Digital River Reviews

Updated 11 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Digital River CEO Adam Coyle
Adam Coyle
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Beer Fridays, flexible work arrangements, nice office space(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great people, buns on Fridays, Sport and Social club organizing great events(in 30 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work / Life balance can sometimes be out of canter - but then this is the fun you have with agency work(in 16 reviews)

  • "Senior management have no sensible plan for long-term growth and profitability (how is a 20-year-old business unprofitable without one large client(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Worth it if you work for it

      29 Jan 2018 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brilliant teams, lots of opportunity if you work for it.... yes sometimes the hours can be long but you get rewarded for it at the end.

      Cons

      Can be a little US centric sometimes...

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company

      1 Feb 2020 - Programmer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ver organised and a good working environment

      Cons

      Too many meetings that are not necessary

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Too US centric

      18 Aug 2019 - Program Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People, clients, flexible hours, some travels involved

      Cons

      Too US centric, many employees from the US office have been there for way too long and they still have an old way of thinking.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company but very US centric

      25 Feb 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good office and people, relaxed environment, atmosphere and working life

      Cons

      All senior roles seem to have gone to the US and it seems as though there is no focus on growing the EMEA side of the company, just serving US clients

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Period of change

      7 Feb 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed office environment Good attempts by local senior management to improve culture Potential for business growth is there

      Cons

      Regular changes in strategy and direction cause considerable uncertainty. They take time to filter down and be implemented impacting negatively on the business. Increasingly US centric Cost cutting to improve profitability has had negative impact on moral

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great team but US centric

      20 Nov 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team and a positive can do attitude. Company tries to deliver and build a good culture, working environment is relax and allows for autonomy.

      Cons

      Wider (Global) company has had more down than up in recent years. Significant number of redundancies and people leaving due to lack of opportunities. Very US centric and often feels as though only pay lip service to being a global company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Digital River Response

      Manager Talent Acquisition

      Thank you so much for the review and for the advice. We know we have asked people to deal with a lot of change and we really hope that our pivots or specific focuses while sometimes gray will ultimately allow us to continue to be a leader in the industry and focus on what our clients and the environment need. We appreciate you hanging with us, our people are our most important asset and we care about you and your opnions

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Was the best place until.....

      2 Jul 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Maidenhead, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Such a great company, culture, team and solution. Fairly well respected in the world of eCommerce but not that well known due to poor marketing. Met some of the best, nicest and most talented people in my career.

      Cons

      Previous founder and CEO was there too long - company did not change with the times. It was still a great place to be but led too much by Joel. Joel was replaced and it got worse! IBM came in. No knowledge of eCommerce or how to run a SaaS business which could have been as fun as a Google or Survey Monkey. New CEO brought in some 'mates' from IBM - again no knowledge of eCommerce or how to run a company full of young, fun talent. They all made millions in the sale and still have not delivered. Result is they are losing the great talent and will likely be broken up and sold - shame.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      DR

      3 Jan 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting clients, good product, smart colleagues

      Cons

      Work in silos, minimal scope for progression

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A good bunch of people & lovely company to work for

      30 Jan 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with the company for just under a year and I have to say I do not regret one bit of my decision to join. I will admit in the early interview stage, I was concerned about the Glassdoors reviews and so asked around and raised my concerns with my interviewer. They had said there had been a change of hands and team and when I started, I found the negative reviews far from true. The people are lovely, they work as one team and they provide the support you need to excel and training you require. I work in the Marketforce team, so i can not speak on behalf of everyone, but just in the Marketforce, there are great people and a positive energy.

      Cons

      Like with most agencies, it is a lot of work, but this is to be expected and it is something to consider.

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Relaxed atmosphere, feels like a forgotten office

      19 Aug 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Maidenhead, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at Digital River's Maidenhead office. The general atmosphere was relaxed (wear whatever you want, timekeeping is fairly lax). The team are young and multicultural. It was friendly and sociable. Beer Fridays and free gym membership are good perks.

      Cons

      With the main operations being in the US, the UK office seemed a long way from the main business. e.g. emails used to come round the whole company asking a car owner to move as he was blocking someone in, in Minnesota! The HQ location also meant a lot of people having to work late to take part in US calls. A lot of business is done over the phone rather than face to face. For me, the attitude was a bit too relaxed. For example, is it really good business sense to shut down the office for the afternoon and get the employees to paint the walls?! Fun but nonsensical. There was no opportunity for progression in my area. However in Marketing roles, it seemed progression was easier. The staff turnaround seems quite high.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 340 Reviews

    Work at Digital River? Share Your Experiences

    Digital River logo
    or