GitHub Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

GitHub Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Nat Friedman
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Easy to have work/life balance due to remote work policy and unlimited vacation(in 8 reviews)

  • "Because of this, the company goes to a lot of effort to make remote work effective(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most roles don't have a 2-5 year plan -- meaning, there is no clear path for career growth(in 3 reviews)

  • "This resulted in a lot of growing pains but I think we're past the worst of them(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work with lots of opportunity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment working with a cutting edge project and a fast developing industry. People are really engaged and supportive. Lots of lovely perks with lots of opportunity to move and grow in career.

    Cons

    They don't always get everything right but it is because its a company playing catch up as it moves from a start up mentality into a more mature approach. The back office is catching up slowly and this may be irritating for employees looking for everything to be de facto standard of a large office. It's not. You have to sometimes fend for yourself.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Listen to your employees, continue to communicate with them on the direction of the business. Don't be fixated on what you think the path to growth is - listen to other opinions.

    GitHub2017-10-04
  2. "A pretty good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great remote culture, a lot (but a lot) of great and smart people still around even after IPO, very good benefits (5month parental leave), decent learning budget, tooling and hardware at your choice. New CEO appears to be the real deal.

    Cons

    Still a US SF company (lots of politics) but nothing out of the ordinary. Some departments just don't work no matter how many (different) people you throw at it.

    Advice to Management

    Manage less.

    GitHub2019-05-06
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Very grateful for my time here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A chaotic few years, where the company saw lots of growth and teething problems, but overall a unique, intense, and positive experience. The lessons I’ve learned working here, the people I’ve met, and the memories I’ll take away—are some of the most valuable things I’ve had the opportunity to experience.

    Cons

    Kind of like Animal Farm, in company form…? Convoluted internal politics and history, heavily skewed against empowering remote employees to have influence on decisions or visibility into context. Lots of backchannel communication. Zero clarity for career progression and upward (or sideways) mobility. Poor feedback systems (both positive and critical), with very little meaningful action resulting from feedback processes....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Identify frustrated high performers before they turn bitter (such a shame to see this happen to so many incredibly talented people I knew). Train managers better. Identify managers who are simply coasting, and give people who want to be managers because they care about people a chance. Listen to remote employees more (especially those who are non-US too). Help all employees understand GitHub’s management philosophy (if...

    Show More
    GitHub2017-05-04

    GitHub Response

    May 8, 2017People Operations Team

    We genuinely appreciate these details surrounding our company feedback process. Over the last year, we have made improving our feedback process a primary focus and we will continue to make it a focus each and every year moving forward.

  4. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly - Technically rewarding - Good management

    Cons

    - Could use more diversity

    GitHub2019-07-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at GitHub part-time

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    nothing really, i dont have too many complaints

    GitHub2019-05-11
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trust, flexibility, great product, brand name, awesome leadership that has done this before. I really feel that these will be the best working years of my career. There's plenty of room for promotions if you hit your numbers and with Microsoft in the picture, I have no doubt their influence will accelerate our ability to succeed.

    Cons

    Just like any startup we learn by doing, so there are occasional ups and downs, but the growth mindset and comfort with mistakes is embraced at the highest levels of leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on modelling the right behavior and as you bring in additional leaders, make sure they fit the mold of what you're working to build.

    GitHub2019-01-29
  7. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    it was wonderful lots of fun

    Cons

    none is wrong with this placce

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    GitHub2019-01-27
  8. Helpful (53)

    "A sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at GitHub full-time

    Pros

    Remote friendly in theory. (it really depends on your team) Some of the smartest and most incredible people I've met. Unfortunately none of them were valued by leadership.

    Cons

    GitHub used to be a dream job. But the company is changing and with it leadership is showing it's true colors. This isn't a company that values diversity in any way other than name. Leadership is toxic and abusive, and no one in charge will actually discipline the people who need it. Women and POC have an incredibly high turn over rate, but the company still claims to value equality.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who value people to lead people. Stop abusing and underpaying women. Start taking a good hard look at your company 'values' and see if you're actually meeting them.

    GitHub2019-01-05
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Bright outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing benefits and flexibility -Super promising new CEO -Generally all very nice co-workers to interact and work with -Customer-centric approach and new management being added

    Cons

    Still have some processes that need to be worked out, growing challenges

    GitHub2018-12-05
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Amazing benefits, respectful and inclusive culture. Overall a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GitHub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ability to work remotely, unlimited vacation, good pay, excellent healthcare benefits, 401K matching, learning and development stipend. I work in a fantastic team with kind, hard-working and easy-going people. Since I am a remote employee, I log in every day thinking about how lucky I am to have joined such a great company where people treat me with respect and where I do not have to commute. Sure, there are times...

    Show More

    Cons

    I am very concerned that this is too good to stay this way, and my biggest concern is about the GitHub acquisition. Other cons are that there is ambiguity and constant change. Also, lately we have more restrictions about much we can spend on the phones we use for work or laptops get now replaced less often. This makes me feel that will be even tighter once we are under Microsoft.

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication. Sometimes, several months go by before we have a company all-hands meeting. Concerned about the company being acquired by Microsoft.

    GitHub2018-09-26
Found 53 reviews