Costa Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Costa Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 928 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
102 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "cleaning and long hours someties(in 67 reviews)

  • "No cons unless you dislike hard work and a busy fast environment(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working for costa coffee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay , team

    Cons

    Very busy at times , which is hard when there are only 2 people on shift

    Costa2019-07-26

    Costa Response

    August 13, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  2. "Nice professional environment for work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista in Glasgow, Scotland

    I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, hours are fine, good schedule system

    Cons

    Management needs to be more hands on

    Costa2019-09-12
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista 

    I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary Flexible hours Management are approachable and friendly

    Cons

    Can get very hectic Not always enough staff working to cope with demand

    Advice to Management

    Employ more people for busy times

    Costa2019-09-11
  4. "Costa Coffe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It´s okey if the place is not busy

    Cons

    A lot of work in very little time

    Costa2019-09-11
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Telford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff and management. Very chilled work place. different every day.

    Cons

    Short breaks on long shifts

    Advice to Management

    Na

    Costa2019-09-07
  6. "Costa Coffee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member 

    I worked at Costa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary Best coffee and cakes

    Cons

    Lots of work to do

    Costa2019-08-30
  7. "7 years of costa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay Free coffee Always the chance to progress

    Cons

    Not enough labour allocated Business has lost its passion

    Costa2019-08-30
  8. "Complex workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Your coworkers are all friendly. So you make easy great bonds between each other. - You get to know regular customers and they become like your extended family.

    Cons

    - Your hour's arent always provided. - Your hours may be changed with little notice, as they will sometimes call you in early at the begging of the morning of the day of your shift. - They don't always give you your employee discount card after being there an elongated amount of time and you inquiring about it. - They don't always listen when you state days you're unavailable.

    Costa2019-09-11
  9. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista 

    I worked at Costa part-time

    Pros

    good colleagues; people were mostly happy

    Cons

    poor turnover owing to busy culture

    Costa2019-09-12
  10. "A frustating but okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Barista 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of extra hours available if wanted. 50% discount on food when working- 25% when not working (only in your own store), Never boring always busy

    Cons

    Long 10-12 hour shifts with only 20 minute break, super busy all the time so very tiring, Terrible management (in my store at least), guilt tripping you into hours you may not want to do just because you had time off the week before for example, No share of tips for 11 months until I found out other co-workers were getting a share of tips (but I was given a bit of money to make up for this), Training is... non-existent- you start off cleaning and work your way up but no one tells you how to do these things you have to keep asking to be taught. Under staffed often- for example managers would rota us for 2 people to close when it should be 3 people. Rota comes out every week but on a Thursday so you have no idea when you are working until Thursday (making it difficult to plan for the weekend for example)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps use the new online training to its full potential by providing some additional real life training to accompany it.

    Costa2019-09-11
Found 928 reviews