Genworth Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Genworth Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 574 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Genworth CEO Thomas McInerney
Thomas McInerney
205 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Massive Strategic Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time

    Pros

    Lots of really strong team players and interesting projects Very Professional DNA (GE Spinoff) - more so than other similar sized companies Was extremely interesting when it had a genuine global reach and ambition

    Cons

    Years of bad luck (some externally driven - such as the mortgage losses - and some internally - updating actuarial reviews on LTC business) have led to the company massively cutting back and disposing of the non US businesses Business has been entirely focussed on completing sale to new investors for over two years

    Genworth2018-10-28

    Genworth Response

    December 28, 2018Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth, and we wish you the best in your next career opportunity.

  2. "Great business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth for more than a year

    Pros

    Small but with big opportunities

    Cons

    A little stuffy and corporate at times

    Advice to Management

    N.A

    Genworth2017-05-26

    Genworth Response

    June 8, 2017Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review and your service at Genworth!

  3. "Good company to start out at, hectic management at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Friendly, casual atmosphere - Good benefits - Good exposure due to high turnover - Good prospects to become manager level

    Cons

    - Poor bonuses unless you are at a high grade - Unclear strategy - Hectic, disorganised management - High turnover

    Advice to Management

    Clearer communication of strategy to employees. More accountability. Ensuring staff take responsibility for their actions and work produced.

    Genworth2016-07-18

    Genworth Response

    April 10, 2017Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the time you spent here at Genworth and wish you the best in your next career opportunity.

  4. "great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, open and transparent communication, flat structure

    Cons

    sold us to AXA

    Genworth2016-03-03

    Genworth Response

    April 5, 2017Brand Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time and service at Genworth. We wish you the best in your career.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not a great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours, ability to work from home, some interesting products

    Cons

    Not very meritocratic, management not very strong, strategy change very frequently

    Advice to Management

    Replace them - they've had too many chances

    Genworth2015-09-13
  6. "3 x 1 hour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Genworth

    Pros

    Some Good people are working there, great life work balance

    Cons

    The company is in trouble and salary are really low - some people are not very nice

    Advice to Management

    This business is difficult to save

    Genworth2015-03-05
  7. "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are the greatest asset

    Cons

    Pay is poor in comparison to other companies

    Advice to Management

    Reduce politics

    Genworth2014-08-28
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Genworth

    Pros

    Good work and life balance. People are diversified and generally very nice. Study support is very good too.

    Cons

    It is ver political at the senior level. If you are in the wrong crowed, you could be out of the door very soon.

    Genworth2014-06-20
  9. "Good medium sized multinational to work in, aside from the business model"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Genworth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, good access to senior execs, innovative

    Cons

    Strong headwinds due to mortgage risk exposure and personal credit exposure

    Genworth2013-05-28
  10. "A good launching pad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genworth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training and development was the best I've ever seen. They offer courses on a variety of subjects that help develop your career path within the company.

    Cons

    Salaries tend to be below market and inconsistent. Top heavy. Too many managers and not enough people to do the work. Management constantly changing course and restructuring. Regular employees end up working 12+ hours per day trying to keep up with changes while worried about job security.

    Advice to Management

    There are too many of you.

    Genworth2013-02-18
Found 574 reviews