Costa Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Costa Reviews

Updated 15 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Jill McDonald
Jill McDonald
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good colleagues; Free Drinks; Half price food(in 100 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, especially if working a second job or being student(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours due to staff sickness that effects whole team(in 84 reviews)

  • "A lot of overtime is expected even as a part time employee, pay for franchise stores is minimum wage compared to stores owned by whitbread(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun with good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Barista 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great job during University, flexible working hours.

    Cons

    As with all these types of jobs, the workload can sometimes be overwhelming on busy days - especially if staff are sick. At least there's lots of coffee.

    Costa2020-01-03
  2. "very good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - good pay - opportunities to move up the ladder in the company -lots of incentives

    Cons

    the role is very labour intensive and often we are understaffed

    Costa2020-02-13
  3. "Good just looking for my next chapter in life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Costa

    Pros

    The team is your family

    Cons

    Not enough hours to work

    Continue reading
    Costa2020-02-14
  4. "b"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier/Barista 

    I have been working at Costa part-time

    Pros

    Easy, decent enough wage for type of work, feelgood points

    Cons

    customers can sometimes be annoying/demanding

    Costa2020-02-12
  5. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Bournemouth, England

    I have been working at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's an interesting job that can be fast paced and hard work but the customers are generally really nice, you get to know your regulars

    Cons

    Very performance based and they come down hard on your store if not performing to targets regardless of any improvement or how much you try to hit targets.

    Costa2020-02-09
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Costa Barista in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee for staff every day.

    Cons

    Long hours which can be difficult.

    Continue reading
    Costa2020-02-08
  7. "Great staff, great customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista 

    I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff were supportive and worked well together as a team. Customer relationships are great and a friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Work can be difficult at peak times as there is a lot to manage, but generally with experience it does get easier!

    Costa2020-02-07
  8. "Good conpany work like balance not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Worcester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing teams ive worked with Learnt alot Good fundraising and chance to give back to the community.

    Cons

    Wirk life balance is not very good Hard to progress and oppurtunities are very limited

    Costa2020-02-04
  9. "Was alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant, Retail 

    I have been working at Costa part-time

    Pros

    Free Coffee on shifts and after

    Cons

    Poor management and longer hours than wanting

    Costa2020-02-04
  10. "Best coffee shop of the year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great bonuses and 30 days holiday

    Cons

    No breaks for six hour shifts

    Continue reading
    Costa2020-02-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1092 reviews