Databricks Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Databricks Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Databricks CEO Ali Ghodsi (no image)
Ali Ghodsi
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "World class opportunity to define a software category"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Customer Success in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The core technology (Apache Spark) is the de-facto choice for big data analytics, the founders of Databricks are the team behind Spark. The product (Databricks) is off-the-charts good and the engineering team behind it is world class. The culture is friendly and balanced; "good humans" work here. We work hard and recognise that there is a world away from work. Everyone is at the top of their game, there are... some incredibly smart people here & I learn something every day. The leadership team are connected and engaged, very smart and passionate. We are still at the "build" phase of Databricks, so every day is exciting and there is an opportunity for everyone to contribute to the company foundations through process creation and definition, systems, hiring etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    None so far, I am super excited.

    Databricks2018-01-03
  2. "High growth and impactful company that is changing the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tons of opportunity, the company is growing like wildfire and people are excited about the upside. Lots of impactful projects to take on and create a lasting mark in this organization. Super bright people, including many from the top 10 Enterprise B2B IPOs in the last decade are helping drive the future of this organization. Fantastic benefits, especially healthcare plans.

    Cons

    High growth means there's a constantly a need for more space. New office coming soon! There are some growing pains but leadership is trying to address as soon as they are surfaced.

    Databricks2019-11-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Rocket ship with growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Company is leader in its space - Excellent product market fit, and growing like crazy - Very strong team - Lots of opportunity for career growth - Good benefits/perks

    Cons

    - Lots of technical debt on the platform side, and some struggles to keep up with scaling - Some teams have painful oncall rotations - Overall planning is a little too top-down heavy for my preference, and has led to insufficient prioritization of tech debt work. - Not enough Senior+ Infra folks with significant industry experience

    Advice to Management

    Give teams more autonomy for planning

    Databricks2019-10-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting, constantly changing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Close knit finance team works really well together. Leadership is very careful about picking who makes the team. If you work with all stars you can be one too is the tag line used.

    Cons

    The global footprint is tough to keep up with. Lots of operational and technical finance challenges to keep you up at night thinking about solutions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the scaling the Finance team as the business grows

    Databricks2019-10-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible ride so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solving really tough problems for some of the worlds largest companies Some of the brightest people I’ve ever worked with Incredible culture built on significant transparency and accountability Absolute rocket ship Truly data-driven Opportunities for significant career growth across the globe Phenomenal perks (benefits, lunches, gym subsidies)

    Cons

    Historical underinvestment in back office functions (especially People org), but making massive progress with recent hires Massive growth means constant change, but that’s the nature of growth of this scale Office space needs some love

    Advice to Management

    Keep true to the culture you’ve built, it won’t be easy as we grow

    Databricks2019-10-10
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Databricks full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Great engineering culture.

    Cons

    Not always detail oriented. We moved very fast.

    Databricks2019-10-11
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Engaging and exciting company & product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great balance of encouragement to perform well (and recognition) without heavy stress Engaged and capable team members make it a fun and invigorating environment Strategic and transparent leadership Effective products, good vision and opportune timing

    Cons

    Rapid growth poses some temporary challenges scaling teams evenly.

    Databricks2019-08-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time

    Pros

    Fast growing, great culture, great leadership, doing things the right way.

    Cons

    It's a fast moving environment that not everyone wants.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Databricks2019-08-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "High Caliber People And A Great Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training is top-notch and the benefits are great. It is a culture of people who want to see one another perform at a high-level.

    Cons

    There are no cons at the moment.

    Databricks2019-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible, fast-growing company, great community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Databricks part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible, fast-growing company, great community

    Cons

    No complaints on the company

    Databricks2019-08-01
Found 43 reviews