Fitbit Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Fitbit Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Fitbit CEO James Park
James Park
170 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fitbit EMEA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President & GM EMEA in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive and high performance atmosphere. Great can-do spirit

    Cons

    slow down in innovation disappointing

    Continue reading
    Fitbit2019-02-06
  2. "Good collaborative workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering 

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work hard, but you're fairly compensated.

    Cons

    Hard to balance work/family life.

    Fitbit2019-11-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good Work/Life Balance, Products & a Mission you can believe in, & a company focused on influencing the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The mission "To make everyone in the world" healthier is one that is talked up a lot but I feel most people do take it to heart here and it is something much bigger that we can get behind, rather than just aiming for "profit over everything" - You get an understanding of how these products change and impact peoples' lives and you feel a responsibility to them to put out your best work possible, because for some people it really becomes a matter of life or death - Solid office perks like Friday Happy Hours, guided workouts & meditations, healthy snacks in the kitchens, regular company wide activities like step competitors, good location in downtown San Francisco, internal testing opportunities to help influence future product launches - Most people I have met and worked with are friendly and willing to help if you know how to ask. I've never really run into anyone with a snobby or "above-it-all" attitude and it definitely helps with the work flow. - Unlimited PTO, need I say more? Of course, use it responsibly and don't always be gone either, but if your work is done and it isn't a crazy time for the company I've never had an issue with a time off request. - You can feel the sense of community, especially when you see a lot of people gathered, at an all hands meeting for example, and you can feel when we all win or lose together. - Very open to self expression and supporting any extracurricular activities you're involved in and potentially bringing it to the company if you talk to the right people - Pretty recent, but there's been a strong push on diversity in the office and in recruiting which is nice to see that has become a priority, especially as someone who is considered "diverse"

    Cons

    - While the jobs can be good, I've found a lot of different teams seem to struggle with finding an upwards mobility path. There's been a recent push for learning and development, but a lot of people don't know where to go "up" from their roles. - That leads directly into a lot of turnover, so sometimes it's hard to find a contact for something you need when the one you know left and no comms were sent out about who is taking that over - I think it's seriously insane that we don't have a company gym. Yes, there's a small building owned "gym" in the basement, but it's a sorry excuse for a gym. I've seen hotel gyms with more equipment and space. Besides the obvious connection to fitness, it would also provide a cool environment for us to mingle in a different way and showcase features we love & use from our devices. - Could definitely use more "chill" areas or just places to work and get away from your desk and/or conference room.

    Continue reading
    Fitbit2019-10-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Android Engineer in Bucharest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice project to work on Good career plan and personal development Different benefits Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Some late meetings, however those can be taken from home, or you can come later at work

    Fitbit2019-09-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ios Software Engineer in Bucharest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people huge project, the perfect environment if you want to grow not only as a developer you get your code reviewed career path support quality time with fitbit team

    Cons

    having a huge project is also a downside sometimes

    Fitbit2019-09-18
  6. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Brussels
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good brand in general

    Cons

    Long shifts Rapport after work sometimes

    Fitbit2019-09-30
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Good work/life balance, incredibly toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good time off benefits, decent work/life balance unless you're on a really overworked team, people passionate about the products

    Cons

    Management are toxic and have no interest in retaining talent, management have superior complex over employees and will flaunt it, refusal to understand the limitations of headcount at the management level, overcommitment to hundreds of initiatives they can't staff, managers give little to no direction to help employees grow skills, lowball staff in terms of base salary offers

    Continue reading
    Fitbit2019-09-14
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Very nice company to work for (in Bucharest office)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Bucharest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very good location of the office modern office good payment compared to other big companies in Bucharest, for same person

    Cons

    management kind of sucks, but I saw worse; there are people that are considered seniors or above and are actually just juniors in terms of actual knowledge, with high demands and quite some temper

    Continue reading
    Fitbit2019-08-23
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Incredibly meaningful product portfolio with a misguided and uninspired management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Fitbit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work for a company creating products with purpose and meaning. You'll be inspired by the weekly customer success stories shared internally submitted by customers. These unsolicited stories share how lives are changed for the better with the use of Fitbit devices. - Generous employee product discount - Fully stocked kitchens with a variety of snacks and beverages to choose from. Each Friday the Company hosts a "happy hour" and caters in food - Participate in field tests on beta products

    Cons

    - C-suite is uninspiring and lacks the charisma or stage presence required to lead an innovative organization. - Product misses and increased competition has led to poor earnings and unsure outlook as an independent company. - Everything. Moves. Slowly. There are too many meetings. In order to accomplish any task or project you'll need a treasure map to locate the correct resources. - Poor middle-management capabilities. If you thrive in an environment where no clear instructions are provided, like to figure out on your own how to do something by spinning your wheels for an eternity and have a manager that is never around to provide guidance or even just to check in how you are during 1:1's that always get canceled, then Fitbit is for you. If not (like most), you might consider working elsewhere. - Communication? Help? Those are dirty words here. When you become frustrated after spending hours or (likely) days on a task because on one was available to help you and found out only after a simpler way existed and hear the term that it's the "Fitbit way," don't be alarmed. Unlike the "HP way" that typically connotes positive things, performing something this way means doing it without instruction, by yourself since no one around is willing to help for fear they teach you something that eliminates their job security, most inefficient method possible since you have to re-invent the wheel. - No gym. Meger 401(k) match capped at $2K. Workout Wednesdays are really not workout Wednesday's as the company boasts. These are supposed to be days that employees are asked to wear workout wear and take time out of your day at work to do some physical activity they love. What this day turns out to be is just another day with worn with comfortable clothing (since you can't leave the office anyways with competing deliverables all due at the same time...or are they since clear instructions weren't given?). The most annoying part of this day is you're unable to book conference rooms at all since you're supposed to eliminate all company meetings on these days. This never happens, and it's a mad dash trying to find an open room.

    Continue reading
    Fitbit2019-09-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Severe Attrition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Fitbit full-time

    Pros

    Free lunches - oh, these are gone

    Cons

    Severe attrition - and no updates on whose left - so emails sit in old intrays

    Fitbit2019-10-02
Found 256 reviews