Databricks Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Databricks Reviews

Updated 16 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Ali Ghodsi
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "World class opportunity to define a software category"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Customer Success in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The core technology (Apache Spark) is the de-facto choice for big data analytics, the founders of Databricks are the team behind Spark. The product (Databricks) is off-the-charts good and the engineering team behind it is world class. The culture is friendly and balanced; "good humans" work here. We work hard and recognise that there is a world away from work. Everyone is at the top of their game, there are some...

    Show More

    Cons

    None so far, I am super excited.

    Databricks2018-01-03
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Salespeople need "grit" and strict adherence to sales methodology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time

    Pros

    Hot product & space. Fast growing company. Smart people at every level. Extensive internal resources. Good internal systems. In-demand resume logo. Partnerships bring in leads. Salespeople in 2018 did very well.

    Cons

    "Grit" is what leadership wants in salespeople. Long hours is the norm. AEs strictly managed to sales process with little freedom to deviate. Especially hard for opps brought by platform partners in which customer doesn't want to be "sold" to again. Must submit recording of yourself giving the prescribed pitch - likely multiple times, as the positioning changes quickly. Lots of data collection (meeting counts, call...

    Show More
    Databricks2019-06-16
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time

    Pros

    Smart, collaborative coworkers Engineering driven company Leadership team receptive to feedback, cares about building healthy culture Fun place to work - happy hour, game night, team events, etc are active Work is pretty interesting Solid engineering practices, good balance between shipping and quality Tech stack is pretty modern, work with lots of open-source technologies

    Cons

    Good brand, but as a newer enterprise data company, not as widely known as a consumer brand like Apple

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on keeping the hiring bar high and maintaining our culture as we grow

    Databricks2019-03-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "On of the best companies I've worked at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Databricks full-time

    Pros

    Smart, low ego culture, great place to be, great outlook, awesome CEO and founders, best people in the industry.

    Cons

    I'm not sure I'm not there now, but when I left I didn't have any big cons at all loved it there.

    Databricks2019-03-14
  5. "Rocket Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Product in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time

    Pros

    Company is crushing it across every possible vector.

    Cons

    Not sure, haven't run across too many negatives

    Advice to Management

    Keep the bar high!

    Databricks2019-02-23
  6. "Couldn't be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership on point, full working autonomy, growing very quickly and good room for opportunity

    Cons

    Complex solution selling can be difficult, growing pains can be stressful, it is still a startup so things can change quickly

    Databricks2019-02-10
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Good engineers, good culture, and challenging work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most healthy work environment I've ever been in. The work is interesting to me, the leadership is approachable and receptive to feedback, and the company trajectory is great. There's a reason very few people leave.

    Cons

    Doesn't have the name-brand recognition outside of the big data space.

    Advice to Management

    Keep talking to employees even as you grow.

    Databricks2018-12-04
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Fast Growing and Great Startup Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great product and technology that enables companies to get value out of their data. Awesome colleagues that are willing to help solve any business critical technical challenges. Good benefits and strong company growth. Data driven company to helps focus on key company goals to increase our overall business.

    Cons

    Career ladders are not clearly defined. However, management has always been open to discuss my feedback and help make changes.

    Databricks2018-11-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Excited for what’s ahead!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly bright people, lots of exciting problems to solve, perks are some of the best around and some of the biggest companies in the world are heavily relying on the product, while growth is absolutely off the charts.

    Cons

    Are there challenges? Of course, but when you are growing this fast it’s inevitable there will be speed bumps along the way. It’s all part of the fun and people are passionate about working together to get this company ready for the next stages.

    Advice to Management

    They already are, but continue to invest in hiring experienced operators that have helped scale incredibly fast growing companies.

    Databricks2018-10-13
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Need Adult E-Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time

    Pros

    Company is growing fast in all metrics.

    Cons

    E-Staff is not growing. They are having 200-dB parties in the open office at 3:00 PM on a workday while everyone else is busy working.

    Advice to Management

    Grow up please.

    Databricks2018-09-13
Found 34 reviews