Continental Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Continental Reviews

Updated 8 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
54%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Continental Chairman Executive Board, Finance, Controlling, IT, and Law; Powertrain Elmar Degenhart
Elmar Degenhart
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "The best place ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Embedded Software Engineer in Birmingham, England

    I have been working at Continental full-time

    Pros

    It is one of the best companies I have ever worked for.

    Cons

    It is hard to find cons.

    Continental2020-03-10
  2. "Powertrain engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Powertrain Engineer in Crewe, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Continental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary for North-west England. Overtime.

    Cons

    No wedding time off which is available in most large companies.

    Continue reading
    Continental2020-03-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "UK Redundancies, Frequent Restructuring. Steer Clear!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bridgwater, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Continental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You work for a well known company so it's something that may look good on your CV

    Cons

    Decisions often made outside of UK. Technical Experts are not listened to so products are generally flawed. Overloaded with project and product managers and too few engineers. Management culture is to cover one's own back and to move up the ladder asap. Redundancies are being made to experienced engineers however locations with project managers have been unaffected. Only offer minimum legal redundancy to workers with 20+ years service which for a company with the resources of continental is unbelievable. I'm fortunate that i managed to find another job quickly but others have not been. Engineers receive very little training and are generally pigeonholed on to one project. I worked on only two different projects in 7 years and I had to lodge complaints in order to change projects as I was not getting any opportunities for new work. Bad communication between UK sites.

    Continue reading
    Continental2020-01-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good but could do more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Burgess Hill, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Continental full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work Opportunities to travel Reasonable salary Flexible working

    Cons

    Benefits are below average compared to other companies

    Continue reading
    Continental2019-11-07
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Culture of backstabbing is being promoted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burgess Hill, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Continental full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Part of the big group

    Cons

    A long list and getting longer

    Continental2019-12-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Nothing special"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Vision Engineer in Burgess Hill, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Continental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really friendly and experienced engineers Development opportunities Everyone is helpful and kind New Location

    Cons

    Pout Benefits Really bureaucratic mid-level management Nowhere near to any German Conti location (feels like a totaly different company) Pour holiday allowance and pension contribution

    Continue reading
    Continental2019-09-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Aftermarket Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aftersales Manager in Lewes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Continental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, innovative business and flexible working

    Cons

    Hierarchical structure, with little respect for experience or knowledge. Voices go up heard

    Continental2019-03-23
  8. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lewes, England
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Continental full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly staff and good local managers (things seemed relatively calm!). I was able to maintain a reasonable work-life balance. The possibility to travel and work abroad, if desired. Potential to be involved with interesting projects. The location seems to be growing rapidly (always hiring new staff, and not too many leaving) Nice location. Flexible hours, and possible to work from home occasionally, if needed.

    Cons

    The method of working (Continuous Integration with Agile Scrum) feels a little chaotic. Of course, I'm not that keen on Agile Scrum, but that's my own opinion! I worried that a lot of my work would be wasted because of a culture of always working towards demos. I found the work a little too basic.

    Continental2018-11-29
  9. "Resident Engineering Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Engineering Manager in Basildon, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Continental full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Freedom to act on own initiative, employee tyre discount, company car allowance

    Cons

    Lack of support, no clear direction, trapped between customer and company.

    Continue reading
    Continental2018-10-22
  10. "Great Organisation To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Team in Lewes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Continental full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong first impressions Great People To Work With Exciting and Innovative Products Flexi Time/Work-life Balance

    Cons

    No onsite parking so short walk required

    Continue reading
    Continental2018-07-21
Found 1261 reviews