Constant Contact Reviews

Updated 25 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
57%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Constant Contact Chief Operating Officer Kim Simone
Kim Simone
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "They even have a beer cart on friday and offer amazing benefits(in 47 reviews)

  • "There are great people who work there(in 44 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is no room to grow because the people that started as Constant Contact employees and not Endurance are the ones in manager/team lead roles(in 26 reviews)

  • "You can tell upper management does not think about you at all(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The employees are the glue to this company."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience Designer in East Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Constant Contact full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employees here are caring, kind and genuinely wants to see you succeed. They are the reason that makes it a joy to come to work everyday.

    Cons

    The pay here use to be competitive, now they seem like they won't match it and rather let you walk away. Employees who have been with the company longer should also get a pay raise increase, there shouldn't be a reason where a new hire gets priority.

    Constant Contact2020-05-25
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Cutthroat Office Environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Engagement Specialist in Loveland, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Constant Contact full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Breakfast on Mondays, Beer Cart on Fridays, food trucks on site regularly.

    Cons

    Metrics change at a moments notice, and some of the expectations that are placed on the shoulders of support agents can be unrealistic at times. Since the Endurance acquisition, the company's turnover rate has increased significantly. It used to be a great place to work. Now, not so much. There aren't many opportunities for career advancement overall, however, I feel like the company is working on that with the addition of new service and departments that are being added to the company's trajectory. There are also some deep-seeded issues with office bullying that upper-management chooses not to address, in addition to issues with cis white male privilege as well. This is apparent in how office relationships function, and how promotions and opportunities for career advancement are decided. I was harassed as an employee by several people on the SinglePlatform team, and have been harassed on 3 separate occasions by three separate individuals, including a project manager/my former boss since leaving. It's an environment where individuals tear each other down regularly instead of building each other up to get ahead of one-another. If you don't want to participate in building friendships in the office, then you have no opportunities for career advancement there. I can say with confidence as well that opportunities for career advancement are not readily given to LGBTQ+ folks, or to women either. I have watched many LGBTQ+ folks and women be passed up for promotions by lesser qualified straight men. I can even reference one instance in particular in which a cis male employee was promoted to team lead without even having to be a part of an interview process, which does not fit the company's policy regarding promotions.

    Continue reading
    Constant Contact2020-04-26
  3. "Good starting job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Constant Contact full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and culture that drives hard work ethic. There’s also beer cart on Friday’s and breakfast on Monday’s.

    Cons

    A lot of rapid changes in management/company structure. Must be willing to adapt.

    Constant Contact2020-03-29
  4. "Great"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Account Review Specialist 

    I worked at Constant Contact full-time

    Pros

    Great team to work with

    Cons

    Nothing great place to work

    Constant Contact2020-03-13
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Endurance Acquisition Ruined the Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engagement Specialist in Loveland, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Constant Contact full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beer Cart Fridays Breakfast on Mondays

    Cons

    As soon as Endurance purchased the company, things went downhill fast. The customer support department was expected to start upselling additional products despite that not being a requirement in the interview process. This demoralizes the entire floor and two Senior Support Managers are unaware of the struggle this causes and don't care. Additionally, opportunities for advancement are not available to women and/or LGBTQ+ individuals. In fact, for the year and a half I worked there, every single supervisor hired was a straight white male. A few of those hired were completely incompetent and only got the position because their only competent competition were women. Finally, Constant Contact has only had one positive revenue quarter in the last five years. The one positive quarter they had was only because they sold SinglePlatform to Trip Advisor for over 50 million dollars. Do not work here if you can avoid it. It is not worth your time.

    Continue reading
    Constant Contact2020-04-14
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Frat house meets puppy mill meets red bull"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Sales Representative in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Constant Contact full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Except where expressly stated, this review is mainly for the Waltham Inside Sales dept. For a sales org, the vacation policy is pretty nice. 4 weeks off total you can take, but what's really cool is that you get an adjustment on your goal for the month that you took vacation along with a much much smaller adjustment for the following month (to compensate for the leads you didn't get during your vaca that you obviously won't be able to close the following month). Coming from the car industry, where you get about 4 hours off per year total, the vacation policy here I found very refreshing. This one isn't so much about the company per se, but rather the people I've worked with tend to be good. Some are shady, sure, but most are generally good. There's a lot of opportunity to build a network that you can use later on. The company may look at employees as numbers before names, but the individuals you work with very well may care, and may help. When top dogs leave the organization, make sure you stay in touch. If you're new to sales or just a little xp, this role will develop you. Only as individual contributor, not a leader, manager, mentor, or anything else. But if your only goal is to get better as a sales rep, this job will certainly help. At least for the first 6-9 months.

