Eastman Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Eastman Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1498 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Eastman CEO Mark J. Costa
Mark J. Costa
683 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Decision making is a very lengthy process, an employee needs to have a champion to have a career(in 57 reviews)

  • "Most of the people in the company still have a small town mind-set(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great at motivating and developing staff Constantly innovating Great company values Really appreciate and award staff Great working environment All in for safety Management team that care about their staff

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do what you do it’s nice to work for a company that genuinely care about their staff.

    Eastman2019-04-12
  2. "Uk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Eastman full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work. Secure employment. Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Not particularly exciting. Slow paced.

    Eastman2018-10-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent health and safety. No pressure to get things done. Talented and skilled work force. Employee recognition reward scheme for good work.

    Cons

    Lots of the change. Very slow to get things done.

    Eastman2017-02-18

    Eastman Response

    April 12, 2017Communications Rep.

    Thanks for your review. We agree that we have a tremendously talented and skilled workforce -- and we appreciate you being one of them!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Decent company that is slowly changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman

    Pros

    Good support for training and providing tools to get the job done. Plenty of travel opportunities to interact with customers and overseas colleagues.

    Cons

    Mature portfolio of products, labored innovation process and reaction from competitors will hinder the CEO's goal to morph the company into a genuine specialty chemical company.

    Advice to Management

    Place a greater emphasis on customer feedback as they are the best barometer of market needs & technology gaps. Try to innovate but don't forget how past successes were achieved.

    Eastman2017-03-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Still an ambitious company whose main focus is safety, quality & innovation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technologist in Workington, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, safe working environment, high level of training.

    Cons

    Still not a company that promotes employees from within.

    Advice to Management

    Remember there are very good people outside Kingsport who do an excellent job without the the same resources that the the larger facilities have. Promotion through the ranks i.e Senior level to Principle level, are very rare outside Kingsport which definitly stifles employee ambition over time.

    Eastman2014-10-02
  6. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time

    Pros

    Great managers that want to support you to reach your full potential. Employees are hard-working, intelligent and passionate about the company and are rewarded for this with great employee benefits. The safety of employees is a priority for Eastman so it’s nice to know that we work for a company that genuinely cares for its employees.

    Cons

    Can be slow to act at times.

    Advice to Management

    More decisions and approvals should be made regionally to speed things up and improve productivity.

    Eastman2014-07-08
  7. "Very Enjoyable Working Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Working Environment Good Job Security Good Ethics Good Rewards An Interesting Company With Good Challenges A Company That Cares

    Cons

    Difficult to say that there are too many areas that could improve. I guess always two way communication is difficult in a big organisation.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Eastman2013-11-11
  8. "Great collaborative culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Collaborative culture - Getting up the maturity curve for marketing - Very global - Good career opportunities

    Cons

    -Decision making sometimes slow, i.e. decision by committee.

    Eastman2013-11-08
  9. "Great company to be a part of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman full-time

    Pros

    This company has strong ethics, employee development and collaboration as its utmost core values. I truly like and respect all of the people I work with on a daily basis.

    Cons

    The current organizational structure does not bring the quickest and most aligned decision making and therefore, optimum value that could be achieved with the great people here.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that the employees can keep up with the expected pace of change.

    Eastman2013-10-28
  10. "Company with aggressive growth strategy but keeping employees in the loop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eastman part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Conscientious company which is going through a lot of changes (acquisitions, growth strategies) whilst at the same time looking after its employees' safety and wellbeing.

    Cons

    Due to the current changes, and despite keeping employees informed, there is quite a bit of uncertainty amongst employees as staff that don't fit in the new organisation are being let go whilst at the same time many new people are being taken on from outside the company.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that promises that are being made to staff on the shortlist for termination (e.g. when applying for an internal vacancy, at equal suitability, the internal candidate should get preference) are being honoured.

    Eastman2013-10-28
Found 1498 reviews