Costa Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Costa Reviews

Updated 9 December 2018
704 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Costa Managing Director Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
48 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Can be really hard and long hours" (in 58 reviews)

  • "It is very hard work as you get promoted, pay wasn't always great (although I think this has since changed)" (in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good if you don't work for a franchise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Liverpool, England
    Current Employee - Barista in Liverpool, England

    I have been working at Costa part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    good pay above minimum wage, good progression opportunities, good for students also as the shifts are flexible

    Cons

    franchises don't treat you well and overwork you, whilst trying to get away with underpaying you

    Costa Response

    14 Nov 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to... More


  2. "Assistant Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Interact with a lot of people from many background.
    Learn the drinks and coffee standards
    Opportunity for progression, when you work hard and is able to adapt.
    Discount at otjer costa sites

    Cons

    Adapt to changes in the business
    It gets very busy and overwhelming.
    You'll interact with rude people from time to time.
    Mamagement needs improvements

  3. "Pros, cons for part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Costa part-time

    Pros

    The people who work there are usually very nice and customers are often nice to talk to. Discounts on food and drink is a plus.

    Cons

    When it is busy it can be very exhausting. Sometimes you get very rude customers who are hard to deal with. Sometimes staff don't respect you as much as you are part time.

    Costa Response

    6 Dec 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa


  4. "Excellent place to work alongside studies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Cardiff, Wales
    Current Employee - Barista in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible and understanding management when fitting work around school/university studies

    Cons

    Can be physically tiring and some stores can be poorly run

    Costa Response

    6 Dec 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us


  5. "Costa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time

    Pros

    This is a good part time job for a student.

    Cons

    They focus only on how much you promote the alternate type of coffee bean rather than overall performance.

    Costa Response

    28 Nov 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us


  6. "Area Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility, good colleges

    Cons

    Nothing ever landed. Reactive, focus changes all the time.


  7. "Good but management was terrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in London, England
    Former Employee - Barista in London, England

    I worked at Costa (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free drinks during shift
    50% off out of shift

    Cons

    Progress is very slow not matter how committed you are.
    Training to deliver quick coffee rather than good quality coffee.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on quality and time - not just time. Otherwise there will be customer complaints

  8. "Mostly Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista Maestro in Sevenoaks, England
    Former Employee - Barista Maestro in Sevenoaks, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good pay per hour for a part-time job while studying
    Good range of things to do at work so it isn't too monotonous
    Free drinks and half price food while on shift
    Discount card for other costas with 25% discount
    Good career development opportunities

    Cons

    Sometimes found that the in-store manager would care more about how well costa was doing rather than employees. I put this down to the bonus managers get depending on how well the store does. My manager would keep labour really tight, even when we needed more people on so that she could save on labour costs. She got a massive bonus at the end of the year, however, myself and many of the employees I worked with felt this was unfair as many shifts had been made unnecessarily difficult for us in order for her to get her bonus.

    Costa Response

    28 Nov 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.


  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Costa part-time

    Pros

    there was free coffee to drink

    Cons

    there were long shift hours

    Costa Response

    28 Nov 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa


  10. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Luton, East of England, England
    Current Employee - Barista in Luton, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Decent amount of benefits
    Alright pay

    Cons

    Most stores are a mess and its not nice to work in
    Company doesnt really care about staff and expect them to be able to do a lot
    Barely any staff, and barely any hours to have enough staff in at once

    Advice to Management

    Need more hours to have staff
    Listen to employees because they know what its like to work in the stores now

    Costa Response

    6 Dec 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.