Footasylum Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Footasylum Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 100 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Clare Nesbitt
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly staff/colleagues easy to work with(in 8 reviews)

  • "Incredibly fast paced - FA decide what they want to do and do it(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Head office is based in Manchester so Would have to re-locate or commute(in 8 reviews)

  • "Management bullied by area manager if they don't "fit" the look and personality he wants(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Footasylum part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team and lovely atmosphere. Got on well with everyone and enjoyed the role

    Cons

    Difficult to say, but if I had to choose one not all staff were equivalently trained which became stressful

    Footasylum2019-05-28
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Middleton, Greater Manchester, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Footasylum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly place to work

    Cons

    Location difficult to get to without transport

    Footasylum2019-05-15
  3. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Romford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Footasylum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Started off with a brilliant team and fantastic managers in my first year with company, was appreciated and given respect off fantastic management.

    Cons

    As a supervisor in Footasylum they expect you to run the entire shop floor by yourself while the other managers sit in the office on there phone or eating even when it’s not there lunch break you get harassed on days off with non stop messaging or calls at silly hours and making you feel very demoralised. You are made to stay if someone high up comes in for extra couple of hours unpaid. The management are extremely unprofessional...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give respect to all staff and managers and talk to your staff. Pay people when they stay extra and don’t harass the the supervisor to the point you demoralise them so much that they feel dreadful.

    Footasylum2019-06-02
  4. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Footasylum full-time

    Pros

    Left to get on with job

    Cons

    Pay isn't the best when compared to the same roles at other companies

    Footasylum2019-04-15
  5. "customer assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Footasylum part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely staff, store management are nice

    Cons

    Unorganised, people in higher management are rude

    Footasylum2019-04-01
  6. "Bit of a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Footasylum full-time

      Pros

      Fast - paced and always busy.

      Cons

      Poor communication with senior management. Operational procedure changes on a whim. Difficult to plan ahead.

      Footasylum2019-04-12
    • "Store manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Footasylum full-time

      Pros

      Exciting, different, challenging, rewarding career progression

      Cons

      Can be long hours, forced to hire young staff and run off tight wage budgets.

      Footasylum2019-03-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Bad management from the top"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sheffield, England
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Footasylum full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Made some great friends due to the social nature of the job, improved my management skills due to manic environment and staff

      Cons

      Little to no training offered, no respect or integrity for staff, upper management/area managers and other head office staff appalling and don't communicate with each other leaving store staff to clean up the mess

      Advice to Management

      Treat your staff how you would have liked to be treated when you were staff. Leave personal life at home like you expect staff to. Take ownership of the store/team's failings instead of blaming others.

      Footasylum2019-04-07
    • "Avoid at All costs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Footasylum full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Getting to choose most of my team for the store which were a great team and an asset to the store.

      Cons

      Having worked for a variety of retailers over the past 15 years I can hands down say this is the worst company I have ever worked for. I was recruited for a new store 3 months before it's opening which I thought was great as it would allow me to help with recruitment of management & team to have a strong start to the store. However, the assistant manager had been gifted the job as they knew the area manager without...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Bringing in a lot of JD sports people before the acquisition was always going to end in disaster including head of retail & head of operations with the former having the worst interpersonal skills I have ever witnessed (though he calls it conditioning). It's no wonder the share priced dropped 89% between June 18 & Jan 19 when these people were drafted in. Resulting in the company being taken over by JD Sports.

      Footasylum2019-04-21
    • "okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Coventry, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Footasylum part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      good hours available friendly staff made new friends

      Cons

      low pay not enough training given

      Footasylum2019-03-06
    Found 100 reviews