DWF Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 220 of over 324 reviews

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
DWF CEO Nigel Knowles  (no image)
Nigel Knowles
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work/life balance is generally encourage firm-wide(in 19 reviews)

  • "Agile/Flexible working allows a greater work/life balance(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Paralegals overworked with little praise, low pay, consistently criticised and management is non existent(in 14 reviews)

  • "Worse still, in a conversation with HR I was reminded that when I DO return to work that I will again be required to work long hours to meet(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      8 May 2021 - Supervisor in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good good love it here so much

      Cons

      Not bad at all really

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      DO NOT TAKE THE JOB!

      16 May 2021 - Paralegal in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Near Leeds train station which is convenient. Certain members of staff are ok. Free milk

      Cons

      - pay is terrible for the work that is required. -DWF has to be the most toxic place that I have ever worked. Paralegal more likes dogs body, you are so overworked and underpaid. If you don’t mind fake attitudes, false support, brown nosing, corrupt management a defective HR department who have the most appalling and disgusting approach towards mental health and personal health then this is the job for you. However if you care about yourself please keep reading!! When I started this role there was no training from. I was buddied up with a different member of staff and they was expected to teach, now they don’t get paid to do this and when you make a mistake you are scrutinised and the onus is on you even though no training was given during my 6 months here. I have done debt collection work in the past so it was strange at the lack of structure and authority in place. The atmosphere is tense, you aren’t allowed to talk to each other even if you do with work. Managers will sit and look down there nose at you, it’s very much of if you fit in kind of culture. The HR team always side with the management no matter what your circumstances are and god forbid you ever get poorly because your made to feel like you don’t matter nor does your health. The caseload just grows and grows and grows its unrealistic but you are not allowed an opinion on this and don’t ask for help from a colleague because then you are deemed as talking. Covid-19 really showed how much this company values its employees well-being, safety and it really brought to light the heavy micromanagement that is in place. Management cannot make there mind you on how the department will run and is constantly changing things, now I’m a firm believer in change is good however there’s change and there’s company greed and silencing your employees who are struggling and pointing out how new changes aren’t working. - cliquey Environment - management have some serious attitude problems - there culture and values - staff turn over is high - FAVOURITISM Exists - directors and other senior members of staff only speak to you when they need something - there is no room for progression

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Things have changed

      25 May 2021 - Paralegal in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good colleagues Decent benefits Work Life Balance normally good

      Cons

      Difficult and rare to achieve bonus or pay rise despite hitting target Career level restructure has made pay level unclear

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Intense and lack of training

      30 Mar 2021 - Litigation Paralegal in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The working from home had its plus points for childcare

      Cons

      Severe lack of training, intense pressure, unrealistic targets, like a revolving door with staff

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great and inclusive firm

      22 Feb 2021 - Litigation Paralegal in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The firm show a genuine commitment to diversity and inclusion. It is more than meeting a quota and I am proud to be apart of a firm that drives this initiative so firmly. Senior management are very down to earth and approachable. Secondment to key clients are available and highly likely. I have been with the firm for 12 months and feel engaged and appreciated. The firm have facilitated for me to work from home during COVID.

      Cons

      I am finding it difficult to find any cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      good enough

      27 Mar 2021 - Paralegal in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      most people are nice most people are nice most people are nice most people are nice

      Cons

      never really a part of the same social group

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best employer

      12 Apr 2021 - Legal Secretary/Paralegal in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pays well and good work/life balance

      Cons

      Occasional long hours of work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Micromanagement

      14 May 2021 - Litigation Paralegal in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people convenient location good benefits outside pay dont take work home

      Cons

      No personal development micromanaging anywhere possible

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic company

      22 Feb 2021 - FRU Manager in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team of people. Everyone is approachable and happy to offer guidance. Very supportive HR team , the IT Team are competent and quick to action. The senior managers are open to ideas and offer empowerment. It’s like a breath of fresh air. Certainly not a blame environment

      Cons

      The price of Pret sandwiches down the road

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      DONT WORK HERE - SAVE YOUR MENTAL HEALTH!!!!

      8 Apr 2021 - Litigation Paralegal in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None - I’d give this 0 stars if I could

      Cons

      DWF is the worst place I’ve ever worked. Please save your mental health by not working here. I got no training when I started, just left to do my own thing! Then months down the line my manager bullied me everyday for getting things wrong. I made it clear in the interview with them that I didn’t know loads about credit hire and that I’ve only ever done claimant work and not defendant. My manager knew this as he’s the one who interviewed me and gave me the job! He used to bully me so much. He used to make me feel so bad about getting things wrong, and never used to help me. He used to say ‘I have to think for myself’ - yet I said I was struggling with certain things and he never helped. He was constantly bullying me to the point that I got so depressed I had to have 6 weeks off work due to my mental health and multiple doctors appointments and notes! HR and my manager did a meeting with me whilst I was off claiming ‘they are here for me’ and as soon as I went back, my manager asked why I was off and he laughed at me! And told me ‘it’s just part of the job’ - it’s part of the job to be depressed and bullied by your manager? I don’t think so. This place is a joke. I complained about him and how he treated me and he just got away with it. No investigation into it or anything. My manager then had to the cheek to tell me I’m asking too many questions! Yet if I got the training I needed this wouldn’t have been the case! I’m asking too many questions? Would you rather me constantly get it wrong? What a joke. The place is laughable. Please save yourselves from this place. My mental health was one of the worst it’s ever been due to how I was treated here and they didn’t care. No investigation into him so I had no other choice but to leave. 3 months down the line after me leaving, they are saying I owe them money. They’ve changed this amount 3 times now. This place can’t be trusted. The management get away with bullying their staff, hence why they never actually take any of the job adverts down because their turnover is so high. There’s so much I could say about this place but I’d be here all day! All this for minimum wage too. Don’t put yourself through it. I regret doing it and so will you.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 220 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with DWF Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at DWF? Share Your Experiences

    DWF logo
    or