and supporting them in the right way.

    Cons

    - Some people are not comfortable with the level of agency provided. They prefer to be told what to do and don't want a lot of freedom. - You are responsible for your career track here which, while I see as a positive, some may see as a negative

    Citadel2019-12-02

    Citadel Response

    December 3, 2019Life at Citadel

    We're glad that you're able to build your career at Citadel based on our commitment to giving elite colleagues the freedom to innovate. We will continue to champion a culture where we continually earn the trust of colleagues like yourself and our capital partners. Thank you for your thoughtful review. Feel free to send any other feedback to me, Jonathan Blank (jonathan.blank@citadel.com), and I'll make sure it gets to the appropriate people.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "High quality work is rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citadel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on projects from start to finish and have a big impact. The organizational structure is flat and you are able to create your own solutions to problems and execute on them. Development cycles are short and you can see the business impact of your work quickly. The business is highly focused on technology and your ability to deliver quality solutions is valued and rewarded.

    Cons

    With the opportunity to create high value work, come high expectations. This is not a place where you can sit back behind the scenes and simply punch tickets.

    Citadel2019-11-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Smart People. Meritocracy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Research Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citadel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been a member of GQS (Global Quantitative Strategies) for several years. Overall, Citadel is a great place to work as a quantitative researcher. You are surrounded by smart people with different expertise and are constantly challenged by different projects. The learning opportunities from managers and colleagues are great. What I value the most is that Citadel truly values and executes meritocracy. Junior members take ownership of their projects and can make a big impact. I’m able to drive results and contribute directly to the business, which are both valuable experiences.

    Cons

    Not necessarily a con, but keeping intellectual property across different teams and units can be little unfamiliar to some researchers or engineers. However, it is inevitable given the nature of business. Overall, I find that the working environment is collaborative.

    Continue reading
    Citadel2019-11-07

    Citadel Response

    November 11, 2019Life at Citadel

    We're glad to hear that you%E2%80%99re building a successful career on the Global Quantitative Strategies team at Citadel. We're committed to empowering elite colleagues, like yourself, to reach your full potential. Based on this commitment, we%E2%80%99ll continue to invest in the resources and culture that you and your colleagues need to succeed. Thank you for being an important member of our team.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citadel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Catered food. Safe work area.

    Cons

    Parking is ridiculously expensive. Illinois is cold, very cold.

    Citadel2019-11-19
Found 3 reviews