FleishmanHillard Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 586 of over 802 reviews

3.8
81%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
FleishmanHillard President and CEO John Saunders
John Saunders
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and it shows in the work(in 32 reviews)

  • "Was able to learn a lot from tons of industry leaders(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes difficult to find work-life balance(in 62 reviews)

  • "A typical agency so expect 24/7 "on call" and long hours or overtime back(in 60 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Outstanding place to work

      2 Sep 2020 - Senior Vice President in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, highly capable and supportive colleagues, varied workload and clients, extremely customer focused, flexible environment, true leadership and collaboration.

      Cons

      None that I've found so far

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Account Executive

      5 Nov 2015 - Account Executive in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Personal growth and training, supportive team members, interesting work. Great benefits, everyone is very friendly, and most importantly of all: good work is recognised

      Cons

      Quite honestly not many cons I can think of. A lot of work to do in a small time, and the location is unfortunately quite convenient for me, but neither these reflect on the company as a whole!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The People Make it Magic

      6 Apr 2021 - Director in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People, client roster, career opportunities.

      Cons

      The ambition isn't always matched by the speed of change and progress within the broader organisation.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Senior Account Manager

      16 Feb 2021 - Senior Account Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, Opportunities, Career Progression, Team, Perks

      Cons

      Diversity, Travel Opportunities, Reporting, Clients

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company, lots of internal politics, lacks impact or difference

      15 Sep 2020 - Director in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is nice and supportive - despite the insane internal politics it does not have a toxic bullying environment of other big or mid sized agencies in London. It won't be tolerated.

      Cons

      There are too many ineffective people at a senior level - a lot of salary that could be better repurposed. The wrong people are frequently promoted (favoritism) and good people can be overlooked - it's frustrating to watch a lack of movement here or recognition. Too much weak 'IP' that demonstrates lack of focus or clear expertise. The clients aren't very inspiring.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      London, I hope you like playing politics!

      20 Jul 2020 - Associate Director in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      + Great location in Southwark with a host of transport links + Office building itself is an Omnicom hub so lots of partner agencies are in the same building, which makes collaboration convenient + Great benefits package relative to other agencies + A lot of the people (excluding management) are lovely and fun

      Cons

      Where do I even begin? I had a pretty rough experience here, and was the victim of some first-grade gaslighting and manipulation from my boss, who joined my practice several months after I'd started (because of his longer notice period). There was also a sprinkling in from other practices, where I was told I didn't pay off anyone's great expectations for my performance, after I'd verbally called out a political situation that I didn't want to be involved in with senior leaders. I was so mentally and emotionally exhausted after 6 months of being told how sub-par I was, and later having my boss use the visa I was on as some sort of bargaining chip for submission, that I turned in my resignation. HR did try to compensate me somewhat for my poor experience by forgiving some fees I needed to pay back for quitting within a certain timeframe, but they did little to nothing to help me while I was going through it all. Since starting a new role, I've heard absolutely none of the "feedback" that was spread around about me at FHF. I started my new role feeling so unbelievably torn down and insecure after what I went through. The worst part is, I thought I'd built a trusting, honest relationship with the Deputy CEO as someone who could be a mentor, but she simply stepped aside and let it all happen because my boss, the new hire, was more politically valuable to her.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good agency

      17 Oct 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Global agency with lots of opportunities

      Cons

      Some people weren’t very nice

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to start

      15 Feb 2016 -  in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good place to gain experience quickly when you're a new grad and fresh. - Outstandingly nice people. Company culture weeds out the alpha-male types. - Client variety, with some big accounts. Also possible to make horizontal moves across teams, and learn about many different practices. - Very flexible on working from home. - 6 week sabbatical every 3 years. - Great offices, with subsidised canteen.

      Cons

      - Huge focus on financial performance since new management took over about a year ago. Pressure to make numbers and gain new clients will weigh you down. - Managers foster a culture of servitude toward clients, afraid of ever saying "no" to any request or insane deadline. - Pay is low, especially considering you may be on call during weekends to handle client crises. - No bonuses (where's the incentive to gain new clients?) - Pension plan is dismal. Gets better if you've been at company for 5 years, at which point it' only less dismal. - There are some cases of rampant favouritism. Experience can vary a lot depending on your manager.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A global agency struggling to compete in the new marketplace

      30 Jul 2015 -  in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You're part of a huge network and if you stay long enough, you'll be able to apply to work in one of their other offices around the world. Some big clients are part of the mix so again, if you're lucky enough to work on these, you'll get to travel for work. Once you've entered the 5 - 7 year working experience stage, you're well compensated.

      Cons

      Management are woefully lacking in current industry knowledge. PR consumer team have very limited knowledge of social media yet somehow fudge through managing client pages every day. Their strategy and planning team is pretty much non-existent and in terms of trying to compete in with the current focus on content marketing, they're lagging. There were no journalists who were employed to work on one of their largest content projects and instead they outsourced it to a company who did not have the skill set to take this on. What happened to the project? It failed.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Drifting

      17 Dec 2015 - Senior Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people. New office space is a big improvement on previous accomodation. If you aren't particularly creative or ambitious, no one at Fleishman is going to force you to change. A great place to work if you think PR is about sending press releases.

      Cons

      Having no clear strategic direction would, ordinarily, be a problem for a business, but at Fleishman it's the norm. A respectable name in an industry that has rapidly advanced without it, working at Fleishman can be a bit like stepping back a few years in time. The amount of client churn is surpassed only by the regular 'separations' of colleagues who, having been sat next to you earlier in the day, suddenly disappear, with the only sign they'd ever existed being their personal belongings, packed into a box by a team assistant. And, by the way, whilst there might be mention of 'discretional bonuses' in your employment contract, these typically amount to less cash than it takes to have a reasonable night out in London, not the single or double figure salary percentages you'd get elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 586 Reviews

    Popular Careers with FleishmanHillard Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at FleishmanHillard? Share Your Experiences

    FleishmanHillard logo
    or