Costa Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Costa Reviews

Updated 18 October 2018
663 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Costa Managing Director Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
40 Ratings

663 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Can be really hard and long hours" (in 57 reviews)

  • "It is very hard work as you get promoted, pay wasn't always great (although I think this has since changed)" (in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Costa Coffee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    costa has great staff with a professional environment.
    you have the joy of speaking to lovely customers all day and are rewarded constantly

    Cons

    can be stressful if youre not organised but staff will help you as you learn the role

    Advice to Management

    training should be more efficient and more hands on so they get a feel for the pace of the role

    Costa Response

    11 Sep 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the interaction with our incredible customers.
    Our industry is very demanding and being busy is the best... More


  2. "Fun but busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Warrington, North West England, England
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fun, hard work, decent pay

    Cons

    Very busy and under staffed

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people and help your employees

  3. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time

    Pros

    You get a good discount, you meet different people and you learn good customer service skills.

    Cons

    pay is minimum wage at the time I was 16 so it was £3.87.
    Owner was not a nice man

    Advice to Management

    organisation is key and having a contingency plan for sickness and incidence is good to have for back up

    Costa Response

    17 Oct 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.


  4. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Costa part-time

    Pros

    Free drinks and a meal on shift,

    Cons

    Issues with pay on occasion


  5. "Cafe Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Good work environment, friendly bosses.

    Cons

    Busy workload, lacklustre discipline and minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    More structure to grievance issues and positive reinforcement.

    Costa Response

    3 Oct 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to... More


  6. "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Glasgow, Scotland
    Current Employee - Barista in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great team of people I work with. The job in itself is good fun. Regular customers are a treat and has been lovely getting to know them.

    Cons

    Short staffed, low morale, high level of staff sickness and turnover. Upper (regional) management cutting costs/reducing hours in order to save money but expecting more from you. No thanks given.

    Costa Response

    17 Oct 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us


  7. "Not a great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    develop team work skill, customer service skills, communication skills

    Cons

    lack of support to employees ( poor training and development system ) , recognition for hard word

    Advice to Management

    improve training and development system,

    Costa Response

    17 Oct 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to... More

  8. "Minimum wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Costa full-time

    Pros

    Manager is nice and willing to teach

    Cons

    Too low wage and long working hour

    Costa Response

    17 Oct 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us


  9. "Long hours and little notice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    Quick hiring process and no experience required

    Cons

    Long hours
    Little notice when called for work

    Costa Response

    10 Oct 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process.


  10. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista
    Former Employee - Barista
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Not great, Okay job for part time students to earn money

    Cons

    Management not great, not a lot of training provided, not great pay or hours

    Costa Response

    10 Oct 2018 – Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We wish you every success for the future


Showing 663 of 680 reviews
Reset Filters