ED&F Man Reviews

Updated 17 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
ED&F Man Group Executive Chairman Rafael Muguiro (no image)
Rafael Muguiro
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "bullying by members of senior management is ignored and HR seem powerless to do anything(in 9 reviews)

  • "All the existing staff hate it and the management and so they are all leaving" is the truthful answer they probably wont give you(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing work environment"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at ED&F Man full-time

    Pros

    Friendly people with a great working environment

    Cons

    stubborn, old guard leadership team, very rarely embrace new ideas

    ED&F Man2019-12-29
  2. "Great money no morals"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commodity Trader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ED&F Man full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, and bonuses excellent, flat management structure, the scale of markets and the power of the company is incredible

    Cons

    Was told that if I have any morals..leave them at home. you can earn a lot of money if you not are concerned about the consequences

    Continue reading
    ED&F Man2020-04-17
  3. "Unpleasant Experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ED&F Man full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location and office space

    Cons

    Management style leaves a lot to be desired, more than happy to “throw people under the bus” bullying by members of senior management is ignored and HR seem powerless to do anything.

    Continue reading
    ED&F Man2019-11-12
  4. "Strong Internationally"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ED&F Man full-time

    Pros

    I have been with the company for 8 years and have had a variety of roles, the company has always provided interesting opportunities - projects and job opportunities, especially overseas. The company has always been strong with its people, there is a lot of training available and I have always been treated well.

    Cons

    Some of the Commodity businesses have struggled with low commodity prices and so have had to reduce costs, results are improving.

    Continue reading
    ED&F Man2019-05-13
  5. "New Year"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ED&F Man full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An interesting business with global operations and talented people.

    Cons

    Slightly 'old fashioned' in it's operations and not very open and communicative with staff.

    Continue reading
    ED&F Man2019-01-16
  6. "A lot of growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ED&F Man full-time

    Pros

    I don't understand some of these reviews, I have been here 4 years and it is the best company I have worked for. There has been a lot of growth and some very good years so far. My team are good fun and the location suits me well.

    Cons

    Recent problems in Sugar were a disappointment but great performance in Liquid products and Capital Markets.

    Continue reading
    ED&F Man2018-03-21
  7. Helpful (5)

    "The company needs to focus on repairing its damaged reputation."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ED&F Man full-time

    Pros

    The story of this 230 year old company is very interesting.

    Cons

    An immense lack of controls coupled with irresponsible behaviours have led to catastrophic results in certain areas. There is excessive bureaucracy which slows down everything everyone does. Employees are viewed as numbers and are very easily disposed of.

    Continue reading
    ED&F Man2018-03-24
  8. "Tough Times over the past year but the green shoots of recovery are here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ED&F Man full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tough trading conditions in some commodity areas have made the last year very challenging the senior Executive committee and board have made some tough decisions this year but the decisions were necessary to turn the tide. The group is now in a better state for these decisions. Excellent working environment with open door policy with the directors senior engagement and information cascade performed on all news from the top to all teams. Positive outlook on the future. Business is focussing on the future and the disruptors that can change the business and set it apart from its competitors.

    Cons

    Some commodity divisions leadership lead to follow the example set by group and change for the future

    ED&F Man2018-03-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Clueless"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ED&F Man full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office location and free coffee

    Cons

    Poor management, poor executives, no strategy, no common sense on how to manage the performance of the business and plan for the future

    Continue reading
    ED&F Man2018-04-03
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Toxic work enviroment, unfair pay and bullying"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ED&F Man full-time

    Pros

    None, there is nothing good about working here apart from leaving at the end of the day

    Cons

    Taking lunch involves queuing at lifts for 20 minutes just to get out or into the office. Sugar Traders can do what they like. Printing takes forever. IT department is just a boy's club. lots of bullying by certain leadership in IT, and bribery is rife when it comes to selecting contracts or vendors... I cant wait to get out.

    Continue reading
    ED&F Man2018-02-26

    ED&F Man Response

    April 13, 2018Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. While we are disappointed that your experience has been negative, we do not accept that it is representative of our employees and we absolutely refute any allegations of bribery or bullying. We have every confidence in the professionalism and integrity of our technology leadership.

Found 74 reviews