ED&F Man Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ED&F Man Reviews

Updated 29 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
66%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
ED&F Man Group Executive Chairman Rafael Muguiro (no image)
Rafael Muguiro
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "bullying by members of senior management is ignored and HR seem powerless to do anything(in 9 reviews)

  • "All the existing staff hate it and the management and so they are all leaving" is the truthful answer they probably wont give you(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at ED&F Man full-time

    Pros

    Friendly people with a great working environment

    Cons

    stubborn, old guard leadership team, very rarely embrace new ideas

    ED&F Man2019-12-29
  2. "Unpleasant Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ED&F Man full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location and office space

    Cons

    Management style leaves a lot to be desired, more than happy to “throw people under the bus” bullying by members of senior management is ignored and HR seem powerless to do anything.

    Advice to Management

    Look at your senior managers and the turnover in staff in certain department's

    ED&F Man2019-11-12
  3. "Strong Internationally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ED&F Man full-time

    Pros

    I have been with the company for 8 years and have had a variety of roles, the company has always provided interesting opportunities - projects and job opportunities, especially overseas. The company has always been strong with its people, there is a lot of training available and I have always been treated well.

    Cons

    Some of the Commodity businesses have struggled with low commodity prices and so have had to reduce costs, results are improving.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on our people and get back some of the old Man culture.

    ED&F Man2019-05-13
  4. "New Year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ED&F Man full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An interesting business with global operations and talented people.

    Cons

    Slightly 'old fashioned' in it's operations and not very open and communicative with staff.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open, communicative and engaging with the strategy.

    ED&F Man2019-01-16
  5. "A lot of growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ED&F Man full-time

    Pros

    I don't understand some of these reviews, I have been here 4 years and it is the best company I have worked for. There has been a lot of growth and some very good years so far. My team are good fun and the location suits me well.

    Cons

    Recent problems in Sugar were a disappointment but great performance in Liquid products and Capital Markets.

    Advice to Management

    We need a clear way forward with Sugar.

    ED&F Man2018-03-21
  6. Helpful (5)

    "The company needs to focus on repairing its damaged reputation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ED&F Man full-time

    Pros

    The story of this 230 year old company is very interesting.

    Cons

    An immense lack of controls coupled with irresponsible behaviours have led to catastrophic results in certain areas. There is excessive bureaucracy which slows down everything everyone does. Employees are viewed as numbers and are very easily disposed of.

    Advice to Management

    Put your house in order. Value your employees. Make them feel proud of who they work for. Restore your once great reputation.

    ED&F Man2018-03-24
  7. "Tough Times over the past year but the green shoots of recovery are here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ED&F Man full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tough trading conditions in some commodity areas have made the last year very challenging the senior Executive committee and board have made some tough decisions this year but the decisions were necessary to turn the tide. The group is now in a better state for these decisions. Excellent working environment with open door policy with the directors senior engagement and information cascade performed on all news from the top to all teams. Positive outlook on the future. Business is focussing on the future and the disruptors that can change the business and set it apart from its competitors.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some commodity divisions leadership lead to follow the example set by group and change for the future

    ED&F Man2018-03-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Clueless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ED&F Man full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office location and free coffee

    Cons

    Poor management, poor executives, no strategy, no common sense on how to manage the performance of the business and plan for the future

    Advice to Management

    Get a solid middle management team who are competent and have better communication.

    ED&F Man2018-04-03
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Toxic work enviroment, unfair pay and bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ED&F Man full-time

    Pros

    None, there is nothing good about working here apart from leaving at the end of the day

    Cons

    Taking lunch involves queuing at lifts for 20 minutes just to get out or into the office. Sugar Traders can do what they like. Printing takes forever. IT department is just a boy's club. lots of bullying by certain leadership in IT, and bribery is rife when it comes to selecting contracts or vendors... I cant wait to get out.

    Advice to Management

    Directors either don't know whats going on or refuse to do anything

    ED&F Man2018-02-26
  10. "Good place to develop a career over the long-term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ED&F Man full-time

    Pros

    International company with an interesting group of businesses, an eye on the future, plenty of opportunity and a strong name in its markets. Genuine concern for employee engagement and welfare. Corporate responsibility & sustainability taken seriously.

    Cons

    Markets are challenging, which affects financial performance and therefore reward. Commodity markets often go in cycles and the company does have a reputation for compensating employees during the good times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating with staff, implement tough decisions and be open to change.

    ED&F Man2018-01-24
Found 82 reviews