DRW Reviews

Updated 14 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
DRW Founder & CEO Donald R. Wilson, Jr.
Donald R. Wilson, Jr.
50 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very little collaboration with traders(in 10 reviews)

  • "If you are very early in your career or if you want to have a very good work/life balance, this is a good company(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Trader"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at DRW full-time

    Pros

    You're always working with smart people and the offices are pretty great.

    Cons

    Discretionary bonus structure can be opaque and abused by managers if left unchecked.

    Continue reading
    DRW2018-07-13

    DRW Response

    July 30, 2018Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Our people are truly our greatest asset at DRW, and we’re happy to hear you enjoyed working with intelligent colleagues. While our compensation structure does provide flexibility to reward high performing employees, we also understand that the process to determine discretionary bonuses may seem opaque. Thank you for your feedback.

  2. "Great for responsibility, good for money"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High degree of responsibility early on. Steep learning curve in the market, but support on that front is good.

    Cons

    Atomised trading units, communication between teams is not encouraged. This is positive in the sense that you live and die by your own performance, however it leaves the feeling that there are missed opportunities to share experience, expertise and tech in a way that is mutually beneficial.

    DRW2019-05-31

    DRW Response

    September 6, 2019Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your experience at DRW on Glassdoor. We’re happy to hear you felt supported during your onboarding to the firm. We are continually looking at ways to allow for thoughtful communication between teams, and see this as an area of focus for leadership.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Strong company"

    4.0
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW

    Pros

    Good compensation, firm has strong risk appetite

    Cons

    Not the most collaborative environment

    DRW2018-12-01

    DRW Response

    May 3, 2019Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback and experience at DRW on Glassdoor.

  4. "Good Company w good name to trade on the back of"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DRW

    Pros

    Smart forward thinking people, respectable name

    Cons

    can be difficult to advance on certain desks. Legacy desk heads in some ways

    DRW2017-11-21

    DRW Response

    December 4, 2017Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience. Giving people opportunities to grow really matters at DRW, and we’re glad to hear the barriers to this aren’t widespread. It will remain an area of focus for us.

  5. "Good place for self-motivated individuals"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in Singapore

    I worked at DRW full-time

    Pros

    One can get access to good resources and subscriptions for research. Environment is fast paced and flexibility on work hours.

    Cons

    A lot depends on your individual team and sometimes internal politics can be detrimental to growth/output.

    DRW2020-03-15

    DRW Response

    May 12, 2020DRW moderator

    Thanks for the honest assessment. Our values certainly reflect our trust in our employees to seek new challenges, contribute in expected and unexpected ways and to challenge each other to think in new ways. We’re sorry you encountered some internal road blocks, but we appreciate you calling it out.

  6. "Overall good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart employees and good culture

    Cons

    Eat what you kill. If your product doesn't make money then you don't get paid. Traders do not share in the diversity and advantage of the overall firm trading different products in Equities, Fixed Income, Agriculture, Currency's, etc...

    Continue reading
    DRW2020-02-26

    DRW Response

    March 24, 2020DRW moderator

    Thank you for sharing your experience at DRW on Glassdoor. We’re excited about some of the new programs we’ve introduced to help incentivize collaboration where it makes sense for the firm and look forward to your ongoing feedback. We value the opinions of tenured employees like yourself and will share your feedback with leadership.

  7. "Great benefits, lousy managers"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Agent De Asigurari 

    I worked at DRW full-time

    Pros

    Free breakfast & lunch and in house masseuse

    Cons

    Management was not that great

    DRW2020-02-02

    DRW Response

    February 11, 2020DRW moderator

    Thank you for sharing the experience you had with your manager while at the firm. It’s important to us to create a culture where people can grow, which includes developing strong managers. We will share your feedback with the team in Montreal.

  8. "Good culture, unorganized work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DRW full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - A lot of perks - Good culture

    Cons

    - The work is all over the place - Managers are promoted based on seniority, not competence

    DRW2020-01-05

    DRW Response

    February 4, 2020Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    While we appreciate the positive feedback on our culture and perks, your insights on what was challenging are even more helpful, so thank you. Certainly the nature of a trading firm is to be opportunistic, which brings some amount of pivoting but we also want to make sure our teams feel those shifts are intentional when it affects their priorities. Our hope is that some of the new tools we’ve put in place help drive that alignment and awareness but it’s something we’ll be mindful of moving forward. If you’re open to sharing more about your situation, HR or your manager would benefit from hearing more details.

  9. "Fast paced"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Real Time Trader in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DRW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back environment and good team

    Cons

    unsustainable work culture due to odd hours

    Continue reading
    DRW2019-12-30

    DRW Response

    February 4, 2020Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for providing your feedback. Having a good team and a laid-back environment are important to us and part of how we actively seek to balance the demands of the job. We recognize that some of the assets we trade create atypical schedules and appreciate you sharing your perspective.

  10. "good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DRW full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    High upside if very successful

    Cons

    Pretty segmented, not a lot of teamwork

    DRW2019-12-11

    DRW Response

    February 3, 2020DRW moderator

    It’s always good to hear from people who were with our firm for a long time. As you know, DRW’s business strategies are very diverse, and some projects benefit from more autonomous work than others. Thank you for sharing your experience on Glassdoor.

Found 102 reviews
</>Embed