Goodstart Early Learning Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Goodstart Early Learning Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Goodstart Early Learning Chief Executive Officer Julia Davison
Julia Davison
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "They also provide great professional development to Educators(in 8 reviews)

  • "Loved the children, some centres are great(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "The budgets and time allocated to centres do not reflect those ambitions(in 11 reviews)

  • "casuals should at least get more discount on childcare fees 15% is nothing compared to the other permanent staff getting 50%(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook in Vic
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love cooking for and meeting nutritional needs of young children. I find it to be a rewarding role.

    Cons

    The lack of support early on in the role. Was thrown in the deep end and training was vague... more of a learn as you go approach. The initial Training was Minimal.. told to read the food safety documents and other documents for the centre, and then shown the practical side of things by an untrained casual childcare worker, creating confusion. When Asking questions, or when learning from mistakes, felt... judged/criticised. found this difficult at first having never worked in this field previously. After some time and learning from mistakes... Am feeling more confident and settled into the role. The food budget is VERY tight... I feel that meals would be of a better standard/quality if this was increased even a little.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide practical training and support in the early weeks. Check in, be patient and Allow your newer staff to seek advice and ask questions without prejudice. And make sure you let your staff know when they are doing well.. a few words of encouragement really do go a long way. Staff would be more productive if the team were more positive towards one another.

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-11-15
  2. "Well established organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cert III 

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always have support. Above award wages. Generous discounts. Flexibility. Room to grow.

    Cons

    At times you can feel just a number as it is so large.

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-10-02
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company values, Good team

    Cons

    No career opportunities for my job

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-10-01
  4. "interview and the experience of getting the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Educator in Brisbane

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    big organization, good cultures, nice colleagues

    Cons

    not very clean as i expected, location is not convenient for me

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-08-25
  5. "A good place to work but depends on a centre culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ect in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The organisation with big ambitions and a lot of effort put into staying up to date with latest educational theories and practices

    Cons

    The budgets and time allocated to centres do not reflect those ambitions. A lot is expected to be done “out of goodwill”.

    Advice to Management

    Put your money where your mouth is.

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-08-08
  6. "Great organisation working for a wonderful purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CSO Employee in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A not for profit that really puts its time, passion and money where its mouth is

    Cons

    If you aren't passionate you might find the offers of continual learning tiring

    Advice to Management

    Keep letting families and educators know about the amazing work you do

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-07-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not so happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Educator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning part-time

    Pros

    Award wage but still could be better considering the job at hand

    Cons

    Very few staff are passionate about their role in Children's lives

    Advice to Management

    Review all centre directors and get parents and staff opinions.. you will be surprised with the feedback

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-07-25
  8. "Good friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good friendly, relax and supportive environment

    Cons

    The salary is quite on the low end

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-07-08
  9. "Brilliant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Goodstart Early Learning full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training and working all in one. Fantastic support and beautiful locations to work at

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-07-06
  10. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educator in Caroline
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Goodstart Early Learning part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work to be in

    Cons

    Ok staff to work with

    Goodstart Early Learning2019-07-02
Found 70 reviews