Costa Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Costa Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 798 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Dominic Paul
Dominic Paul
71 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good pay, plenty of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good pay -Flexible hours, especially if working a second job or being student -Extra benefits and bonuses for hitting targets -Company looks after you

    Cons

    -Hours may not be regular -Every store has different management strategies and atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    -Store managers need to be more standardised so stores are run in the same way, to policy

    Costa2019-04-02

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

  2. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Costa part-time

    Pros

    Quick career progression, good reward and recognition and great barista skills programme where you have the opportunity to learn lots about coffee and challenge yourself eg barista of the year competition. Good discount and employee perks

    Cons

    A lot of overtime is expected even as a part time employee, pay for franchise stores is minimum wage compared to stores owned by whitbread

    Advice to Management

    Ensure employees are flexible before hiring to ensure they can work the hours that running the stores demand

    Costa2019-04-11

    Costa Response

    April 17, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve

  3. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Costa

      Pros

      Nice salary, atmosphere depends on the team.

      Cons

      Work under pressure a lot of standard

      Advice to Management

      Give more flexibility

      Costa2019-04-09

      Costa Response

      April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

    • "Solid job for someone looking for part time work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Barista in Telford, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Costa part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly Atmosphere Good people Good pay for the role

      Cons

      Not much room for progression but it's a coffee house at the end of the day, there's only so far you can go.

      Advice to Management

      Nothing really, maybe some non-monetary staff benefits?

      Costa2019-04-10

      Costa Response

      April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa

    • "Costa Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Costa part-time

      Pros

      Fun team, enjoyable. Customer Service skilled learns Got to gain more responsibility

      Cons

      Sometimes having not enough people on the shop floor and having to manage too much work.

      Costa2019-04-05

      Costa Response

      April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process.

    • "barista maestro"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Costa part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      good pay, good development opportunities

      Cons

      very money orientated business, CSR 'values' are unreliable,

      Advice to Management

      invest more into PR and refurb of stores.... they never want to refurbish veeery old stores

      Costa2019-04-04

      Costa Response

      April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

    • "barista"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Costa part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      good to study and work

      Cons

      Well work in the Costa

      Costa2019-04-01

      Costa Response

      April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

    • "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager in Bromsgrove, England

      I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The job is very good and challenging Great experience Flexible hours Great bonus potential

      Cons

      The individual person is not valued

      Costa2019-04-02

      Costa Response

      April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

    • "Very Stressful and Miserable Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Barista in Liverpool, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Costa part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Free drinks during your shifts

      Cons

      Small shops are only busy during lunch times, so can be extremely boring Expected to come in during university lesson times, complained about if you don't - even if you've already explained you cannot work at those times Unhelpful senior members of staff Training very minimal and even then irrelevant Punishment for being sick is to remove all the next shifts for the week.

      Advice to Management

      When you accept a student into a part-time barista you cannot expect them to stop attending their studies to do full-time shifts. If you take no time out of the numerous chances to teach said part-timer how to make drinks and then complain that they aren't helpful by making drinks during busy periods. No one can predict if they're going to be very sick one day - the solution to that employee calling in to let you...

      Show More
      Costa2019-04-16

      Costa Response

      April 17, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve

    • Helpful (1)

      "Good but short staffed"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Barista 
      Recommends
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Costa part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -good pay if under 25 as don't discriminate on age which I think is fair -good staff discount and free drinks -online training available

      Cons

      -NOT ENOUGH STAFF. Queues out the door and having to do multiple jobs at once. You lose so so so many customers because of long queues, when costa could just hire another barista for £8? Inevitable mistakes are also made under this pressure -because of this lack of staff always stuff that needs doing and can become tiring and stressful

      Advice to Management

      Costa seriously need to accept that it is in their interest to hire more staff because the queues are just too long and you lose customers because of this.

      Costa2019-04-13

      Costa Response

      April 17, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

      Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve

    Found 798 reviews