Compass Minerals Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Compass Minerals Reviews

Updated 24 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
51%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
Compass Minerals President and CEO Fran Malecha
Fran Malecha
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay does not provide permission to treat people poorly(in 16 reviews)

  • "OK pay and benefits is about only pro(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Minerals

    Pros

    Trying to do the right thing in many places

    Cons

    Weather dependent - used as an excuse

    Continue reading
    Compass Minerals2016-11-30
  2. "NO IDEA ABOUT SALES IN THE 21ST CENTURY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Compass Minerals part-time

    Pros

    First initial impressions are great

    Cons

    You soon become a number and they are living in the 1980's and very slow to move forward

    Continue reading
    Compass Minerals2015-11-18
  3. "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Still operating during pandemic period.

    Cons

    You can’t advance unless you are part of the good old boys network. They say they have culture and values but they do not act like it.

    Compass Minerals2020-03-24
  4. "Great place to be berated and belittled dalay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Heavy Equipment Operator in Ogden, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Okay pay, you'll meet some good people there.

    Cons

    Supervisors are trained to berate employees delay and look for every opportunity to embarrass you in front of your coworkers. This is the place where you will get injured and the safety policy will change in support of the employer and you will be terminated. The safety policy will be modified to write you up at anytime and even for following the instructions of your supervisor. The rotating shifts really make this place horrible as you'll always be driving home tired putting yourself and others at risk. And don't ever call in sick you'll find yourself terminated over a single illness. If you ask me RUN AWAY from this company your life and you are worth more.

    Continue reading
    Compass Minerals2020-03-17
  5. "job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Logistics Coordinator 

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time

    Pros

    year round work if you want a job

    Cons

    you must work in all weather conditions

    Compass Minerals2019-12-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Don’t be fooled by the window dressing.... unbiased and written to help not hurt your employment selection"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Agronomist in Old Alabam, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Compass Minerals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair pay, knowledgeable co-workers Great Product manager (if you are wondering if this is you - you’re not the right person) you know who you are KL!

    Cons

    unrealistic goals for outdated water soluble products. Extremely poor middle management (not all - but your rolling the dice as to what region and/or ABM you get). KPIs - NEWS FLASH*** You will be micro-managed Limited partners TURNOVER RATE (10 people in less than 2 years **Agriculture side of business... ranging from upper management to sales) Plenty more cons however, if you’re still thinking of working here I’m wasting my time elaborating :)

    Continue reading
    Compass Minerals2020-01-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Plant Nutrition side is very unstable with no direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Compass Minerals full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, met some good people, sales reps are good people, allowed me to show my talents and go to work for a much more stable company

    Cons

    Management- bought a company for $485,000,000 with no direction on how to penetrate the market and compete directly with proprietary products of companies they want you to sell too. It is crammed down your throat everyday to move a product with no help from the top. They hire people to sell fertilizers that have no fertility experience and don't train them. The most difficult part of agriculture is understanding fertility and they hire people with no experience which isn't surprising because management has no fertility experience or knowledge at all. I said at all but they make $400-500,000 a year with bonuses that are unreal. I think the plany nutrition side will be gone in a year, VP left to go to work in construction, construction. He had no fertility experience either.

    Continue reading
    Compass Minerals2020-01-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Give it time and see if they stabilize"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Compass Minerals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits; Mostly great people at the sites beyond headquarters; Middle managers who remain want to do the right thing.

    Cons

    Significant senior leadership turnover means who knows what's next? Everyone is in CYA mode; no trust among leaders (and with good reason); "grown ups" have moved on.

    Continue reading
    Compass Minerals2019-10-11
  9. Helpful (5)

    "state of upheaval and instability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Compass Minerals full-time

    Pros

    good benefits and fair pay

    Cons

    influx of new upper management from coal industry, unclear direction, many valuable employees jumping ship, feeling insecure about "new direction".

    Compass Minerals2019-08-23
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Compass Minerals

    Pros

    OK pay and benefits is about only pro.

    Cons

    Poorly managed company, particularly at executive level. Now on third CEO in last six years. Creates a chaotic environment with lack of consistent and coherent strategy.

    Compass Minerals2019-06-22
Found 112 reviews