    Cons

    Super opaque communications around employee development. If you work here, please ask about the "nine box" - the "secret managerial grading rubric that higher-ups use to determine how, or even if, you ever advance. After grinding for a year I applied, and was rejected, for an internal opportunity but encouraged to reapply when another position opened up. 6 months later it did, I reapplied, and the hiring process got strung out for another 4 months. HR offered vague deflections and no explanations. Sure, it would've been nice to be able to achieve my goals there, but my biggest hang up is that I might have been able to if management didn't try hide their evaluation of my skill set or performance. It's like driving with your eyes closed, some people do make it to their destination but most crash. Going back to the whole grind thing, it really really is. When I was there part of a rep's daily requirement aside from generating actual sales, were logging activities. 240 minutes (or 4 hours) out an 8 hour work day needs to be on the phone with a customer (not even dialing but actually on the phone). If you make fewer than 60 calls in a day you better have stellar sales to show for it, otherwise the issue is clearly your effort and they flick you on the nose (metaphorically). This one could be a pro for some, loud music. Super loud, all the time. If there were a 1:1 relationship between decibels and goal attainment, or between acoustic energy and emotional energy, they'd be at 200% of goal every month. I can't tell you how many deals I've lost, customers who've hung up on me citing the background noise as the reason. There's a huge "rah rah" atmosphere. You'll get about 10, caps lock on, "let's go!" emails per day. There have also been more than a handful of ethical conflicts of interest too. Like reps, managers get paid off the % attainment to monthly goal, and are very financially motivated to see high numbers from the individuals who compose their team. When these individuals step outside the ethical lines to artificially inflate their numbers (for instance selling a customer on a month to month subscription in month 1, getting a sale for that month, and then reselling that same customer an annual subscription on month 2 or 3, which generates 2 sales for 1 customer, etc.). Now why does it matter to you if Joey over there is making twice as much as you? It doesn't, except that performance is scaled to the whole department, things like only the top x% of reps get a promotion mean that cheaters just make more work for everyone else. A lot of times in sales you have to find that ethical line and not cross it. You're close to hitting goal, and you're talking with a prospect who maybe isn't a good fit but you need their money, and they trust you enough to take the step if you advise them to. It's all about the adds, getting sales, not really about getting customers. This one isn't necessarily a con. The job has an expiration date. It's the exact same thing, every day, every day, every day. After 6 months or so, if you trust your manager, start talking with him or her about what good next steps might be for you. Get in front of the burnout and ennui, before it starts to affect your performance. The messaging from management is sometimes contradictory too. Like with weather emergencies you'll be officially told that safety is their top concern, and in the same breath they'll say that "you don't have to, but I'm coming in. I know a bunch of other people are coming in too. Don't feel like you have to, but literally everybody is working in the office today." Yes this is an exaggeration, but not by much and the mixed messaging is 100% true. Going back to sales being in a silo, the sales team is very discouraged from any company events or activities that take time off the phones. Halloween party where everyone's invited? Nope! Get back on the phones. Hey we got a monthly masseuse coming in as a benefit for our employees, let's tell the whole company about it. Psyche! Back on the phones. Had a tough day and taking a 40 minute lunch? Are you out of your mind! Do you want the company to go under?! If you're there, and you want to succeed, just drink the rah rah koolaid. Send out the caps lock emails. Maybe a Michael Jordan quote or something. Internalize the culture and regurgitate it everywhere. Be seen talking about the virtues of the elements of the sales success map.

    Continue reading
    Constant Contact2020-03-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at Constant Contact full-time

    Pros

    Awesome people, great product, drive to overachieve

    Cons

    Lots of change on a moments notice

    Constant Contact2020-03-03
  8. Helpful (6)

    "No empathy for personal tragedy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Loveland, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Constant Contact full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot that I did not know before.

    Cons

    Nothing out of the ordinary. Only one thing that blew if for me. My father became so ill I was called home. I did not leave his side as I was not sure when he was going to go. I advised my supervisor that I did not know when I would be back and that I should be taken off the schedule. So, she proceeds to hound me with texts anyhow about when I would be returning to work, when I don't respond, she then tells HR I am abandoning my job.

    Continue reading
    Constant Contact2020-03-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place if you match the energy!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Consultant in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Constant Contact full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People want to see you succeed. Sales targets are reachable. The support of managers and tech are great. Ping pong tables, free soda, happy hour Friday. Good Culture.

    Cons

    Email marketing is a big of a crowded industry and Constant Contact being one of the larger companies can't pivot as fast therefore the product can be a bit behind.

    Continue reading
    Constant Contact2020-02-24
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Sorry, I wouldn't recommend"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Specialist in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Constant Contact full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    beer cart, occasional food, new friends

    Cons

    They don't treat you like a person. Very limited opportunity, they record your computer screen and personal conversations.

    Continue reading
    Constant Contact2020-03-18
Found 409 reviews