Fitbit Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Fitbit CEO James Park
James Park
190 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fitbit EMEA"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President & GM EMEA in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive and high performance atmosphere. Great can-do spirit

    Cons

    slow down in innovation disappointing

    Continue reading
    Fitbit2019-02-06
  2. "Fun work environment with brilliant people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved working with very intelligent, engaged employees. Co-founders are great people and care about their employees. Fast-paced environment, worked on very interesting projects.

    Cons

    Management was highly varied depending on who you reported to, this created some discontent across teams.

    Fitbit2020-05-11
  3. "Excellent place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manufacturing Test Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good communication, excellent workplace, Lot of opportunities, Very good Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    I haven't seen any cons

    Fitbit2020-05-08
  4. "It is a good company for someone who is starting their career"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Business applications in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible office hours, free snacks, lots of swag

    Cons

    - No Employee recognition - No career growth - Too much internal politics

    Continue reading
    Fitbit2020-05-19
  5. "No focus on development, dysfunctional environments on some teams"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, people are generally respectful

    Cons

    No focus on development. Some teams are totally disregarded.

    Continue reading
    Fitbit2020-05-08
  6. "Worst Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting hardware challenges to work on. Healthy snacks, gym and happy hour.

    Cons

    Defective communications. The preferred mode of reporting a problem was to attack someone in a group meeting or to complain to their manager rather than discuss it directly. The lower and mid-level managers that I dealt with there were the most toxic and two-faced I have ever known in the IT business. Their greatest talent was their ability to tell people above them and below them whatever they wanted to hear. Even the happy hour had its bad side. One person used it to schmooze with influential people and eventually got himself appointed our manager. His egocentrism destroyed our group. He frequently postponed standup meeting to take extended lunch breaks. When the network in our building went down on a weekend, he insisted that he would be the one go to investigate it, but he had to take his cat to the vet first. Our lab ended up losing an entire day of testing and he blamed it all on another department. His focus was on forcing us to use configuration management scripts written in Romania to make our lab conform. It was an idea one of the directors liked, so the pros and cons didn't matter. One of the scripts kept bricking the macs so that they had to be re-imaged but management didn't care as long as they could tell the director they were being "efficient" by re-using someone else's code. His replacement was overheard telling someone that our group would need to be told how to eat an orange. It was a fun place to work at times but the Google buyout probably was the last nail in the coffin. It will all be about data collection and the innovation will be forgotten.

    Continue reading
    Fitbit2020-05-26
  7. "Overall Can't Complain"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Security Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-Life Balance, Team Communication, Collaboration, Company you can believe in, Covers a rare aspect of tech with end-user hardware

    Cons

    Company trajectory, Progress, Budgeting, Most people take a pay cut to work on this team

    Continue reading
    Fitbit2020-04-03
  8. "Great Company, Complex Working Environment, Interesting Projects"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Project Lead in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The project work is always interesting. Engineers are trusted to solve problems within a peer-reviewed process.

    Cons

    Things move pretty fast and the environment is complex. I enjoy that but others can get lost.

    Continue reading
    Fitbit2020-04-01
  9. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice culture and great people

    Cons

    Poor Performance in tough market

    Fitbit2020-03-28
  10. "Senior Software Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is great! Everyone is so nice. The salary is higher then the average level. The work-life balance is brilliant!

    Cons

    Since Fitbit is in the progress of acquisition with Google, there might be some uncertain sceranios around this case.

    Fitbit2020-03-19
Found 283 reviews