Financial Times Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Financial Times Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 243 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Financial Times CEO John Ridding
John Ridding
113 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Career progression is very slow, if you do not have direct access to the decision makers(in 17 reviews)

  • "Senior Management all in UK - avoid working there(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Financial Times full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits package Understanding of need for positive work life balance Friendly and inclusive environment

    Cons

    Can be slow moving at times

    Financial Times2019-09-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Financial times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Financial Times full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    attend events and free drinks

    Cons

    poor management, below average pay, toxic culture

    Financial Times2019-10-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting but unsupportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Correspondent in London, England

    I worked at Financial Times full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very interesting work, including access to fascinating contacts

    Cons

    Quite a lot of unprofessional behaviour

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what your staff say, and treat it as credible

    Financial Times2019-09-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Financial Times full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good mobility and support for growth Good compensation and work-life balance

    Cons

    Some frustration with slower pace of change / growth

    Financial Times2019-08-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "The Banker Subscription -Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Financial Times full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work in and achievable targets set. I worked there for over a year and it was great!

    Cons

    Most employees including management are very welcoming and always willing to assist however there are a few bad seeds that are counter productive.

    Financial Times2019-08-29
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Reporter 

    I have been working at Financial Times full-time

    Pros

    Smart, decent people and flexible working policies

    Cons

    Could offer more training programmes

    Financial Times2019-08-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "You have to make yourself noticed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in London, England

    I worked at Financial Times full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing journalists everywhere who really know what they are doing and plenty of people are supportive if you get to know them

    Cons

    You have to push any ideas and suss out who will listen.

    Financial Times2019-08-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good people - poor pay / progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Financial Times full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment and now real pressure

    Cons

    No career progression and ridiculously low pay

    Financial Times2019-09-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Product & Technology is full of smart people working on very interesting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Financial Times full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Pursuing innovation and growth - lots of interesting projects around - Progressive culture with a surprising awareness around D&I - Welcoming people and culture

    Cons

    - Teams (within and outside of Product & Tech) feel fairly silod. Collaboration between teams mainly happens as a result of individuals' initiative, as opposed to organisational structure and enablers

    Advice to Management

    work to break down organisational silos both in formal org structure but also informal opportunities for members of different teams to meet

    Financial Times2019-07-28

    Financial Times Response

    August 21, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am really glad to hear that you have felt welcomed into the FT Product & Tech team and you have found it to be a dynamic and innovative environment. We are very pleased with what we have achieved regarding diversity and inclusion at the FT, particularly within our tech teams. There are a whole host of additional initiatives we are putting in place to continue this work. I appreciate your comments on the organisational structure of Tech and Product. I will ensure your comments are passed on as I am sure this is something the senior management team will wish to be made aware of.

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (1)

    "interesting events, could have organised better, better team work, effort,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Financial Times full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    easy to sell through the name, FT interesting event portfolio

    Cons

    low salary better teamwork needed with marketing, research to produce quality events, events could be much higher quality if more effort put into them more professionalism and stricter working moral within management low quality leads provided

    Financial Times2019-08-11
Found 243 reviews